about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: 2bruce  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add 2bruce to your Buddy List
Canon EF 35mm f/1.4L USM

ef_35_14_1_
Review Date: Dec 13, 2009 Recommend? | Price paid: $1,037.00

 
Pros: awesome colors, bokeh, low light, IQ,
Cons:
none

this lens is amazing as a walkabout hard to beat on 5d mk 11
see shots
http://gallery.me.com/brucegilling#100441


 
Canon EF 35mm f/1.4L USM

ef_35_14_1_
Review Date: Jan 3, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,098.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Superb! well built beautiful colors and contrast dof fantastic
Cons:
expensive

Love this bought 50mm 1.2 sent i t back just love the 35 mm on full frame 5DMK2 the and 1.3/1.6 cameras

http://www.pbase.com/2bruce/5dmk2__35_mm_14_l


 
Canon EOS 40D

40d
Review Date: Jan 14, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,200.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Super IQ with good lenses ,Fast shooting! great dial and menu access, nice screen size,silver-metal flash shoe so no scratches! live view, feels great nice grip.
Cons:
none for this price!

love the feel of this camera after my xti and its menu access options are great easy to navigate.
Super IQ with good lenses ,Fast shooting! great dial and menu access,
nice screen size,silver-metal flash shoe so no scratches! live view,
feels great nice grip.
http://www.pbase.com/2bruce/image/91341389


 
Canon EF 50mm f/1.2L USM

ef50lusm
Review Date: Nov 15, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,259.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: superb lens
Cons:
none

love the lens love the bokeh, love the colors, love the low light possibilities did is say love to much ! rent one and fall in love if you don't send it back also Canon has $100 off this lens now

 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM

ef70-200lisusm
Review Date: Feb 12, 2007 Recommend? | Price paid: $1,200.00

 
Pros: light sharp contrast skin tones
Cons:
none

this lens i love it !! some pros may frown on using IS but technology is here, so i take advantage, and i am still learning
the art of photography see some non edited shots of this beautifuk model

http://www.pbase.com/2bruce/talia_shoot


 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM

ef70-200lisusm
Review Date: Nov 30, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,250.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Compact lightweight body - 760g, 172mm length 4 stop Image Stabilizer with 2 modes 1 x Fluorite and 2 x UD lens elements for superior optical performance colors & contrast are fantastic! Ring type USM auto focus with full time manual override Circular aperture diaphragm for even background blur Environmental seals for dust and moisture resistance
Cons:
None except IS eats up camera battery power buy a spare no problem

I was about to buy 70-200 2.8 IS So glad I got this ! very happy with the lens and when I switch to full frame. it's a lens I will always keep, I have alo used it with canon 1.4 extender 110 MM-280MM also fantastic F stop goes to f5.6
some pics
http://upload.pbase.com/2bruce/gilling


 
Canon EF 35mm f/2

ef35mmf2_1_
Review Date: Dec 16, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $237.93 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Works in low light very cheap to buy sharp nice colors about 50 mm scope on my digital rebel
Cons:
autofocus hunts sometimes in low light on my rebel

I love this lens takes great pictures is light and cheap at
$237 I am very happy with this lens and iis ability to take pictures in low light is great.


 
Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM

70-300_isusm
Review Date: Oct 11, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $649.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: weight IS colour range
Cons:
price & no pouch or hood

Well today I was like a kid with a new toy just got my new 70-300 mm IS this is my first image stabilizing lens so I was excited to try it out, so i took off my 70-200 4 L probably a good lens to compare it with.
Well first thing is the weight it's light and inconspicuous compared to my 70-200 L with its black finish ,
it feels very nice and it's fast to focus, image stabilizion is excellent and the range is great 112mm to 480 mm on my xt rebel
colours and sharpnesss are a not nice as my 70-200 f4 L but image stabilization and weight and extra range make it very attractive I am happy with it
see some picture unedited and some edited on my site
p.s I did not try with IS set to to setting no:2 & I am not a professional
http://www.pbase.com/2bruce/gallery/canon_70-300_usm_is_


 
Canon EF-S 60mm f/2.8 Macro USM

efs60_28macro_usm
Review Date: Oct 7, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $409.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: light fast amd very shoes does amcro and portraits
Cons:
only for 1.6 cameras slow focus

Well there are many positive things to say but first I love the sharpness and its weight of this lens it's light for a 96 mm equivalent lens
but also well built, and the fact you get two lens for the price of one,as in a macro and a portrait lens.
I would of liked to get a lens hood and soft pouch for the money but no complaints really, sometimes sit can be slow to focus.if Iever get the Canon 5d Iwill miss it


 
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II

ef50mmf_18_1_
Review Date: Oct 3, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $469.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: price colurs sharpness weight
Cons:

Fanstic lens for the price very sharp light and 1.6 crop its great for portraits at 80mm