about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: paparazzinick  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add paparazzinick to your Buddy List
Nikon 300mm f/4 ED-IF AF-S Nikkor

1909NAS_180
Review Date: Mar 30, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $465.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: light, sharp, built like a tank
Cons:
f4, but I guess if I needed faster then I should have bought the 2.8

Best 300mm lens I ever used. Crushes the Canon counterpart. I use to shoot canon and this crushes it.

 
Nikon SB-80DX AF Speedlight

sb80
Review Date: Mar 4, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $110.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: lightweight, powerfull, good combo with my D1X
Cons:
not powerful enough for large rooms but still does the job

I got this to use for weddings as a fill flash and it does the job. A great combo for my D1X when I can use strobes. I highly resommend this to anyone looking for a flash. If you can find one get it.

 
Nikon D1X

Nikon_D1X
Review Date: Feb 7, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,275.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: built like a tank, great quality images, film like quality pictures
Cons:
battery life, high ispo noise but that is why the D2X is out

I got this used but it looked brand new and worked as new. i got one heck of a deal. only 900 shutter clicks on it. I took 100 pics with it at all different ISO's and they all looked awesome. Even at iso 3200, it was still ok. A bit of noise at high iso's, but that is expected and the D2x takes care of it. This camera has a film like look to it in the pictures and I love that. Out of camera, these pictures are near perfect. I am going to buy a second or 3rd for my wedding work.

If you get a chance to use it or buy one, get it. It is an awesome camera for pro's. Any amature who is a Point and shoot person will not like this camera because you have to do all the work. But if you are an experianced photographer, then you will love this camera and will love the image syou get out of it.


 
Nikon 85mm f/1.8D AF Nikkor

1931NCP_180
Review Date: Feb 7, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $310.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: fast, small, light, good price, great colors
Cons:
none

This is my favorite lens in my bag. Sharpest lens, best colors and it focuses fast. I also had this lens in the Canon version when I was a Canon guy, this is by far better than Canon. I would never look back on this. Buy it, it is great. If this lens ever breaks on me, I will buy it again. In fact, I may buy a second one for my second shooter at weddings, I love it so much.




 
Nikon 35mm f/2D AF Nikkor

1923NCP_180
Review Date: Feb 7, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $200.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: light, small, fast focus, sharp, good price
Cons:
only f2, wish it was 1.8 or 1.4

I got this brand new the other day and I love it. I got it for wedding work, as one of my main lenses and this is by far one of my sharpest lenses in my bag.

I had a Canon version of it and the Canon was sharp, but this one blows it away. I dont know if it is just the sensor on the Camera that is making my pcis this sharp and have such right colors, but this is one heck of a lens.

I would definately recommend this to anyone who loves primes.



 
Nikon 70-200mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR

2139NAS_180
Review Date: Feb 3, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,300.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharp, f2.8.... I could go on and on
Cons:
none

I never owned a lens like this before. I had some kick butt Canon lenses when I was a Canon guy, but nothing like this. Now I know why everyone at Canon wanted a 70-200 f2.8 IS, well I always used a 70-200 f2.8 and now I got my VR. Man, I did not know what I was missing until now. I just shot a wedding and was able to handhold a shot all the ways down to 1/30 at 200mm and a 1.4x tele on it.

Man is this lens awesome.


 
Sigma 24-70mm f2.8 EX Aspherical DG DF

24_70EX_med_1_
Review Date: Feb 3, 2006 Recommend? | Price paid: $300.00

 
Pros: F2.8, sharp, contrast, well built, price, balance
Cons:
none

I had this when I was using a Canon and loved it. It was my main wedding lens. I got this again for Nikon and it is even sharper than it was on my Canon. I love this lens and can not work without it.

 
Sigma 15-30mm f3.5-4.5 EX Aspherical DG DF

15_30f35_45_1_
Review Date: Feb 3, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $300.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, Color contrast, price
Cons:
Not low light lens

I got this lens for wide anle use and it is awesome. There isnt much distortion with it as there was when I used fisheye lenses. I know this isnt a fisheye but I was expecting some distortion and there is none. I played around with it for 3 hours today and it is sharp as my old Canon 15mm fisheye if not better.

I can not wait to use this on my D1X at a wedding


 
Sigma 24-70mm f2.8 EX Aspherical DG DF

24_70EX_med_1_
Review Date: Jul 26, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $320.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: good build, sharp pics, cheap price, solid, alternative to canon L
Cons:
Heavy, but what do you expect from an f2.8 lens that is built to be beaten around

I use this lens primarly for weddings and PJ work. It is very sharp and the color in the pictures are just as good as some canon L's that I have used. Great alternative to canon L lenses when you are on a budget or just want to save some money for more lenses. Sigma makes a solid lens, so don't be fooled from the price.

