about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: Carles77  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Carles77 to your Buddy List
Sony FE 16-35mm f/4 ZA OSS Zeiss Vario-Tessar T* SEL1635Z

fe1635
Review Date: Jun 15, 2015 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,036.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharp, colors, corners, very nice fit on A7, weight it's OK
Cons:
none for the moment, the f/4 of course!

For the moment, just few shots I can say that I'm really happy with this lens. It fits perfect on the A7, well balance, good size for a wide angle zoom lens. Well construct, it's not a zeiss but.., for me it's enough. It feels comfortable on hands and not too large in size.

About optics, remember that this type of camera, with the sensor so near to the lens, makes very difficult to do something good with an angular lens but.... this lens is sharp, colors are very nice, corners good enough, contrast is really nice also, stabilitzacion works pretty well. Nice bokeh on 35mm, I had a nice surprise with that! not the sharpest focal but very good for any portrait.

So, nothing to regret, just the f/4 but anyway totally open this lens are sharp, so no more marketing unusable f/2.8 lenses!

Happy with it!


 
Zeiss Loxia 50mm f/2 Planar T*

loxia50
Review Date: Jun 9, 2015 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $800.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: weight, size, construction like all zeiss, and very addictive to use.
Cons:
not so sharp at f/2, bokeh not really impressive (planar design I think)

This lens is better than the FE55mm in terms of realistic rendering but for me not a keeper. Don't know why, but I found all native lenses for sony e-mount plain and flat with no many character. This is good one but not better than a canon 50mm f/1.4 with eos-nex adapter. I sold it, but i'm very perfectionist so if you are not, this is a good lens. If you want a lens that cost what you paid maybe this is not a good choice.

 
Sony FE 55mm f/1.8 ZA Carl Zeiss Sonnar T*

Screen_Shot_2013-11-13_at_12_59_33_PM_copy
Review Date: Apr 28, 2015 Recommend? no | Price paid: $600.00 | Rating: 4 

 
Pros: weight, autofocus, well build
Cons:
flat in many aspects, CA at f/1.8-2, colours soft, it could be an standard zoom lens but without zoom!

I wanted to buy the loxia but someone gives me a good offer for this lens. I've tried this lens for a few shots but I think it's a flat lens. It's sharp but not really amazing, colors are little soft and also has no specially good bokeh for this kind and expensive lens. So If you don't have good colours, no 3d effect (I have many zeiss lenses for canon including 21,25 and the 100) and no specially nice bokeh, it's like a zoom lens with more aperture, nothing special there. Who said "the little otus" has to buy a new monitor... For family shooters coming from sony nex or something like small sensors this lens will make it, but if you like lens with character like leica o zeiss I think this is not for you. I will sell it and try to find if loxia it's better or same "no soul" lens.

 
Sigma 35mm f/1.4 DG HSM "A"

sigma35
Review Date: Jan 2, 2015 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $750.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: sharp! sharp! sharp!, well construct, good at focusing. Nice 3D effect similar than some Zeiss. No so many chromatic aberrations.
Cons:
colors and brokeh not good as canon.

For the price this lens are amazing. Good construction, amazing sharpness, etc.. I also had the canon 35L and this are an upgrade from that. Anyway the 35L has something that the sigma don't have, colors and bokeh. The sigma has tendency for yellow/brown colors but for the price is really must have lens.

 
Zeiss 25mm f/2 Distagon T*

zeiss25f2
Review Date: Oct 7, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $900.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharp, colors, contrast
Cons:
difficult to find the focus, mine infinity point it's not at the end on the focusing ring (just 5mm before)

I have the 21, 25, and 28 Zeiss. The last is the 25mm. Now I'm not sure about which one to sell:

-The 21mm is too heavy and also it's just for landscapes.

-The 25mm seems difficult to find the correct focus, I lost many photos by that. Colors are stronger and constrast too. Has a tendency of being more redish/magenta than the 2 others but more faithful with real colors. Has a lower chromatic aberrations but it have a little. The 28 and 25 are really similar in sharpness.

