about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: Breitling65  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Breitling65 to your Buddy List
Canon EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS USM

ef100_400l_1_
Review Date: Oct 23, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very portable, light and convinient for travel lens. Sharp enough for zoom lens.
Cons:
Sluggish on AF and not as effective old IS

I got this lens to try how good it is before Canon will release something better in this range. I am tired of heavy long telephoto, and I need lighter lens.
I use to own several telephoto primes including 500L, 300mm F2.8IS & 400/5.6L etc. In compare this lens is very close to primes in IQ. However as any slow lens required better lights to produce great shots, shots are noisier if lights are low. I like colors and contrast, they are same as any other great L lenses. Bit slow AF is OK, not as dramatic. Works fine with 1.4tc on mine 1D mk IV.
It is great for birding and air shows but again while good lights. I wish this lens is F4 and with better IS with same price and size, but it will never happen Smile


 
Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L II USM

85II
Review Date: Dec 30, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, amazing L colors and contrast, 1.2, presize AF.
Cons:
bulky, cost more every year, need weathersealing

This is my second copy of this lens, same superb as first one I sold 3 years ago. There is no alternative to this lens, I tried several other lenses with same focal, nothing even close to 85LII. Magic optic at F1.2, greaa for some creative shots and photogs with good eyes.

 
Sigma 85mm F1.4 EX DG HSM

image_copy
Review Date: Nov 21, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $899.00 | Rating: 4 

 
Pros: Size, price, fast apperture, good bokeh, good build and small hood
Cons:
AF jerks lot no meter low lights or not trying to lock, no weathersealings.

After 5 days of testing I return it back to BH. Main problem for me is AF jerks lot trying to lock. I tried low lights, good lights. I tried different cameras (5D2 & 1D mk IV). All bodies and conditions are same, jerky AF. I asked on FM same issues for most owners of this lens. I am upset since I would need 85mm lens and i can't see any alternative to 85L mk II so far which is twice more expensive.
Otherwise good lens and might work better on Sigma body vs Canon, however I am not sure about.


 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM

ef70-200lisiiu_586x225
Review Date: Jun 2, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,500.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp! great, effective and not noisy IS, creamy bokeh, extrimely fast AF, finally good hood from Canon
Cons:
Cost is high but represents great new lens

I own 3 versions of Canon 70-200mm lens: 2.8L IS mk1, F4 IS and now mk 2. So far all I could say is bravo for Canon, finally I could see best zoom in any respect in my hands! Canon retouched every part and curve of this lens, lots of improvements in IQ and IS. I am normally primes shooter, however if Canon will release more of zooms this level I will get rid of most of mine primes. My score is 10 and no point less, great product and highly recommended to anyone shooting with Canon.

 
Canon EOS 1D Mark IV

canon1dmarkiv
Review Date: Feb 25, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great AF, LCD, IQ on ISO <=1600, speed, video
Cons:
Not as good hight ISO as I expected, missing adapter kit and $100 certificte

Got mk IV about month ago to replace my 1.5 years old mk III. My main usage of this body would be birding and some sports. Camera is very different to mk III even it looks same, any button any functionality responds different. Amazing AI Servo tracking, great speed and customization. Not sure what RG talked about in his reviews, both of mine mkIII and mk IV are amazing pro level bodies. Just ignore it and follow your own opinions and shots. Also I am very happy that I don't have to do MA on any of mine lenses.

 
Canon EF 500mm f/4L IS USM

ef500mmf_4_1_
Review Date: Nov 4, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Quick AF, works with both tc's 2 and 1.4 fine, not very heavy and I could handhold for several seconds.
Cons:
Cost, some IQ degradation with tc, not as superb IS as on latest Canon lenses

If you need long telephoto for birding or sports this is your lens. However I would suggest to get this lens before 300mm F2.8L IS otherwise you will be disappointed in IQ comparison Smile It is great in IQ lens but 300 is way better optics. You would need 1.4tc for sure, 2x works ok on mk III. In general also need bunch of other things like lenscoat, replacement cap & foot or plate, gimbal would be best, good heavy duty tripod and monopod. It adds lots of fun for birding, very noticeable by people since long and white.
I put 9 since it is for sure not best lens in my bag but I would say next after 300 F2.8L IS.


 
Canon Extender EF 2x II

Extender_2x2_1_
Review Date: Oct 20, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Extending telephoto lenses, great IQ results on some long telephotos. Light, not big. Weathersealed.
Cons:
Cost

I would recomend this product for two great lenses I own:

Canon 300mm F2.8L IS
Canon 500mm F4L IS

On both above with tripod shooting static objects results are great. Sure not as without extender but in some cases when you need to double lens focal this thing must be in your bag.


 
Canon EOS 1D Mark III

1DmkIII
Review Date: Aug 17, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fast, accurate AF, excellent IQ, perfect mpx per sensor size
Cons:
Some minor like, UDMA support, not as good LCD on colors as on 5D2.

I am really very happy with this camera and so far it is best I ever own list (20D, XTi, 40D, 5D, 5D2). Don't care about RG report and talks, what I do care is my own results and they are very good. Especially good for birding and sports. Get one and you will see yourself.

