about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: Bruce Sawle  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Bruce Sawle to your Buddy List
Sigma 35mm f/1.4 DG HSM A1

sigma35
Review Date: Jan 30, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $899.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fast and accurate focus Sharp images at all apertures Beautiful build Half the price of other brands
Cons:
One of the most elegant lenses created by any manufacture. I love Sigmas new desigNonen and finish. Optically this lens is Sharper than any 35 lens I have owned. I have owned both the Canon and Nikon.

One of the most elegant lenses created by any manufacture. I love Sigmas new design and finish. Optically this lens is Sharper than any 35 lens I have owned. I have owned both the Canon and Nikon.

 
Sigma 120-300mm f2.8 EX DG HSM

120_300_1_
Review Date: May 12, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great lens very sharp from f3.2 up.
Cons:
None

This is one of the most versatile and best zooms I have owned. Wonderfully sharp at all apertures especially from F3.2 up. This lens takes both the Sigma 1.4 and 2.0 TC extremely well.

 
Nikon D3x

25442_D3X_front
Review Date: Aug 3, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $6,800.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Resolution, ergonomics, Image Quality, Focus ability.
Cons:
Price

What can I say coming from Canon and owning a 1D Mk III and 1Ds MK III all I have to say is wow. This Camera is a machine. It is so easy to use it took me zero time to get use to the ergonomics of Nikon. The image quality is simply incredible I am blown away each time I review my photos. The Canon's were both excellent cameras and the main reason for switching was to make it easier with my business partner who also shoots Nikon. I would highly recommend any of the three cameras I listed above but if you want the best you will need to step and purchase the D3x.

 
Canon EOS 1D Mark III

1DmkIII
Review Date: Dec 17, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $4,500.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: IQ, Build, Auto focus, Hogh ISO,
Cons:
All the bad press this camera has recieved

This is one of the best Cameras on the market today. All the bad press from the infamous auto focus issues has left many people with a bad taste in there mouth. This IMHO is the best all around camera. The Images this camera produces are magical. Combine that with its incredible High ISO ability 1.3 sensor, and lighting fast and accurate autofocus in low lowlight makes this camera the perfect camera for Sports, wildlife, weddings and studio.

 
Canon EOS 1Ds Mark III

1dsmk3
Review Date: Dec 17, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $5,200.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: IQ, Autofocus, Build, Noise control
Cons:
None

This camera is unbelievable. The resolutions and colors out of camera are second to none. I own both the 1Ds MK III and 1D MK III my MK III has been relegated to limited duty. The high ISO noise of the 21mp RAW files if exposed correctly are absolutely unbelievable. ISO 3200 is equal to my MK III in all areas.

 
Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L USM

ef85mmf_12_1_
Review Date: Aug 1, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,700.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great build, razor sharp at 1.2 and incredible bokeh
Cons:
None

I love everything about this lens. I was a little apprehensive at first to throw down 1700.00 on this lens. After a couple days of shooting with it I was amazed with he images this lens produced. Between F 1.2 and F4 there is no lens better.



 
Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L II USM

85II
Review Date: Jul 22, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Super sharp Wide open. Incredible Bokeh.
Cons:
Learning curve, focus speed

I love this lens. It may never leave my MK III. To me this is the perfect focal length on a 1.3 to FF camera.

 
Canon EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM

24-105lisusm
Review Date: Mar 6, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,200.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Size, weight,and Contrast
Cons:
None

I love this lens it is the perfect walkaround lens it combines a smaller size than the 24-70L with equal sharpness.