about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: CountryBob  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Add CountryBob to your Buddy List
Canon EOS 40D

40d
Review Date: Oct 21, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,470.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fast accurate focus, beautiful colors, great large screen, easy to navigate around and great build quality.
Cons:
None

I bought this camera 4 weeks ago and have found it a delight to use. I will not get all technical as I will leave that up to others, all I can say is with the results I have had I could not be more happier!

 
Canon EOS 30D

Canon_30D
Review Date: Sep 12, 2007 Recommend? no | Price paid: $1,200.00 | Rating: 4 

 
Pros: I liked the features and general use of the camera.
Cons:
Reliability

I had my camera for 10 months, I really liked using it and have had some good shots. Unfortunately it let me down very badly a couple of times and I was quite dissapointed having to take it back to Canon who were definately not that customer focused, that is unless you belonged to CPS, then that was a very different story! (grrrrrrrrrr)
Having spoke to a few Canon dealers I may have been unlucky in having bought a rogue camera, but Canon Australia service needs to REALLY lift it's game.
The net result is I traded the camera and bought a 40D hoping for a better experience! I was tempted to go Nikon after my experience of Canon service attitude but changing all those lenses would have cost ...........a little more of a push and I would have done it!!!!!!!!




 
Canon EF-S 17-55 f/2.8 IS USM

l217_efs1755
Review Date: Apr 5, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,100.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very sharp, good focal range, IS
Cons:
No hood and the price!

Once you get over the price for this non L lens you can relax. I have had this lens for about six weeks and it is becoming my walk around lens. The build quality is fine. Great for portraits or lanscapes. The IS works well and being a f/2.8 I've used it indoors without flash with good results. This is a great lens which is really sharp. No dust problems with mine.

 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM

ef70-200lisusm
Review Date: Dec 21, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very sharp, fast auto focus, lightweight and compact.
Cons:
Slightly expensive

I bought this lens three weeks ago and I'm very happy with it. Being lightweight and of a reasonable size it is easy to carry around. If you want a 70-200 and you don't need to have a f/2.8 then this is the lens to buy, I give it 10 out of 10 for image quality.


 
Canon EF 400mm f/5.6L USM

ef400mmf_56_1_
Review Date: Nov 19, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp images.......very sharp, fast AF, light in weight and affordable.
Cons:
None really.

I have had this lens for nearly a month now and have taken quite a few "birding" shots with good results. In the beginning I procrastinated on whether to get the 100-400 or this lens and in the end I bought the 400. Well I am very happy I did.
I was attracted to the 100-400 due to its good reputation and versatility, but the image quality from the 400 prime was just that bit better and it won me over.
The lens works great on a sunny day or when using a tripod. Yes I would prefer that it had IS and was a bit faster, but I would have a lot slimmer wallet if it did.
All in all I am very happy and recommend the lens to anyone considering it.


 
Canon EF-S 17-85mm f4-5.6 IS USM

EF17-85
Review Date: Nov 3, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: IS and Range
Cons:
Little soft at the lower end.

I bought this lens 12 months ago and it has been an big improvement over the kit lens which it replaced on my 350D. From 17-35mm it is a bit soft but above 40mm it becomes progresively sharper and I have had some quite sharp images at 70-85mm. I've used the lens with the macro function of my camera and have had some very nice results.
Overall I'd say the lens is a little over priced.........but at the same time not a bad lens if you are just starting out and need a general all purpose lens.