about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: BostonGreg  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add BostonGreg to your Buddy List
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L II USM

Screen_Shot_2013-11-16_at_5_30_13_PM
Review Date: Dec 10, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,500.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: razor sharp, zeiss like colors & contrast, overall stunning image quality, great investment
Cons:

Just picked up the new 24-70 II. This is a fantastic Canon zoom lens and worth every penny. Image quality is fantastic...beats all my other Canon L series primes except the 200 f2 IS and 300 f2.8L IS II. The colors and contrast rival my Zeiss glass. The lens is lighter than the original and has a very solid feel. I'm really enjoying these new Canon lenses!

 
Canon EF 50mm f/1.2L USM

ef50lusm
Review Date: Mar 20, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,359.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Bokeh, Sharpness, Colors, Compact Size, Build Quality, Image Quality
Cons:

Just picked up a very sharp copy of the Canon 50 f/1.2L. Love the look produced on full frame bodies wide open. Wonderful bokeh, tack sharp with superb colors & contrast. The look is almost as good as my Zeiss 85 with the ease of AF that I need for wedding photography. The f/1.2 is a must have for any professional photographer looking to stand out. The artistic creativity it allows is what you're paying for. You cannot get the same look with the lower end models. Like other L glass, it's an investment.

 
Canon Extender EF 2x III

lens-extender2xIII
Review Date: Feb 4, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $499.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellant Image Quality, Ease of use, Affordable, Extra reach
Cons:

The new extender III works great with the new Canon lens lineup. Image quality is superb, colors and contrast seem unchanged. Auto Focus works great, fast and accurate on my 5D II and 1D IV. Perfect way to get the extra reach when I need it and then easily toss and store in my bag. Noticeably better IQ than its predecessor version II. Great value for all it does, a great buy!

Works best on these three awesome lenses:
*Canon 300mm f/2.8L IS II
*Canon 70-200 f/2.8L IS II
*Canon 200mm f/2L IS


 
Canon EF 300mm f/2.8L IS II USM

300f28II
Review Date: Feb 2, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $7,299.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Stunning Image Quality, Portability(lighter than predecessor), Works Amazingly with Extender 2X III, New IS III is wonderful, New Hood & Cover, Color reproduction & contrast seem better than original model.
Cons:
Price is hard to swallow but will pay off.

Just picked up the new Canon 300 f/2.8L IS II and I'm in love already. Improvements I noticed right away were that its lighter than its predecessor, the new hood design is wonderful (esp. the rubber where hood screws in so no more paint chipping in this area), the new IS III I'm told will work wonders in the field. I'll update review once I'm able to confirm. The image quality is stunning. Seems color reproduction and contrast are better than the last. The new coatings will help protect the glass elements. Overall, just a beautiful lens. I can tell you now this lens improves on every aspect of the original IS model and may be the best Canon lens produced yet.


 
Canon EF 17-40mm f/4L USM

ef17-40_4l_1_
Review Date: Jan 13, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $797.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Solid Construction, Image Quality, Sharp, Price Point, Weight
Cons:

The Canon 17-40 f/4L was my first L series lens years ago and still has an active spot in my camera bag. The image quality is great ~ in fact it, it beats the hell out of the "improved" 16-35II. A solid performer and the perfect choice for anyone looking to upgrade into L series glass. Very versatile and perfect as a "walk around" lens. I choose to keep this lens over the equally awesome Tokina 16-28 because I'm able to use my Kaseman polars and I also enjoy using my neutral density filters on some wide angel applications. The 16-28 (also the Canon 14L) do not accept filters.

 
Canon EF 200mm f/2L IS USM

ef200_f2lisu_586x225_1_
Review Date: Dec 11, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $5,700.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: bokeh, sharpness, contrast, Image Stabilization
Cons:

The 200 is hands down my favorite lens. AMAZING IQ, sharpness and gorgeous 3D subject separation. The files rival my favorite Zeiss glass and the new 300 II. Thanks to the new IS, I'm able to handhold and get stunning results. I use this lens for portraits, weddings and editorial work. It's an expensive one at $6k but a solid investment that's worth every penny.

 
Zeiss 85mm f/1.4 Planar T*

85mm
Review Date: Nov 21, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Build Quality Image Quality
Cons:

This is my first Zeiss lens and I am extremely impressed. Build quality is just superb. Very solid feel with silky smooth focus ring. The images I've produced with this lens far exceed the IQ produced with my Canon 85 f/1.2 II. Tack sharp wide open with just the most beautiful colors and contrast. What I love best is the amazing bokeh and subject separation. The images truly have a 3D quality that my clients just love. Being one of the less expensive Zeiss pieces I would recommend this lens to anyone considering it. I loved it so much, I just dropped another $2k on the 100 f/2 Makro Planar. I am now a Zeiss fan for life as I know you will be after shooting with this wonderful glass!