about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: Califfoto  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Califfoto to your Buddy List
Canon EF 100mm f/2 USM

ef100mmf_2usm_1_
Review Date: Jul 26, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $400.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Price, Opticals, silent, focal length
Cons:
None

It's an amazing lens for portraits. The 100mm combined with f2 gives a great bokeh. Since I've gotten this lens, I have only been taking portraits. Here are a couple of examples:
http://califoto.my-expressions.com/archives/2186_1665899495/167445

http://califoto.my-expressions.com/archives/2186_1665899495/163462

At this price, no lens can beat its' quality ...


 
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II

ef50mmf_18_1_
Review Date: Apr 21, 2006 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros: Very fast lens. Works great for portraits and indoor shots. Inexpensive
Cons:
Opticals can be improved

Since my last review on this lens, I got to use it more and more for the portraits of my newborn daughter. Although the f/1.8 is a little bit tricky to use, after a while you get used to it and it gives you great bockeh.
Here are some examples:
http://califoto.my-expressions.com/archives/2186_1665899495/136312

http://califoto.my-expressions.com/archives/2186_1665899495/140275

http://califoto.my-expressions.com/archives/2186_1665899495/135571

http://califoto.my-expressions.com/archives/2186_1665899495/134806


 
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II

ef50mmf_18_1_
Review Date: Jan 29, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $70.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Price, F-Stop, Extremely quick
Cons:
The Opticals need to be a little bit more refined

Very nice lens. I usually use it for portraits.
Love the low f-stop which is pretty unique for the price.


Here's an example:
http://califoto.my-expressions.com/archives/2186_1665899495/75919



 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM

ef70-200_28lisu_1_
Review Date: Jan 1, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros: Sharp, Fast
Cons:
Heavy

I borrowed this lens from a friend of mine. Really love the f2.8.
Has all the qualities of a L zoom Lens
Here's an example: http://califoto.my-expressions.com/archives/2186_1665899495/114534

As usual, click on the Comments tab to get the exif


 
Canon EF 35mm f/2

ef35mmf2_1_
Review Date: Dec 20, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Light lens, Excellent optical, takes great portraits and landscapes
Cons:
None

This is by far my favorite lens.
Although I am a little bit frustrated with the 1.6 conversion factor of my Canon 300D (which gives me a tighter field of ~ 56mm), I still use it a lot for my landscape shots: http://califoto.my-expressions.com/archives/2186_1665899495/97681

The f/2 aperture is quite bright and great for portraits
http://califoto.my-expressions.com/archives/2186_1665899495/98845

Overall, I use this lens each time I don't want to carry too much weight and still have the options to switch from one extreme (landscape) to another (close-up shots).

Here are other examples of Street Photography in Dominican Republic with this lens:
http://califoto.my-expressions.com/archives/2186_1665899495/99365





 
Canon EF 17-40mm f/4L USM

ef17-40_4l_1_
Review Date: Dec 20, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Excellent lens. Love the optics.
Cons:
I would have loved an F lower than 4.

This is the first L-lens that I've ever tried. I was really impressed by the quality of the optics.
Here are a couple of shots taken with this lens:

http://califoto.my-expressions.com/archives/2186_1665899495/100534

http://califoto.my-expressions.com/archives/2186_1665899495/97121





 
Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM

70-300_isusm
Review Date: Dec 19, 2005 Recommend? no | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros:
Cons:

This lens can sometime be sharp ...

Here comes an example: http://califoto.my-expressions.com/archives/2186_1665899495/111693

But the details are still too smooth ...



 
Canon EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM

ef75_300_1_
Review Date: Dec 18, 2005 Recommend? no | Price paid: $150.00 | Rating: 3 

 
Pros: I agree with most of the people above. The positive aspects of the product is that it is pretty affordable if you don't get too picky on the speed. However, the slow speed can somtimes give a nice effect e.g. http://califoto.my-expressions.com/archives/2186_1665899495/56784
Cons:
I used i for some portraits, and they mostly came out too soft

I agree with most of the people above. The positive aspects of the product is that it is pretty affordable if you don't get too picky on the speed. However, the slow speed can somtimes give a nice effect e.g. http://califoto.my-expressions.com/archives/2186_1665899495/56784

I used i for some portraits, and they mostly came out too soft