about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: AaronNegro  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add AaronNegro to your Buddy List
Canon EF 35-350mm f/3.5-5.6L USM

ef35_350_1_
Review Date: Mar 12, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: From 35 to 250 mm with acceptable IQ, not that big, very well built. Color rendering is very good. Very handy and quick to focus.
Cons:
The zoom barrel on mine goes lose when carrying the camera, do not drink much coffee if you are going to use it ;) use some technique to keep it sturdy for good sharpness.

I used it just for a couple of days so far and I can say I have a pleasant feeling with this lens.

Got it second hand after trading in a Sigma 70-200 2.8 HSM Macro II I was not using much and I was not very happy with.

The range is great with my 5D and I love the pictures I'm able to take with it.

My findings:
1-Very good at the wide end
2-Color rendering is great
3-The highlights seem to remain more with this lens than with my other lens
4-Push/Pull zoom is quicker for me than the usual ring
5-Acceptable picture quality at 350 if keeping a sturdy position
6-AF is quick and reliable, far more reliable than the Sigma it replaced
7-lighter than carrying a 24-70 and the 70-200 in my bag.
8-No lens swap needed is a great mind changer.

While I can only use this zoom in daylight or bust the ISO big time when going indoor, I'm very happy I found a cheap good copy in a local shop. Surely i prefer this lens over the Sigma.


A weel deserved 10 for the price I bought it for.


 
Canon EF 135mm f/2L USM

ef135mmf_2l_1_
Review Date: Feb 18, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Size, focal ideal for head shots and portraits outdoors, color render and bokeh. It also is SHARP. AF is very fast on my 5D
Cons:
nothing comes to my mind, maybe a little vignette at f2.0

Here we go,

I had the lens for a short period but I will give some feedback from my little experience.


First impression:

-Very good build and not very heavy, it makes photography pleasant from the start.

-Size is a big pro of the lens, Im coming from the 70-200 2.8, the 24-70 L and the 180L, so this one feels like a feather.

-The hood is almost as big as the lens and it really does a great job.

-Filter size 72mm makes it a bit easier for filters and I already had them from my Tammy 24-135.

Overall I give it an excellent and great for my needs.

Handling:

It is fast to focus and the focus ring is good enough for MF if the AF does not cut it.

Balances very well with the 5D, with or without the grip.

Colors, bokeh, IQ, Sharpness:

It renders colors with good contrast, very similar to my old 180L which I exchanged to get this 135. Temperature is a bit cold and having that desirable L touch.

The thing is Sharp, and by sharp I would say VERY sharp from the very start at 2.0 to insanely sharp at f2.8 to f4.

Bokeh is something I just cant describe with words and I already have a Sigma 50 1.4 to say I like this lens more in this regard.

OOF is very good, to say it pops out the subject to the point of 3D feeling.


I cant comment on price but I can say that this lens comes from another Fredmirander that already has a 85 1.2 and I think he will miss this lens more than I will miss the 180L.

CONCLUSION

If you can and want it, get it, it will not disappoint you.



 
Sigma 50mm F1.4 EX DG HSM

sigma50-14jpg
Review Date: Jan 25, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: Build is good, comes with a proper hood, 77 mm filter so I can share filters from other lens, great bokeh when stopped down to f1.8, plenty of sharpness, good and silent AF, it balances pretty well on my 5D
Cons:
Only up to f16, Sigma finishing gets scratches way to easy.

I have this lens for a week and I have taken around 1000 pictures with it, I was hesitating to buy this lens because of the AF feedback from the net but I'm very happy I followed my instinct.

It focusses well on my 5D "classic" and it really shines from f1.8 to f2.8, producing the nicest bokeh I ever seen in a 50 mm so far. It is creamy and so appealing for portraits that I could not let it go without trying.

Build:

*It is bigger and heavier than all the 50 mm but the Canon L. It feels solid and balances well on my 5D.
*Somehow I strat disliking the finishing of the Sigma lens as it gets marked way easy.
*The hood is a well engineered one, it does what it is supposed to do and it does it well.

Image quality:

*Very good wide open and much better once going to 1.8 upwards to 2.8 and 4.0, from then on I think the Canon 1.4 seems a bit sharper IMO
*Bokeh is what makes this lens stand on its own from the crowd, enough said by saying it is fantastic.

*Contrast and rendering is very good but there is that little yellow Sigma signature that some people like and some not, I'm in the "not" side but it is so easy to remove that I do not mind.

AF:

I see no problem with my copy, I was going to the local dealer to cherry pick a good one but the first one I took was good out of the box.

It is silent and quick and as accurate as I need it to be in dark environment.


Overall:

If it was not for two very little things like the fact that it only goes up to f16 and the Sigma finishing I would give it a 10.


Sample picture

http://www.flickr.com/photos/pikmaniadotcom/4300600459/
http://gallery.me.com/anegro#100350/Mounia-20Night-20Out-2040-20-1-&bgcolor=black
http://gallery.me.com/anegro#100350/Mounia-20Night-20Out-2059-20-1-&bgcolor=black
http://gallery.me.com/anegro#100350/Mounia-20Night-20Out-2053&bgcolor=black


 
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM

ef_24-70_28u_1_
Review Date: Dec 3, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: Continuous 2.8, very well built, not as heavy as I thought, very sharp from f3.5 and sharp at 2.8. Colors pop out of the picture. AF is quick and accurate. Wow factor in the pics.
Cons:
distortion at 24 mm, a bit softer at 70 mm and a bit of vignetting. Not really liking the fact that its zoom ring turn the "opposite way".

See positives and negatives.

This is my early review as I only have it for a couple of days, I replaced a Tamron 24-135 SP for this one and Im not looking back at all.


