about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: Chris Fawkes  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Chris Fawkes to your Buddy List
Tamron 17-35mm f2.8-4 Di LD Aspherical

sp-af17-35
Review Date: Jul 24, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $300.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp, just a great lens for a great price.
Cons:

Here are some shots taken with this lens.

http://chrisfawkes.net/blog/2011/07/24/1618/

http://chrisfawkes.net/blog/2011/03/10/1179/

http://chrisfawkes.net/blog/2011/02/02/1084/

http://chrisfawkes.net/blog/2009/06/28/sunday-june-28-2009/

Loads more on the blog in various post.

I picked this up a couple of years back to see if i liked the range before picking up a canon. I still have not picked up the canon but i doubt i'll give this up when i do.


 
Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM

ef85mmf_18usm_1_
Review Date: Apr 26, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, 1.8
Cons:
 
Canon EOS 5D

5d_586x225_2_
Review Date: Oct 7, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Feels great, looks great, delivers excellent results.
Cons:

I love this camera. It feels great in the hand and is just a pleasure to use.
Some images can be seen at
http://photo.xanga.com/chrisfawkes/1e55e150999970/photo.html
The first 4 images, then if yoy scroll along to the boy against the graffitti wall to the end of the wedding shots. All 5D.

My use is portraits and weddings. Sport photographers may have different needs of course.


 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM

ef70-200_28lisu_1_
Review Date: Oct 2, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Super Sharp
Cons:

One awesome lens. Weel built, super sharp and it looks great.
Samples can be seen at http://www.chrisfawkes.net/wedding3.html


 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM

ef70_200_4_1_
Review Date: Sep 27, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $700.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, fast auto focus, light.
Cons:

Great lens. I also use the 2.8 I.S but if i know i'm doing an outdoor shoot i'll use the f4.
Sample from this lens can be seen at
http://photo.xanga.com/chrisfawkes/c7893149435281/photo.html


 
Canon EF-S 17-85mm f4-5.6 IS USM

EF17-85
Review Date: Aug 19, 2007 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros: Sharp, better build than the 28-135 (which it becomes on a crop sensor)
Cons:
non

Great lens and perfect range for 1.6 crop sensors.
I have 20x30 inch prints from this lens and unless told you would not know it was not from a more expensive lens.
The wedding at www.chrisfawkes.net/lianda2/index.html was taken almost exclusively with this lens.


 
Canon EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM

ef_28-135_35_1_
Review Date: Feb 13, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great range. Very sharp
Cons:

I originally had two of these for my eos 1's and they were both very sharp.
I have several friends also who have them and have been impressed with how sharp they are.
No doubt an occasional dog gets out but this has not been my experience. Great on weddings.
I did do several test between this and the 70-200 f/2.8 IS L
about 18months ago. The L gave visible better contrast, at 100% magnification however there was no noticable difference in sharpness.
All bar two of the childrens shots on my web site were taken with this lens


 
Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM

70-300_isusm
Review Date: Feb 6, 2006 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros: Non
Cons:

This lens is a dog. build ok but not great focus compared with other Canon lenses in this price range.

 
Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM

70-300_isusm
Review Date: Feb 5, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 4 

 
Pros:
Cons:

I don't think the build quality is that bad. The optics are a dog though. After several test it was not as good opticaly as the ono I.S version.
I use L lenses as well as non L lenses. Partucularly the 17-85 and the 28-135 in the non L.
This lens i could not use.
If you are just planning to use it for personal use and not enlarge beyond 8x10 then it may not be a bad buy.
For serious use, forget it.


 
Canon EF-S 17-85mm f4-5.6 IS USM

EF17-85
Review Date: Feb 1, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great zoom range.
Cons:

Perhaps there is some inconsistancy from lens to lens but mine is great. I did a test last month between it and the 70-200 is L
The L showed better contrast but resizing all the images to 20x30 and viewing at that size i could see no difference in sharpness.
The build i think is excellent for a lens of this price.
The fact i rarely have to change the lens is an obviouse bonus too.
If there is a variation in quality then ask to do some test perhaps before parting with your cash.
I love it.