about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: oldshutterhand  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add oldshutterhand to your Buddy List
Canon EF 300mm f/4L IS USM

ef300mmf_4_1_
Review Date: May 31, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, nice contrast, vibrant colours, stabilizator, very good even with the 1,4 converter
Cons:
Price

This is a very nice lens with beautiful colours, shapness and contrast. The stabilizator is also a very useful feature. Highly recommended.

See my review at :
http://oldshutterhand.com/equipment-reviews/canon-300-f4-is/


 
Canon EF 135mm f/2L USM

ef135mmf_2l_1_
Review Date: May 30, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very good optical quality, good contrast, nice colours, good built quality, very quick autofocus system, f2 brightness
Cons:
Not really has a bad aspect, just a price little high for an amateur, perhaps a plastic filter thread is the weakest point


This lens is very good optically and mechanically as well, f2 brightness is really helps to keep the quality high. A really useful tool for portraits, and other kinds of photography with this focal lenght.

See my review with samples at www.oldshutterhand.com/equipment-reviews/canon-135-f2/


 
Tamron 17-50mm F/2.8 XR Di II LD Aspherical [IF]

1750diII
Review Date: Apr 25, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp, in middle apertures very sharp, nice colours, constant f2,8 aperture at all range
Cons:
autofocus little noisy, sometimes not precise, built quality can be little more expensive looking



Tamron makes a very good job with this lens. This lens is a very good compromise in many ways: price, brightness, weight. I would recommend this lens. Honestly I want the lens at f2,8 to be sharper, but it is reasonable.

My review with samples about the lens can be found here:
http://oldshutterhand.com/equipment-reviews/tamron-17-50-review/


 
Canon EF 200mm f/2.8L II USM

1ef200mmf_28_1_1_
Review Date: Oct 28, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Compact size, fantastic picture quality, very precise, and fast autofocus
Cons:
manual focus can be little bit more easy to turn

Since my first review I got an 1.4 Kenko dgx converter. I use the lens now without converter, with an 1.4X, with a 2X, and with two converters stacked. Whopping 560mm focal length with still acceptable, and sometimes surprisingly good results. With an 1.4 Kenko dgx the results are very good even wide open at f4, with a 2x good at f8, with the two converters stacked I use at f9 sometimes, or shutter priority from 1/1000 sec. I have the MK I version I prefer the built in hood.See my review and sample pictures with all combination in my website:

http://oldshutterhand.com/equipment-reviews/canon-2002-8-usm-l/



 
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II

ef50mmf_18_1_
Review Date: Jun 29, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Good light gathering capacity, no distorsion, no cromatic abberation, usable wide open, sharp stopped down, even colours, can make pictures with special athmosphere
Cons:
bad light focus hunting, low quality feeling, on APS-C, flare can be a problem


The lens most positive aspect is the light gathering capacity, I like the pictures in 'near dark' situations. The field of view on APs-C is not the best though (I agree with the people of same opinion in this forum.) The lens is sharp, but not expect miracles for this price. Better check before buy. Even colours, but not as good as canon 200 /2.8L for example. Not suggest for a one lens solution.
For portraits works good with a Kenko 1.4 dgx converter.

I have a review of this lens at
http://oldshutterhand.com/?page_id=146


 
Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS

EFS18-55_35-56IS
Review Date: Mar 21, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp(very good resolution with moderate contrast), inexpensive, light, good colours after some post processing, stabilizator very useful, useful focal length
Cons:
Contrast and colours a little bit moderate (can fix in post processing). Autofocus sometimes hunts in bad lighting or at white surface, in bright sunlight can have flare problems.

Very good quality compare to the price, I have the Mk I version. Not perfect, but very good.

I have a review with pictures about the lens at
www.oldshutterhand.com/?page_id=2664


 
Canon EF 200mm f/2.8L II USM

1ef200mmf_28_1_1_
Review Date: Jan 24, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros: Outstanding picture quality (sharpness, colours, contrast) Ultrafast focus creamy bokeh 'wow' pictures small, black moderate price compare to other longer Canon primes
Cons:
Manual focus little hard to use (feels scratchy)

I got the lens about half a year ago used. Picture quality simply fantastic ! Great colours, contrast fantastic, sharpness on could wish for. The bare lens without the converter simply faultless in practical terms.
I mainly use the lens for birding with a Soligor 2x teleconverter, I usually use the lens with the teleconverter at f3.5-4.5. With the teleconverter wide open(f2.8) the pictures are soft, resolution not bad, but contrast is reduced a lot, at f4 quite good. My 30D sensor I can tell not up to this lens resolution capabilities.


You can chech some pictures at
www.oldshutterhand.com/?page_id=1897


 

Page:  1 · 2