about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: CurtPick  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add CurtPick to your Buddy List
Canon EF 300mm f/4L IS USM

ef300mmf_4_1_
Review Date: Jun 3, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, Sharp, did I mention sharp ? Color and Contrast is like noting I have ever experienced. Semi Light weight. Fast ! Very exciting lens !
Cons:
Non as of yet

What can I say. I being a veteren of several Zoom lenses and always seeking out the best bang for the buck I think I just found it. This thing is amazing. The color, sharpness, and contrast make this one a no brainer ! I shot several shots once I recieved this gem and I can't go wrong ! The only drawback I could possibly see is that its a fixed focal length ( prime lens ), butr I can not see how they could ever get a lens to be so sharp if were anything but a prime. For an f/4 lens I was stunned at the accuaracy of focus, and simpy put, amazing results I am getting from this wonderful piece of glass. Now I just purchased the 1.4x, which the 20D gives me a 420mm zoom. Guess what, no noticeable picture degradation. People , if you hear any one thing I say hear this.

This lens , for the price is without a doubt the best piece of glass I have ever owned when it come to long focal length.

YOU WILL NOT BE DISSAPOINTED !



 
Sigma 80-400mm F4.5-5.6 EX OS APO

Sigma_80-400_OS
Review Date: Mar 21, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $999.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp ! Sharp ! Sharp ! Very well built. High quality glass. OS rivals Canons IS.
Cons:
A bit slower than th Canon USM to focus but would not let that hold me back.

This lens rivals the Canon 100-400 IS in picture quality no questions ask. I will base this review on comparison to the Canon 100-400 IS.

Focus Speed : Not as fast as the Canon USM but still fast.
Build : Its built better, more rugged than the Canon .
Picture : Equal too the Canon 100-400 , maybe sharper !
Contrast : Equal too 100-400
Bokeh : Like butter ! Very pleasing to the eye !
OS/IS : Sigma beat out Canon on image stabilization
Warranty : 4 years compared to Canons 1 year
Color : Sigma Black ! Canon White .
Zoom: Canon uses Push Pull, Sigma Zoom Ring ( Slower )

For the price this lens is the Equal in picture quality. Is the better on build quality. It's the sharper of the two lenses. Zoom speed is slower than Canons but only because Canon uses Push Pull which is good and Bad. Good, its gets to prefocus faster, Bad it sucks dust like a vaccum. Sigma is the standard RIng Zoom. The Sigma is built much better and rugged. Buying new, Canon Cost $1499, Sigma $ 999.
I have owned 3 Canon 100-400's and couldn't deal with the 50% bad pictures that came out of all of them. Nearly every picture that comes out of this lens is a keeper !
So for Cost, Picture, Build it was a no brainer for me.
Well done Sigma !! Well done !


 
Tamron 28-75MM F/2.8 XR Di LD Aspherical (IF)

2875mm
Review Date: Mar 21, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $265.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great Build quality. Great sharp and contrasty pictures. LOve the size and feel.
Cons:
None

Bough this Gem brand new. I have to say I am very pleased with its performance. The picture is very sharp and very nice color rendition. The contrast is wonderful. The bokeh is unsurpassed even in the canon L lens series. You cant beat the price and you cant beat a 6 year warranty ! Tamron made this one right , straight out of the box !

 
Tamron 19-35mm f/3.5-4.5 AF

1935mm
Review Date: Feb 2, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $129.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: A great lens for the buck. Good build quality. Pretty sharp. Quick focus.
Cons:
Some softness on the corners when wide open. Noisy.

This was my first Wide lens that I used on the Canon 10D.
It took some very good pictures, with good color and contrast. Its very light but built rather well. If anyone needs a good little wide angle lens, this would be my first choice as a starter lens. I say that because I now own the 17-40 L lens. Although this isn't L quality it still takes some nice sharp pictures. A lot of bang for the buck !


