backup
Photoshop actions
 
 


  Reviews by: Soulphoto2014  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Soulphoto2014 to your Buddy List
Tamron 24-70mm f/2.8 Di VC USD SP

Screen_Shot_2013-11-15_at_10_26_09_AM
Review Date: Sep 3, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $800.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Best 24-70 2.8 zoom out there (the Canon is priced ridiculous!)
Cons:
none

Ok the backward zoom is a bit awkward in the beginning, but this lens is :

-Almost equally sharp as the 24-70 2.8L II
-Is the only f2.8 lens that has VC, the 24-70 2.8LII has not!
-Half the price of the 24-70 2.8L II
-Way sharper wide open than the 24-70 2.8L MK I

If you see Tamron can deliver such a perfect price/quality lens you wonder why you should pay double the price for the Canon brand name/red ring.

Alternative brands are getting better day by day, also check the Tokina's if you are looking for a wide angle and the Sigma Art's if you are looking for 35/50mm primes.

You could say Canon would lower the price seen these better alternatives, but they don't. So they definitely will lose market share if smart buyers choose the right thing (and check FredMiranda Smile )


 
Tokina 16-28mm f/2.8 AT-X PRO FX SD

735451
Review Date: Sep 3, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $720.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Best price/quality f2.8 zoom, built like a tank.
Cons:
Flare, heavy, no filters

I used this lens very intense in past, it was my only used lens for urban exploration (abandoned buildings).

It's way sharper than the Canon 17-40 and 16-35 2.8 so I definitely would skip those Canons, their corners are unsharp.

I have a sturdy carbon tripod, but as the lens is very heavy. Also in some places with light that falls in a room, it has some heavy green flare which is difficult to remove. Filters are not really necessary for me so not a big deal.

But : I sold it as I discovered a hidden gem on FredMiranda :

The Tokina 17 3.5 AT-X Pro!
This lens is THE UWA i was searching for years, I didn't know it existed. This UWA prime is sharp, light, compact, has no flare and accepts filters and has a great price!

It's out of production, but if you are lucky you can find one on Ebay like I did, don't miss this hidden gem!

So I replaced an uwa zoom Tokina with an uwa prime Tokina.
It's like walking around with your Sigma or Canon 15mm fisheye, it's so light/compact/sharp, unbelievable!


 
Sigma 15mm f2.8 EX Diagonal Fisheye

15mm_Lg_1_
Review Date: Sep 3, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $600.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Better than the Canon 15 2.8 fisheye, the partyphotography prime!
Cons:
none

Best fisheye prime on the market, bought it to replace my Canon 15 2.8. Both lenses are compact, lightweight. The Sigma is the sharpest.

If you have money enough you can play with the 8-15L
I sold both fisheyes as I didn't use them anymore.

This one is ideal for partyphotography, in fact it was the only lens I used for partyphotography in dark Technoclubs Smile


 
Sigma 50mm f/1.4 DG HSM "A"

sigma50f14a
Review Date: Sep 3, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,120.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Best 50mm out there!
Cons:
none

In past I had the Canon 50 1.4, not sharp wide open.
I heard Sigma created the better 50 1.4 but some AF problems.

A long time I worked with the 35L/85L combo but for half body modelshoots I wanted to give this lens a try.

The 50L has always been mysterious to me (mixed reports about unsharp wide open, focus clutch,...) so I never dared to buy it.

After that Sigma defeated the 35L with their 35 Art, and this lens has the same design, I finally risked to buy a 50mm prime and it's perfect!

I'm still not out if I would keep both 35L + 50L (different beasts, the 50 has better background isolation), but this one is 10/10 on every aspect.

The 50mm is the go to lens for half body modelshoots.
Forget the other 50mm's if you are looking for one, this is it!


 
Sigma 35mm f/1.4 DG HSM "A"

sigma35
Review Date: Sep 3, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,120.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Better than the allready legendary Canon 35L
Cons:
none

In past I held to the Canon brand, but as I read so much positive reviews of the Sigma 35 Art and I knew a lens connaisseur that sold his 35L, a guy I can trust, so i'll gave it a try.

Perfect prime, I sold my 35L as the value will drop in near future with the Sigma Art line.

Also the Sigma 50 1.4 Art makes the 50L ridiculous.
10/10 on every aspect, forget the 35L if you are buying today.


 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM

ef70-200lisiiu_586x225
Review Date: Sep 3, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,100.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Everything
Cons:
Price

Perfect optics, for everything i'll rate it 10/10, only for price i'll give it a 4/10, could be cheaper.

 
Canon EF 28-70mm f/2.8L USM

ef_28-70_28s_1_
Review Date: Sep 3, 2014 Recommend? no | Price paid: $720.00 | Rating: 8 

Pros: Sharp wide open + price
Cons:
28mm is a big difference with 24mm, zoomrange is really short

I rate this lens in the following order :

1. Tamron 24-70 2.8 VC
2. Canon 28-70 2.8L
3. Canon 24-70 2.8L II
4. Canon 24-70 2.8L I

I bought it secondhand from a professor (12y old), in perfect condition. Had great memory's about this lens (the highscore here is correct).