 
Canon EF 24mm f/1.4L II USM

EF24_14LII
Review Date: Jun 2, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, well build as any L, weathersealed, relatively small. Great L colors & contrast, fast AF. Focus on spot on both 5D mk II & 1D mk III since first shot, no microadjustments requared.
Cons:
Price, heavier and slightly bigger than even 35L, hood seem big.

I own previous version of 24L lens and that was one of the best L primes I ever own and I own lots of L ... Smile Regardless to some bad reviews my copy was amazing. However I sold it (don't know why Smile) to get latest and greatest mk II model Smile I waited about 8 month since I sold original 24L to get this lens and no disappointments at all! It is very sharp at any aperture, build as tank, weather sealed!
However please note: Lens become heavier and bigger than mk I, it is even bigger/heavier than 35L now. Huge hood, dono why Canon can't reuse one from 35L????

I am planning to take this lens to my next Italy trip and I hope to bring some good excellent back Smile)


 
Canon EOS 5D Mark II

5DII_1_
Review Date: May 18, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,699.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great IQ, low noise on high ISO, lots of new in compare to 5D classic
Cons:
Still low fps, price, no crop mode. Not as superb AF, but OK. Too much dedicated to direct printing.

I own several Canon bodies so far as well as 5D classic but neither of them close to 5D mk II in IQ/noise control. I am very impressed with this body, tons of new and useful. I am not video/live view fan, just not for me, but body having plenty new without.
Great job Canon, wish all new bodies will be surprising as this one to me.


 
Canon EF 35mm f/1.4L USM

ef_35_14_1_
Review Date: Nov 21, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Greate colors/contrast as any L's, pretty sharp wide open, quick AF, small size.
Cons:
Focus is of on MKIII, requared max micro adjustment, same lens OK on older bodies.

This lens somehow doesn't give me consistant IQ on different bodies. It happened only with this lens out of other 11 L's I own and only on mk III. However lens been superb on 20D/XTi/40D/5D I owned before, not sure what happened but it is really upsetting. Someone said on FM that this is known issue of this lens and bodies with MA and 35L might be replaced with mk II in 2009. Also I tried MA on mk III and still can't get what I like even with max settings.

 
Canon EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II USM

16-35II
Review Date: Oct 15, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fast, weathersealed, F2.8, excellent L colors and contrast, sharp in compare to 17-40L, not heavy.
Cons:
82mm is lot, also bit long. Price!!!

I tried several wide zooms and end up on this lens for now. Excellent replacement for 17-40L, superwide with FF body. One of the best Canon zoom lenses, however as any zooms slightly behind of primes in any aspects. I would suggest this lens to anyone with FF body, lens producing excellent wide effects on 16mm.

 
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM

ef_24-70_28u_1_
Review Date: Oct 15, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Usefull range, F2.8, weathersealed. Great L colors and contrast.
Cons:
Extrimely heavy and large, moving front element. Need Canon calibration to become sharp.

I got this lens almost new on FM traded on another one. Sent it same day to Canon for calibrations since some out of focus tests. After calibration it comeback better. Extremely bulky with no reason!!! This lens need re-design, Canon please make it as light and sharp as new 70-200mm F4 IS.
In general OK all purpose zoom lens, but I will sell it anyway for something better ... Smile)


 
Canon EF 15mm f/2.8 Fisheye

ef15mmf_28_1_
Review Date: Oct 10, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Super sharp, fast, small/light, very contrasty, excellent colors for non-L. Excellent super-wide effect on FF camera.
Cons:
Cost bit lot for non-L, horrible hood keep falling in bag, lens could be scratched because of this. Noisy AF since non-USM.

Exellent prime, I might be getting it again as soon I will get FF camera. You could cut your head of with super sharpness of this lens Smile) L level colors and contrast. Made several excellent shots on 5D, some samples:

http://www.pbase.com/breitling65/image/81574334
http://www.pbase.com/breitling65/image/83787945
http://www.pbase.com/breitling65/image/83788915


 
Canon EF 24mm f/1.4L USM

ef24mmf_14l_1_
Review Date: Oct 9, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Small, light, fast for low light, great AF speed, L colors/contrast
Cons:
Nothing, bit softer corners at F1.4 is understeandable to me. Nothing to compare yet, mk II not for sale yet as well.

One of the "must have" L primes, my copy is sharp wide open and no complains about. Excellent for travel lens since not as big and heavy. Amazing colors and contrast similar to 35L/85L/135L primes.
Some shots with it I did in Barcelona:

http://www.pbase.com/breitling65/image/94683244
http://www.pbase.com/breitling65/image/94684275
http://www.pbase.com/breitling65/image/94765186


 
Canon EF 135mm f/2L USM

ef135mmf_2l_1_
Review Date: Sep 28, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $980.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Razor sharp at F2, excellent for low lights, superfast AF, colors/contrast!!! Not heavy and large, black colored. Price tag is greate in compare to other telephoto L's
Cons:
Don't like huge hood

One of the lenses I would not sell under any conditions, 35L is second to this Smile
I think this lens is best on FF body like 5D, I hope it well be as good on mk II I am waiting now to buy. I shot anything with it from sports to shows, portraits to landscapes. All stunning in results, especially like low light results.
Amazing prime overall!!!


 

Page:  1 · 2  next