 
Canon EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM

ef_28-135_35_1_
Review Date: Jan 19, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $300.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Built well, Decent image quality, Good range for everyday shooting, Can produce some very sharp images
Cons:
The one I had had terrible zoom creep and many others who have used say the same. A tad slow but not too bad

Overall good walk around , shoot everyday lens. Produces some very good images when stopped down a bit. IS is wonderful on this lens. Its not very fast but fast enough for most well lit subjects. Lens zoom has horrible creep. Its also a dust sucker so watch for that if you buy it used. If you want a lens to stay on your body for walking around this would be my first pick. Just don't look for L quality photos. Not to bad of a price point for this quality.

 
Canon EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM

ef75_300_1_
Review Date: Jan 19, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: None I can think of with maybe the build quality.
Cons:
Horrible, soft images through ot its range, no matter how much you step down.

Its nothing more than the Standard non IS Version. Terrible unsharp pictures throughout its range no matter how much you want to stop it down. Now add the IS to that and you get diagonal blur that looks awful at full zoom. The price is ridiculous, why not save and get the 70-200mm L f4 if your only getting acceptable pictures up to the 200mm range on this lens ? Don't bother folks, you will sell it as soon as you get it !

Shame Canon ! Shame !


 
Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM

ef_100_28_1_
Review Date: Jan 19, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $385.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very Very Sharp ! Through out its focal range. Doubles as a nice portrait lens on the 10D.
Cons:
Very cheap build quality for the price. Hunts on Autofocus.

This is the cream of the crop when it comes to Canon Macros. The picture quality is simply amazing using macro or as a Portrait lens. The sharpness will cut right through your eye. Amazing lens. Now the bad points. Its build quality is very cheap. Maybe I was used to some weight to my lenses. This one just felt like a feather. It also hunts when close up. It does take some getting used to when shooting macros. You will need a hood no matter what anyone tells you. A very good lens, just not great in my opinion.

 
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II

ef50mmf_18_1_
Review Date: Jan 19, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Light , compact, cheap in price, sharp as sharp can get
Cons:
Plastic body, no range window like the Mark 1, plastic mount

I would rate this lens an equal to the USM 1.4. I could see no difference in quality of shots and sharpness. The bokeh is awe inspiring. At $69.00 U.S. this will please all who buy it. Although its made of plastic, the glass is outstanding. This little baby is close if not equal to an L lens. Buy it ! You will not be dissapointed !

 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM

ef70_200_4_1_
Review Date: Jan 19, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Everything about this lens is perfect for the range.
Cons:
f4 but who cares !

There is nothing bad about this lens. No way , no how !
Its light, easy to carry around, sharp, contrast is excellent, bokeh is even better ! If your looking to shoot out doors or in good light this is the ultimate zoom for you ! The f4 may be too slow for bad lighting for some, but I never had any problems with this lens in low light when used properly !
Its a WOW lens at a WOW price !

AAAAA++


 
Canon EF 17-40mm f/4L USM

ef17-40_4l_1_
Review Date: Jan 19, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $600.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Light, compact, easy to carry around, sharp images with wonderful contrast
Cons:
Lens hood is a beast, When using onboard flash you will get shadow from lens even without the hood

I am rating this using the Canon 10D.
First time I used the lens I was in awe at the sharpness, even at full zoom, corners were very sharp. Its light, compact, a great WA for the 1.6 crop on the 10D. If there was anything bad to say about the lens is the F4. Low light is tough to get a great shot. But for outdoor and well lit subjects this is the lens to get ! Well done Canon !


 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM

ef70-200_28lisu_1_
Review Date: Jan 19, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,450.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Built like a Tank, Fast f2.8, Sharp Picts, Nice color and contrast
Cons:
Weight like a Tank

I sold my 70-200 f4 for this lens. Thinking hey if the f4 is this easy to carry then the 2.8 IS should be too. Wrong ! This thing weighs a ton ! After several shots with the lens I was very satisfied with the quality. Its fast, Sharp, Contrast is very good. The IS make it a keeper for me. Works well in low light and sports shots. But if you don't need the IS I would not invest the big bucks for this lens. The f4 was a very easy lens to carry but was lacking in speed in low light. This thing will wear you out if you plan on hiking with it because of the weight. Overall great lens. I just wish it was lighter to carry.