Some time ago I planned to re-buy it on Ebay (saw that a French seller sold it for 500), but I realised that there is a BIG difference between 24mm-28mm IF you are a zoom guy.

Just go for the Tamron, the only f2.8 with VC and almost as sharp as the ultra expensive 24-70L II (which even doesn't have IS).

Good buy and good optics, but the 24mm & VC of the Tamron neck this one.


 
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L II USM

Screen_Shot_2013-11-16_at_5_30_13_PM
Review Date: Sep 3, 2014 Recommend? no | Price paid: $2,000.00

Pros: Sharpest f2.8 CANON zoom
Cons:
Ridiculous price!

Ridiculous priced and even no IS. It's not the invention of the century of Canon to ask so much money for a standard f2.8 zoomlens.

It's not that I can't pay it (I have the expensive 70-200 2.8L II etc but this one is sharp wide open and worth the money).

If you really want an affordable f2.8 standardzoom, just buy the Tamron 24-70 2.8 VC, I had it in past, it's really the best option, way better than the 24-70 2.8L mark I and very close to the 24-70 II at only half the price, now that's fair marketing by Tamron!

I'm more of a prime-guy so I sold the Tamron for the Sigma 35 1.4 Art. One step back and you have 24mm, 2 forward and 70mm. Think that the 24-70 isn't such a big zoomrange.

I like the advantage to be able to go to f1.4, great bokeh, the 35 1.4 is ideal for models with background, it's my walkaround lens and great in lowlight. F2.8 isn't so fast after all if you are used to primes.

I can imagine wedding photographers use the 24-70 II for comfort and the red ring, but my preference go to the creative Sigma f1.4 Art primes for modelshoots as I don't do weddings.

Even if I would do weddings I would opt for the half priced Tamron 24-70 2.8 VC, the VC is interesting for inside shots without flash.


 
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM

ef_24-70_28u_1_
Review Date: Sep 3, 2014 Recommend? no | Price paid: $1,120.00 | Rating: 2 

Pros: It's an L but should be a kitlens as it's unsharp wide open, if you pay for the premium L and f2.8, Canon should deliver a sharp lens.
Cons:
unsharp wide open, heavy

You buy an f2.8 portraitlens to use at f2.8 but if it's not sharp wide open, why would you spend much money on it ?

The 24-70 2.8LII is the better option, but ridiculous priced again and even no IS. It's not the invention of the century of Canon to ask so much money for a standard f2.8 zoomlens.

It's not that I can't pay it (I have the expensive 70-200 2.8L II etc but this one is sharp wide open and worth the money).

If you really want a f2.8 standardzoom, just buy the Tamron 24-70 2.8 VC, I had it in past, it's really the best option, way better than the 24-70 2.8L mark I and very close to the 24-70 II at only half the price, now that's faire marketing by Tamron!

I'm more of a prime-guy so I sold the Tamron for the Sigma 35 1.4 Art. One step back and you have 24mm, 2 forward and 70mm. Think that the 24-70 isn't such a big zoomrange.

I like the advantage to be able to go to f1.4, great bokeh, the 35 1.4 is ideal for models with background, it's my walkaround lens and great in lowlight. F2.8 isn't so fast after all if you are used to primes.


 
Canon EF 17-40mm f/4L USM

ef17-40_4l_1_
Review Date: Sep 3, 2014 Recommend? no | Price paid: $600.00

Pros: none
Cons:
unsharp corners

I'm glad a lot of people buy it, so I could sell it fast and get my money back Smile

Better options are :
-----------------------
Tokina 17 3.5 AT-X Pro (corner-corner sharp, light, cheap, out of production, only available on Ebay, a real hidden gem!)
Canon 16-35 f4L IS (newest UWA)
Tokina 16-28 2.8 AT-X Pro (corner-corner sharpness, but flare,heavy,no filters)

UWA's & Canon have always been a pita, not sharp corner to corner,... so I had to look to the competitors and thanks to FredMiranda I discovered the value of Tokina!!!

Tokina a very professional but underestimated brand, marketing is very limited in some countries, they should expand their marketing. Most of their lenses are optically reaching perfection and built sturdy like a tank (no plastics!).

If you are doubting to buy this lens, spend your money on the cheap and sharper Tokina's or the double priced 16-35 f4L IS.


 
Canon EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM

24-105lisusm
Review Date: Sep 3, 2014 Recommend? no | Price paid: $600.00 | Rating: 3 

Pros: Zoomrange, cheap, good flat studiolens at higher apertures (so you don't buy it for the bokeh).
Cons:
IQ : heavy vignetting on FF, not so sharp, no f2.8, not ideal for portraits

I know older photographers that use it in studio at higher apertures thanks to the nice zoomrange, but Sigma meanwhile made the newer better 24-105 f4 Art (check Tony Northrups video on youtube, the Sigma is way sharper!)

