backup
Photoshop actions
 
 


  Reviews by: esquire1954  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Add esquire1954 to your Buddy List
Nikon 28-70mm f/2.8 ED-IF AF-S

1961NAS_180
Review Date: Jun 2, 2017 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros:
Cons:

Any Alternate hoods for this Lens?

 
Nikon 17-55mm f/2.8G AF-S DX

DX-17-55_L
Review Date: Jun 20, 2016 Recommend? | Price paid: $625.00

 
Pros: Sharpness/Convent compared to carrying multiple primes- fast AF
Cons:
weight/hood size

When people speak negatively of the weight on a long trek, I agree.Since putting a vertical/battery grip on my camera, the added leverage has made the 17-55 much easier to deal with/ balance than prior using. Lens is sharp at f4.
Peak sharpness seems to fall in the 5.6 -7.1 range


 
Nikon 85mm f/1.4D IF AF Nikkor

1933NAS_180
Review Date: Feb 25, 2016 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $560.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Bokeh
Cons:
noise of a screwdriver lens - lower contrast & color

This is a lens who's day has past...
The Nikon 1.4D is a very nice lens but the amount of critical focus misses is unacceptable, when it hits critical focus it is sublime.
To me both the g lens do a superior job of focus, accuracy (especially in low light) & color richness
The 1.4g lens does everything in a superior way compared to this lens, with 1.8g is the king of sharpness but lacks build quality, warmth, & the subtleties of the 1.4g... also being developed for film the 1.4d tends to show noise (even at low ISO) when the prints are enlarged. I've owned several different copies of each lens 1.4d, 1.8g & the 1.4g


 
Nikon 85mm f/1.4G AF-S Nikkor

Screen_Shot_2013-11-14_at_11_20_02_AM
Review Date: Feb 25, 2016 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:

Now owning a 85 1.4G and prior owning the 1.8G & 1.4D I'm a covert. The 1.4G is a superior lens in all ways, it has skin tones the 1.8g will never have... Jay968 says it all very eloquently...Viewing at 100%, this lens is tack sharp by 2.2

 
Nikon 17-55mm f/2.8G AF-S DX

DX-17-55_L
Review Date: Jan 14, 2016 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $575.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: speed. sharpness, combined with build quality
Cons:
?

The best lens I have for my D7100, color & contrast are the best!

 
Zeiss 35mm f/2 Distagon T*

35mm
Review Date: Sep 13, 2015 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $550.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: unique color rendition
Cons:

Owning and using the Zeiss 35/2 ZF, I have to say I find it be a vivid color, very nice skin tone lens for close up subjects. B&W has very nice contrast variations

 
Nikon 50mm f/1.4D AF Nikkor

1902NCP_180
Review Date: Jul 31, 2015 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $232.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Smooth skin tones, never misses focus with AF on, small light weight Everyone thinks it's a plastic lens when it's a plastic coated steel barreled lens, great price
Cons:

I own both a 85 1.4 AF-D and the 85 1.8 D and the 1.8 is not far behind the 1.4 and is easier to focus, it's size makes it much easier to store and carry than the 1.4 and makes it a great "everyday lens"
A all around great lens, good bokeh at 1.8, very sharp stopped down the 2.2, the 1.4 is not worth the elevated price over this lens