about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: BillBrowning  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add BillBrowning to your Buddy List
Epson Stylus Photo 2200

StylusPhoto2200
Review Date: Dec 27, 2009 Recommend? | Price paid: $625.00

 
Pros: Quality! Sharp! Works best on matt paper, the black is not glossy. This is easly cured with clear spray coating. You should put this on display prints for UV and insect damage.
Cons:
Kind of slow, but the quality makes up for it. For pro work look around and see if anything faster meets your standards. Ink cost? Why does a few ml of ink cost so much?

I have bought a new color matching tool and it makes my computer + printer even better. I have a Xrite color munki design. I bought mine before the photo came out. At first the software did not work. After much hastle and talking to Xrite and Pantone they finally repaired their bad code. Works fine now.
Thats my update for now.
Bill


 
Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM

EF10-22
Review Date: Sep 4, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $710.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, excellent colors, quick focus, feels well built.
Cons:
None

I've only shot a few test images so far and they have been great. I have been waiting for a wide angle lens from Canon since I bought my first 60D. I have been making do with a Sigma 15 mm FF fish eye. I do not mind the 1/2 to 1 stop speed loss because I know a F2.8 would have been $1200+. As for the hood there is no free lunch and the lens would have been more expensive with the hood. It does not come with a uv filter either but I have one on every lens except the Sigma 15mm because it will not fit the curved front element.
if you are looking for a fine wide angle zoom for your 1.6 camera this will do the job. Just buy the hood when you buy the lens. Hoods on zoom lenses are of limited use as they only cover the wide end of the zoom. I do like the protection they give the front of the lens.


 
Epson Stylus Photo 2200

StylusPhoto2200
Review Date: Jul 26, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $625.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: What can I say that has not been said. It makes very good glossy prints, the only drawback is the black is not glossy on the print. I have found that the matt paper looks as sharp as the glossy with no reflections.
Cons:
This printer is made to be used. If it sets idle for more than a few weeks you will have to clean he heads.

When I had the old Epson 1200 series I thought it would be hard to improve on. The 2200 did improve the quality. In the past I only printed on glossy paper because I liked the sharpness. Even in the wet paper days I thought the fiber papers lacked the sharpness I wanted. With the 2200 and enhanced matt I now get sharp prints that have no reflection at all. Now I can see the print and not the light behind me. For the guy from Spain with the 2100 he did not like. Every company puts out a bad example every now and then. As you can read by all of these reviews most of the time this is an excellent printer. Well it's out of production now I hope the replacement is just as good. Now if they would sell the ink for a reasonable price, less than $5.00 USD for the same amount of ink, I would print more and Epson would make even more money. With ink prices like they are they should give the printers away so we would buy the ink. After all this marketing plan works for cell phones.

 
Canon EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS USM

ef100_400l_1_
Review Date: Dec 31, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,324.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp wide open center and corner. If your copy is soft at all send it to Canon for a tune up while in warrenty. I have a 300 F4 and this 100-400 is sharper wide open. It just gets a little better stopped down.
Cons:
None. It is heavy but that is to be expected.

I said it all above, this is a great lens.

 
Bogen/Manfrotto 3001D Tripod Legs

product_83851_1_
Review Date: Dec 14, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $138.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Light, strong, flexable in use from ground level to max hight.
Cons:
The locks will pinch your fingers.

I like this tripod for all the reasons stated by others. I like being able to put the camera right on the ground.
Now I have discovered another way to use it. I had been wanting a "wimberly" mount for my longer lenses. When I was playing with the 390 RC head that came with my tripod I found by flipping the camera mount up as for shooting verticals and mounting the lens foot to that I had a alt/AZ mount. I can't wait to try it on a flying bird. I live near the coast and there are many large birds that make great subjects.
|_ is what the head looks like when it is set.

Bill


 
Canon EF 300mm f/4L IS USM

ef300mmf_4_1_
Review Date: Apr 16, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp! Color! Contrast! Af speed! IS!
Cons:
Yes the IS makes a little noise, it may be a problem around birds, I don't know.