I love the feeling it gives while using it. It is reliable and it points where you really focus. Color rendition is much better than with the Tamron.


Great lens so far.


 
Sigma 105mm f2.8 EX Macro 1:1 Lens

05_105mmEX_1_
Review Date: Apr 27, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $389.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Sharp, Warm colors. Small and compact. FR very useful in Crop and FF.
Cons:
Swtich to manual/AF is a bit like last minute designed. AF hunts.

Bought the canon version of it to use with FF and crop. It's my first 1:1 Macro lens and I'm still getting used to it.

The lens is very sharp, more than a 50 mm 1.8 Canon so far. I have tried from f2.8 to f32 and at f8 it still is sharper than the 50 mm I had.

The bokeh is not distracting and it proved to be soft and creamy.
AF hunts quite a bit in short distances but for portraits seems to have more accuracy.

I have found that it is so much sharp that it is not the best for face portrait unless the subject is very young. Photoshop has to be used to hide reality Smile

AF switch is.. how to say it... capricious and not very well designed.

Here are my first pictures: Sorry if they are not the best ones ever.

1st one at f2.8 to see shallow DOF:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/pikmaniadotcom/3479686085/in/set-72157617391357260/
2nd:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/pikmaniadotcom/3479688337/in/set-72157617391357260/
3-
http://www.flickr.com/photos/pikmaniadotcom/3480497232/
4-
http://www.flickr.com/photos/pikmaniadotcom/3480498148/




 
Sigma 70-200mm F2.8 EX DG APO MACRO HSM

145_small_1_
Review Date: Apr 11, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $700.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Good with crop and much better with FF. Sharp. Macro mode with focus distance at 1 m is very handy. HSM is quick and accurate. Focus ring works nice while AF is on, very handy for correcting AF to mach the eye. Tripod ring well balanced. Good build and good hood.
Cons:
A bit soft at 2.8 with crop. it front focusses with my 40D. (but it nails with the 5D)

Bought it brand new for my 40D and found it was front focussing a bit.
I thought it was the lens fault but after trying with a 5D I say it was nailing the spot with it.

thanks to this lens I saw my 40D needed calibration Smile

On crop sensor, this lens is a bit soft at 2.8 and gets sharp at 4.0.
On FF it is sharp all the way. Sharp enough at 2.8 (perfect for portraits) and very sharp from 4.0 on.

Things I found good.

-HSM compared with USM is not far and it works very well and fast.
-The lens is very resistant to flare.
-I like warm colors so this lens is great for my taste. On the 5D the colors are just perfect but on the 40D are warmer than I would like.
-It balances very well mounted on a tripod.
-It is very well built.
-The price is far better than the canon.
-It focuses 1/2 meter closer than the canon equivalent. That makes this lens even more polyvalent.
-Macro mode is not a real macro but it does a good job.
-The hood works as advertised and comes with the lens. (not as an extra)
-It comes with its own soft bag.
-Sigma warranty is a good deal these days.
-On crop sensors works fine but it shines on FF.

Not as Good

-Yellow cast or color aberration at 2.8 when used on crop sensors.
-I would love having OS with this lens but that would have a price.
-Not weather sealed but again, this has a price tag.


 
Canon EOS 5D

5d_586x225_2_
Review Date: Mar 9, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: DOF control way better than with the Crop bodies. Better colors, ISO with very low noise results, weak Anti Aliasing filter. B&W is more accurate than 40D. Sharp pictures out of camera. Center AF is more responsive than 40D
Cons:
Screen and weak AF with outer points.

I just got this camera and I can say good things about my short experience.

1-The AF is not bad at all, the center AF is more responsive than the center one of my 40D.

2-Antialiasing is weaker and pictures seem to be sharper out of camera even in RAW.

3-ISO performance is great. from VERY clean ISO100 to clean ISO400 to a very good ISO1600 and a Usable ISO3200.

4-B&W balance is way more accurate than the one of the 40D

5-You will not believe that but I get a way more detail with this camera on all my lens and I feel it is less demanding than the 40D and its photosite crowded sensor.

6- I sensed better control over highlights and a little difference on exposure. I nail exposure nearly all the time with this one.

7-My Sigma 70-200 2.8 front focuses with the 40D while it nails focus with the 5D.

8-I miss the AF-ON button, the ISO info on the viewfinder, the custom modes, popup flash, dust cleaner, live view and the UI layout of my 40D.

9- Viewfinder is brighter and bigger than the ones I'm used.

10-AI servo is a tad better than with XXD series.

All this said, I guess I can say I love this camera for the pictures it takes and by how it opened my eyes for a new FF point of view. But I miss some features I got used to have with my 40D.

9-The screen is BAD


 
Tamron 24-135MM F/3.5-5.6 AD Aspherical (IF) Macro

24135mm_1_
Review Date: Apr 9, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: Sharp when stopped down a bit. Good at the ends Good with Full Frame. hood well designed. good macro mode
Cons:
Slow AF, it hunts with low light. A bit heavy for its size

After almost one year of use, I can provide some feedback about this lens.

I like the macro skills of this zoom and the sharpness provided when I stop it down(5,6 to 9).

It is a really good walk around lens either for full frame and for crop system.

I suffer a bit with the Irish weather and the ISO setting so I would love having f2.8 with this range but my pocket can't pay for it yet.

The hood supplied with the lens is well sorted and it provides a good service against flare and glass protection in some situations.

I also had the chance to use it with the 350D/digital rebel, with the 40D and the 5D and it works fine with all of them. (specially with the 5D)

What I do not like that much is how it hunts with low light and that the AF is a bit slow for my taste now.

I got it a bit soft and after calibration just showed what it was capable of.(good sharpness has been delivered from this copy)