So I don't recommend this lens, it's outdated and given almost free in kits, you can consider it as a kitlens which will be sold in future if you get to know better optics.

Go for the Sigma Art if you really enjoy the 24-105 zoomrange.
I wish I could also enjoy it, but i'm too picky, I choose fast lenses for the bokeh and sharpness. Even the 24-70's f2.8 are too slow for me Smile


 
Canon EF 16-35mm f/4 L IS USM

Screen_Shot_2014-07-21_at_8_05_15_PM_copy
Review Date: Sep 3, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Corner-corner sharpness wide open, first UWA with IS.
Cons:
f4 (f2.8 is always handy)

In past I tested all UWA's, so i'll keep it short.

This is the best (and only) corner-corner sharp Canon.
There aren't much alternatives (forget 16-35's and 17-40's with unsharp corners).

If your budget is limited I recommended only 2 lenses which are equally sharp : Tokina 17 f3.5 AT-X Pro (best option, only Ebay) & Tokina 16-28 f2.8 AT-X Pro.


 
Canon EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II USM

16-35II
Review Date: Sep 3, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,250.00

Pros: none
Cons:
Extreme pricing, unsharp in the corners, for this price Canon should have sold corner to corner sharpness.

I'm really dissapointed with this lens, i'm glad I could sell it and get my money back!!!

Better options are :
-----------------------
Tokina 17 3.5 AT-X Pro (corner-corner sharp, light, cheap, out of production, only available on Ebay, a real hidden gem!)
Canon 16-35 f4L IS (newest UWA)
Tokina 16-28 2.8 AT-X Pro (corner-corner sharpness, but flare,heavy,no filters)

UWA's & Canon have always been a pita, not sharp corner to corner, overpriced,... so I had to look to the competitors and thanks to FredMiranda I discovered the value of Tokina!!!

It's a very professional but underestimated brand, marketing is very limited in some countries, they should expand their marketing. Most of their lenses are optically reaching perfection and built sturdy like a tank (no plastics!).

If you are doubting to buy this lens, save your money for a Tokina or if you have it and are dissapointed with the corners, sell it asap as the value will drop.


 
Canon EF 200mm f/2.8L II USM

1ef200mmf_28_1_1_
Review Date: Sep 3, 2014 Recommend? no | Price paid: $750.00 | Rating: 8 

Pros: Razorsharp, superbokeh, fast AF
Cons:
No IS and unhandy focal length (too long, you have to backup too much, 135L is better and also long)

Perfect optics, pictures can be published in a magazine without PP direct out of the lens. But it's too long, you have too back up too much, I recommend the 135L or 70-200 2.8L II instead. Ended op selling it.

 
Canon EF 135mm f/2L USM

ef135mmf_2l_1_
Review Date: Sep 3, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $985.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: THE BEST CANON PORTRAITPRIME EVER MADE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Cons:
NOTHING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

THIS IS THE PERFECT PORTRAITPRIME EVER MADE!
RAZORFAST AF, SUPER DOF/BOKEH, 3D POP, SUPERSHARP @ F2, SUPERB PRICE/QUALITY, NO CA OR FLARE. PERFECT OPTICS!

CHECKOUT THE LENS SAMPLE DATABASE AND LOOK FOR POSTS OF MR.135L (DANKATA) AND YOU WILL BE CONVINCED IMMEDIATELY!

http://photography-on-the.net/forum/showthread.php?t=1145005

JUST DON'T BUY IT ON CROP, IT'S TOO LONG!
I SOLD IT REGRETED IT AFTER SWITCHING TO FULLFRAME AND RE-BOUGHT IT. IT'S SO GOOD THAT I EVEN USE IT ON TOP OF MY 70-200 2.8L II AS A COMPACT LIGHT PRIME WITH PERFECT OPTICS.

A 10/10 FOR EVERY ASPECT OFFCOURSE!!


 
Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM

ef85mmf_18usm_1_
Review Date: Sep 3, 2014 Recommend? no | Price paid: $400.00 | Rating: 7 

Pros: Sharp, lightweight, fast AF, cheap, good for sports
Cons:
Purple CA bomb, dull colours

It's a good beginners portraitlens and especially good for sports
After having it twice I tested it side by side with the overpriced 85L, i'll keep the L and sold the 1.8. The L has way better colours, contrast, microcontrast and the legendary f1.2 dof/bokeh. Other brands don't make f1.2 lenses, so it's a legendary collectors gem for future allready. The Sigma 85 1.4 is probably also good, but sometimes you read about inconsistent AF copies. I would only buy the Sigma if they make a 85 1.4 Art (I have the 35 & 50 Art allready, they are the best glass ever!).


 

Page:  1 · 2  next