I've had this lens over a year. I never knew how fast the AF was until I got my new XTi. I went to a Blue Angels airshow this week end and the lens camera combo were excellent! I have been a pro and now retired and this is the most impressive lens camera combos I have had. I've had Hasselblad, Mamya RZ, view cameras, etc. I still have my old professional negs and trans. When I scan them at the same pixal per mm as the Canon the Canon is as good as the best of my old work. And some of the old stuff is very soft, I was surprised as they made sharp looking prints. Often my pro work was printed 8X10 or smaller so a medium format neg is not magnified much.

 
Canon EOS Rebel XTi (400D)

rebel_xti
Review Date: Apr 16, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: An excellent camera after it came back from factory service. Looks like Canon has a quality control problem.
Cons:
When the buffer is full it takes a long time for it to clear. On .jpg you have to fill it on puopose, otherwise you can shoot till your finger is tired. The button to press to adjust for the Fstop in manual is in the wrong place. I smear my glasses each time I use it.

What I wanted was a 5D. After research, this was the closest Canon made that I could afford. When I received the XTi I tested all of my lenses on it. they were all too soft. Called the dealer and they recommended factory service. I didn't like paying shipping and waiting to get a new camera fixed but they did an excellent job. If it had been this good when I got it it would have been a 10+. One underexposed shot before service and none after. Focus is perfect and fast compared to my old D60. I went to a Blue Angels air show this week end. 1000 shots, 4 out of focus, to me that's good!
After PS processing you can make a 8X10 from a 100% crop and it looks sharp. If you want to get the most from this camera or any 10mp cropped sensor get the best lenses made or it won't look sharp. Read reviews and forums sometimes after market lenses are as good as a L from Canon. For example a Tamron 90mm 2.8 macro, or Sigma 15 2.8 full frame fish eye. It has lots of barrel distortion though. I fix mine in PS when I need to.
With any piece of equipment if it does not perform like it should contact the dealer and or the manufacturer and have them make it good.


 
Canon EF-S 17-55 f/2.8 IS USM

l217_efs1755
Review Date: Mar 27, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros: I am thinking of buying this lens and would like to thank every one for their posts.
Cons:

A message to mlade10. If you buy any product you are very dissatisfied with, take it back if possible. I wish you would go into more detail with what you disliked about the lens. As a potential buyer your opinion is important to me. Canon lenses like other products have varying quality as shown by the people with the focus problems.

Thanks,


Bill


 
Canon EOS 20D

20d
Review Date: Mar 11, 2007 Recommend? | Price paid: $1,250.00

 
Pros: This is an update for my old post.
Cons:

I have found the problem with setting the camera in manual mode was operator error! I was turning the dial past manual and of course it did not operate in manual. Kick my rating up to a 9 for the 20D. I think it is an excellent camera.

 
Canon EOS 20D

20d
Review Date: Jan 27, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,250.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: This is a fine camera as many others have said>
Cons:
I was using it do some macro shots and tried, on manual to set a small f stop and 1/200 shutter speed. I was depending on the flash for light. The camera would not let me set the exposure more than 2 stops from the correct exposure. This left me at F 45 and 14s with the flash. I have been through the menu and have not found a solution. Does anyone have a solution?

I have a Canon D60 and I can use any f stop shutter speed combination I want on manual. There must be somthing I'm missing on the 20D.

 
Sigma Electronic Flash EF 500 DG Super

EF_500_DG_Super_Flash
Review Date: Jan 9, 2007 Recommend? no | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Price and the Sigma name are what sold me. The build feel is about the same as my old Canon 540 EZ. I was happy with it until it died.
Cons:
About a month after the 1 year warrrenty ran out it died. After reading the other reviews this seems to happen too often.

I bought this Ef500DG ST in Dec. 05 and it worked as it should. I don't use it very often so I was suprised 3 days ago when it would not work.
I have a 25 yo $10.00 FLASH that still works. This one died just as the warrenty ran out! I did not use it enough to rate it otherwise.