about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: Chris Walker  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Chris Walker to your Buddy List
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM

ef70-200lisiiu_586x225
Review Date: Oct 30, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Splendid bokeh, fast autofocus, sharp wide open at 2.8
Cons:
None. The price is worth for what you get.

Currently it's the shapest zoom from Canon you can get. The difference to the first version is amazing. Canon put a lot of improvements into this lens.

The versatility of this superb lens has nearly no limits.

Have a look at this sample pictures: http://photo-walker.ch/index.php?option=com_phocagallery&view=category&id=8%3Aef-70-200mm-f28-l-is-ii&Itemid=160&lang=de

All 7 pictures are taken at f/2.8 and you can download the original pictures size of 16 Megapixel (EOS 1D Mark IV). I tooked it RAW and converted them with Capture One Pro to JPG. I did not sharpen the images!
The quality of this lens is visible on the details of the cat's tongue in the picture IMG_8227, if you zoom it to 100%.

If you can't afford it, save your money until you can afford it. You will defenitely not regret your decision.





 
Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L II USM

85II
Review Date: Aug 15, 2010 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated

Pros: See Comments 2010-03-19
Cons:
See Comments 2010-03-19

See Comments 2010-03-19

Now, the link works again (See Comments from 2010-04-14).

http://www.photo-walker.ch/index.php?option=com_phocagallery&view=category&id=3%3Aef-85mm&Itemid=160&lang=de


 
Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L II USM

85II
Review Date: Apr 14, 2010 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated

Pros: See Comments 2010-03-19
Cons:
See Comments 2010-03-19

Here is a link to 3 examples.
All pictures are taken in very low light conditions.

neridah wrote on march 24: "If this was the only lens I owned i would be totally satisfied." I understand now what he means an I agree with him.
The most beautiful Bokeh of a lens.

You can download this pictures at a resolution of 3072 x 2048 pixels to analyze the image quality.

http://photo-walker.ch/index.php?option=com_phocagallery&view=category&id=14%3Aef-85mm&Itemid=160&lang=de


 
Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L II USM

85II
Review Date: Mar 12, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: f/1.2 , bokeh, sharpness, colors and contrast
Cons:
price, weight, extending front element, AF is slow

It is the sharpest f/1.2-lens in the canon L section.
If you are looking for a lens, you can shoot in very low-light condition, this is the only one, you will definitely not be disappointed.

This lens is my favorite among the 70-200mm f/2.8 L IS and the 400mm f/2.8 L IS. All of this three lenses are sharp wide open.

I had first the 50mm f/1.2 L and compared with the 85mm f/1.2 L II, there is a difference like day and night. The 50mm is sharp at f/2.0 (f/1.2, 1.4, 1.6, 1.8 do not produce good sharp images)

This lens is expensive, heavy and big and definitely not for sport events.
But you get a lens, once you have it, you will not regret.

You get a lens with splendid sharpness right from the f/1.2 aperture, splendid colors, and a DOF that you let you take images, non of any other lens will offer you such a creative blur.

It's simply an dream lens. A revolution for creative photography where sharpness and blur meets. Your will discover a new world.
I know, it's expensive but once you see your pictures, you forget it in 3 minutes.


 
Canon EF 400mm f/2.8L IS USM

ef400mmf_28l_1_
Review Date: Feb 28, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Fast AF, f/2.8, crisp Bokeh, splendid colors, contrast
Cons:
None. I already knew about price an weight and the must of a monopod

This is a lens, I dreamed a long time for. I read all reviews about this lens and I knew, this was the one for my needs. In Switzerland, you pay a hell of a price (regular price in the store CH 14'000).

This lens has the same quality like the 70-200mm f/2.8 L IS has.
Crisp images, very sharp, beautiful Bokeh and splendid colors.

I made some pictures at a famous horse race "White Turf" in St. Moritz with the 1d mark IV and when I saw the results, I could not trust my eyes! It fulfilled every demands on quality, a photographer may have.

Have a look at this sample pictures:
http://www.photo-walker.ch/index.php?option=com_phocagallery&view=category&id=4%3Aef-400mm&Itemid=159&lang=de

You can download this pictures at a resolution of 3072 x 2048 pixels to analyze the image quality. They came out of the camera without any corrections.

All other aspects are written in the last 31 reviews on this lens.





 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM

ef70-200_28lisu_1_
Review Date: Mar 29, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: Very sharp lens at all apertures, fast autofocus
Cons:
Price (Switzerland US $ 2700)

After reading almost all posts on this lens at this forum, I decided to buy this lens. It's my first prime lens and I really must confirm that I donít regret my decision.

Itís a great lens. I use it on my 20D and at all distances and apertures the pictures are crystal clear, very sharp, excellent color and contrast.
If you ever think to buy a lens in this range (70-200) itís definitely this one. If you canít afford it, save your money still you are able buy it. Although this lens in Switzerland is very expensive (compared to the price, US customers must paid for) itís worth every penny. The fast AF is amazing for every kind of racing like horses, cars, ski and so on. The IS and the 2,8 a real advantage in low light conditions when you better donít use a flashlight.

I can confirm all about, what others wrote concerning the quality of this prime.
Go and get it!!!