about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: Carles77  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Carles77 to your Buddy List
Zeiss 25mm f/2 Distagon T*

zeiss25f2
Review Date: Oct 7, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $900.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: sharp, colors, contrast
Cons:
difficult to find the focus, mine infinity point it's not at the end on the focusing ring (just 5mm before)

I have the 21, 25, and 28 Zeiss. The last is the 25mm. Now I'm not sure about which one to sell:

-The 21mm is too heavy and also it's just for landscapes.

-The 25mm seems difficult to find the correct focus, I lost many photos by that. Also the infinity is not at the end on the focusing ring, it's about 5mm before. (don't know if this is a problem of my lens or normal with the 25mm). Colors are stronger and constrast too. Has a tendency of being more redish/magenta than the 2 others. Has a lower chromatic aberrations but it have a little. The 28 and 25 are really similar in sharpness, the 21 is maybe lower but not too much.

-The 28mm is very good at f/2 for special shots, has a strong 3D effect, but for landscape it's not the best one. Anyway it's a very artistic lens.

None of this are perfect, maybe the 25 is in middle of 3 and more useful in any situation.


 
Zeiss 100mm f/2 Makro-Planar T*

100mm
Review Date: Oct 7, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,100.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharp all apertures, contrasty, colors, no distortion
Cons:
not the greatest bokeh for portraits but useful anyway

very nice lens for flowers and for details. Also you can do go landscapes with it. Problem is that 100mm is not the most useful fov but photos you will get from it worth buying this lens.

 
Zeiss 21mm f/2.8 Distagon T*

21mm
Review Date: Mar 9, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,200.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: very sharp, nice colours, good corners
Cons:
weight, it's ugly :P, vignetting at f/2.8 but no matter.

I had the 16-35mm II and the 17-40mm. The 16-35II was the most used lens for me, I really love the 16-35II but I know it's not a perfect lens of course. Now with the Zeiss it's just amazing, really impresed for the moment, anyway I have to use it more to see what it can do. For the moment very very happy with it. No regrets, just that I will have to sell my 16-35II... Sad

 
Sigma 50mm F1.4 EX DG HSM

sigma50-14jpg
Review Date: Feb 18, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $500.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: bokeh bokeh and bokeh!!! useful at f/1.4
Cons:
many autofocus issues

one of the best bokeh and trust me I have 50L, Zeiss 50MP, Zeiss 50mm C/Y F/1.4 and F/1.7, canon 50mm f/1.4, f/1.8, etc... This lens like the Zeiss C/Y f/1.4 have the best bokeh.

But... I bought this one with terrible autofocus problem, no solution with microadjustments because has erratic autofocus. So the only way to use it is in manual mode...

If you don't have money to spend and don't matter to maybe have to focus manually go with this lens!!


 
Canon EF 24-70mm f/4L IS

24-70
Review Date: Feb 18, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $950.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: small, light, practical, good IS, useful all the range
Cons:
price price price, makes all but nothing good (like most of the zooms)

I don't like zoom lens but this is really useful if you don't want to change lens and keep it light when you travel. Lens are really similar in IQ than the 24-105mm and the price difference dont' make it worth to go with this lens if you don't mind about the weight and size. For me weight and size are important so this lens are better option than the 24-105mm.

Macro mode is really ugly....


 
Zeiss 28mm f/2 Distagon T*

28mm
Review Date: Feb 18, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $900.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: very creative, perfect fov, 3D rendering, nice at f/2 (artistic), solid
Cons:
colors maybe not the best in some moments, corners at f/2 but no worries

Very nice lens for artistic shots and B&W. For me the best focal length it's 28mm so this lens are great for portraits and landscapes. The problem are the colours for landscape... too soft. Anyway really happy with this lens.

 
Canon EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II USM

16-35II
Review Date: Feb 18, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,300.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Versatility, sunburst closed, high IQ on center, colors
Cons:
very bad at 30-35mm, soft corners, distortion, too big

This lens is must have for me no matter the negative aspects most of my photos are done with this lens so really nice one.

 
Canon EF 24mm f/1.4L II USM

EF24_14LII
Review Date: Sep 19, 2012 Recommend? no | Price paid: $1,400.00

 
Pros: sharp at more than f/2, not so heavy, well build
Cons:
soft corners at f/1.4, very ugly bokeh, expensive, vignetting

Very ugly bokeh for me, I buy this lens because i want a wide angle lens with the benefits of low light and bokeh too. But it's unusable at f/1.4 - f/2. Corners are too soft, vignetting extremly.

I sold this lens, I will go for another prime lens like the 50L.

Thanks.