 
Tokina 28-70mm f/2.8 AT-X 287 AF PRO SV

atx287prosv
Review Date: May 11, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $250.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: good build, nice wide open at f2.8, inexpensive
Cons:
slow focusing, not as sharp as a Canon L lens but for the price you can not beat it.

First I would like to say, I do not know what other people are saying that the front element rotates because mine does not rotate. I have the Canon version, so maybe there is difference.

But anyways. I got this lens becuse I needed soemthing at f2.8 and needed it at a cheap price. I figured I would get it and use it for a few events I was doing, then give it to my brother and buy myself a Canon L when I got the money. Well, this lens is just wesome. very sharp, very clear and colorful pictures.

The zoom ring is very stiff, but I figure after some heavy use it will losin up a bit.

This is not one of my favorite zoom lenses and would recommend this lens to anyone who is on a budget.


 
Sigma 15mm f2.8 EX Diagonal Fisheye

15mm_Lg_1_
Review Date: May 9, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $320.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: very wide on full frame and decently wide on 1.6x crop. fast focus on good to moderate light. colors aer awesome in pics.
Cons:
slow focus in low light, but still usable... not tack sharp, a little disapppointing for a prime, but still pretty sharp when compaired to other lenses.

I got this lens because I needed some something a little wider than the canon 17-40L I was using and also something a little faster. I found this lens and couldn't pass it up for the price. I gained an extra stop over the 17-40's f4. But the only draw back is that it is not as sharp. But I am just very picky with sharpness.

On a scale from 1-10 and 10 is the highest, the canon 17-40 would be a 10 (atleast my copy was anyways) and the Sigma 15 fish is about a 9. So it is not that much of a loss. Where it makes up for the softness is with colors. WOW. just as good as a canon L lens.

When I got the lens in the mail I went out for an hour or two and took a bunch of shots. All of which were rich in color and very bright. No dull colors that I used to experiance with other Sigma lenses.

This lens is a good addition for my wedding work I do, very nice lens for special effects on a full frame body and good for wide group shots on a 1.6x.

I used this on a 1dmkII and it was incredible. I was very amazed with the fish effect. On a 20d with a 1.6x crop, it still had some fish effect, but not as much and can easily be defished.

So, if you have a full frame body and need a fish or have a 1.6x crop and need a wider lens, this is the way to go if you dont have the money for a canon L. WOrth evey penny spent on it, if not more.

The build is strong and could take a beating, so dont worry about a weak build as with some sigmas you have to worry.


 
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II

ef50mmf_18_1_
Review Date: Mar 16, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $50.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharp wide open, light and did I say sharp.
Cons:
Not L, but just as good

Great lens for portrait work and great for anyone on a budget but wants to get super quality picks that pop.

 
Canon EF 28mm f/2.8

ef28mmf_28_1_
Review Date: Mar 16, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $100.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: light, small, very sharp
Cons:
no an L and not wide on drebel and d30 type censor cameras.

Overall a great lens for landscape work and wide shots. not so wide on a rebel but that is not the lenses fault. Focus is fast but loud, and this lens is just a great buy for the money.

 
Canon EF 17-40mm f/4L USM

ef17-40_4l_1_
Review Date: Mar 16, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $600.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: light, inexpensive L zoom, wide on FF, pretty decently wide on smaller frame censors. The optical qulity is just superb.
Cons:
none that I have found.

I raded to get this lens to do some portrait and landscape work. I was using a 28 f2.8 and the rebel kit lens for this type of work, both of which were ok, but now with the 17-40L, my work is so much better. I added this with my 50 1.8 and 70-200, what a nice complikent it is to them.

 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM

ef70_200_4_1_
Review Date: Jan 9, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $550.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharp, fast zoom, focus is very fast, inexpensive
Cons:
no IS, hunts in very very low light

I use this for sports and it is very fast. also use it int he night when I am chasing celebs. hencemy name, paparazzi.

 
Canon EF 300mm f/4L IS USM

ef300mmf_4_1_
Review Date: Jan 9, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,000.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharp, sharp, sharp, good IS, fast focus in good light
Cons:
hunts in low light but once found it is awesome.

I use this for indoor sports and outdoor sports. great for the long reach. Is is good too. I use the pan IS when shooting indoor hockey to get some cool shots. Wish I would have had the money for the 2.8 version, but this one is great.

 

Page:  1 · 2 · 3  next