-The 28mm is very good at f/2 for special shots, has a strong 3D effect, but for landscape it's not the best one. Anyway it's a very artistic lens.

None of this are perfect, maybe the 25 is in middle of 3 and more useful in any situation.

Edit: Finally I sold 21 and 28 and keep this nice lens, the 25! really happy.


 
Zeiss 100mm f/2 Makro-Planar T*

100mm
Review Date: Oct 7, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,100.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharp all apertures, contrasty, colors, no distortion
Cons:
not the greatest bokeh for portraits but useful anyway

very nice lens for flowers and for details. Also you can do go landscapes with it. Problem is that 100mm is not the most useful fov but photos you will get from it worth buying this lens.

 
Zeiss 21mm f/2.8 Distagon T*

21mm
Review Date: Mar 9, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,200.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: very sharp, nice colours, good corners
Cons:
weight, it's ugly :P, vignetting at f/2.8, sunstars, hexagonal flare

I had the 16-35mm II and the 17-40mm. The 16-35II was the most used lens for me, I really love the 16-35II but I know it's not a perfect lens of course. Now with the Zeiss it's just amazing, really impresed for the moment, anyway I have to use it more to see what it can do. For the moment very very happy with it. No regrets, just that I will have to sell my 16-35II... Sad

update: sunstars and hexagonal flare not very nice also weight makes me sell this lens. Nice lens but not for me.


 
Sigma 50mm F1.4 EX DG HSM

sigma50-14jpg
Review Date: Feb 18, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $500.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: bokeh bokeh and bokeh!!! useful at f/1.4
Cons:
many autofocus issues

one of the best bokeh and trust me I have 50L, Zeiss 50MP, Zeiss 50mm C/Y F/1.4 and F/1.7, canon 50mm f/1.4, f/1.8, etc... This lens like the Zeiss C/Y f/1.4 have the best bokeh.

But... I bought this one with terrible autofocus problem, no solution with microadjustments because has erratic autofocus. So the only way to use it is in manual mode...

If you don't have money to spend and don't matter to maybe have to focus manually go with this lens!!


 
Canon EF 24-70mm f/4L IS

24-70
Review Date: Feb 18, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $950.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: small, light, practical, good IS, useful all the range
Cons:
price price price, makes all but nothing good (like most of the zooms)

I don't like zoom lens but this is really useful if you don't want to change lens and keep it light when you travel. Lens are really similar in IQ than the 24-105mm and the price difference dont' make it worth to go with this lens if you don't mind about the weight and size. For me weight and size are important so this lens are better option than the 24-105mm.

Macro mode is really ugly....


 
Zeiss 28mm f/2 Distagon T*

28mm
Review Date: Feb 18, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $900.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: very creative, perfect fov, 3D rendering, nice at f/2 (artistic), solid
Cons:
colors maybe not the best in some moments, corners at f/2 but no worries

Very nice lens for artistic shots and B&W. For me the best focal length it's 28mm so this lens are great for portraits and landscapes. The problem are the colours for landscape... too soft. Anyway really happy with this lens.

 
Canon EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II USM

16-35II
Review Date: Feb 18, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,300.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Versatility, sunburst closed, high IQ on center, colors
Cons:
very bad at 30-35mm, soft corners, distortion, too big

This lens is must have for me no matter the negative aspects most of my photos are done with this lens so really nice one.

 
Canon EF 24mm f/1.4L II USM

EF24_14LII
Review Date: Sep 19, 2012 Recommend? no | Price paid: $1,400.00

 
Pros: sharp at more than f/2, not so heavy, well build
Cons:
soft corners at f/1.4, very ugly bokeh, expensive, vignetting

Very ugly bokeh for me, I buy this lens because i want a wide angle lens with the benefits of low light and bokeh too. But it's unusable at f/1.4 - f/2. Corners are too soft, vignetting extremly.

I sold this lens, I will go for another prime lens like the 50L.

Thanks.