about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: Peter Kotsa  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Peter Kotsa to your Buddy List
Tamron 14MM F/2.8 Aspherical (IF) SP AF

14mm
Review Date: Oct 24, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, cheap price as compared to Canon
Cons:
A tad flare prone

I had the Canon 14mm L II for around 2 years and was generally happy with the results. I couldnt justify $2k for the amount of times I used it.

I sold it a while ago.
I recently purchased the Tamron as it was under $500 and I read some reviews.
The lens is tack sharp in the centre at 2.8 and only gets better stopped down.

The edges are almost as good as the Canon, but the Canon has the slight edge.
CA is easily controllable in post , so that is a non issue.
I am very impressed with this lens that manages to produce sharp contrasty images for a quarter of the price of the Canon.

At certain angles to the Sun, it promotes some flare, but nothing major

Definitely a keeper.


 
Canon EF 17-40mm f/4L USM

ef17-40_4l_1_
Review Date: Oct 2, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Compact and lightweight. Good zoom range
Cons:
if they could make an f4 this light, that would be great...

This is my second copy of this lens.
i purchased this several years ago and used it for landscapes. I then sold it and acquired the 16-35 II. After a few years in the field, I looked back on my old photos with the 17-40 and thus proceeded to sell the 16-35 and re purchase this lens.

Its sharp, controls flare beautifully and the contrast and colour are "L" quality.

Bargain "L" series lens.


 
Zeiss 35mm f/2 Distagon T*

35mm
Review Date: May 31, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Solid, sharp, great colour
Cons:
Price

Amazing glass in a nice package. I use this mainly from f2 to f4 and the image and contrast absolutely shine.
I have been using the Canon 35L for many years and was happy, but I wanted something that can give me better color and microcontrast for that "realism"...Zeiss fits that package to a T, or should I say T*.
Great lens and design..if it was Autofocus, it would probably be double its price. Nonetheless, a great lens for general photography.


 
Canon EF 28mm f/2.8 IS USM

843011
Review Date: Apr 22, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Lightweight, razor sharp, IS
Cons:
A tad expensive, you pay for technology I suppose

An amazing performer. I am a professional and use this without hesitation, it is so sharp and has that "look" that I so like in a semi wide prime.
Great for portraits and general streetscape.

The only thing missing on this lens is a red ring around it, it is an absolute gem and a solid performer under any lighting conditions. 5 Stars *****


 
Canon EF 50mm f/1.2L USM

ef50lusm
Review Date: Dec 14, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: 1.2, bright viewfinder and fast focus, excellent build.
Cons:
$$

You get what you pay for, this is a specialised lens for low light situations.
I use it mainly between f1.2 to f2, outstanding bokeh and colours.
Pricey lens but well worth it.


 
Canon EOS 5D Mark III

5DIIIs
Review Date: Apr 19, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $3,500.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: 1 Series performance at a highly reduced price.
Cons:
None yet.

I have had this camera for about a week and put just over 6000 images through it.
Incredible machine.

I have used it to track Ferrari's Porsches and a few Lamborghini's at a track day yesterday and it did not miss a beat.
In fact the hit miss ratio exceeded my 1DmkIIn..easily.

I have had 1 Series cameras generally and my last full frame was two 5DmkII's. Being a professional photographer i like to put the camera through its paces.

The one thing that has got me very impressed with this unit is the incredible focusing system. I have three words... WELL DONE CANON.
Its about time they incorporated such a system in a non 1 series body..much appreciated.

The noise and image quality is superb.
Overall I rate this as 10 stars all the way.

If I have to be critical in my observations, the frame rate of shooting (6 fps) is perfect, but it does fall off to around 4.5 fps if the battery power falls below 30%.
Installing a freshly charged battery brings the fps back up to 6.
Maybe I need to get a battery grip and load it with two batteries, see if that makes a difference.
Apart form that, the camera is the BETS VALUE for money.


 
Canon TS-E 24mm f/3.5L II

24tse
Review Date: Feb 12, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,500.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: It performs its task to a T. Very impressive image quality..even at the edges.
Cons:
$$$...lol

The feel and build quality is AMAZING. It makes me want to sell my 5 year old gear and buy ALL the NEW stuff Canon is releasing..beautifully constructed lens.
Optically I have nothing but HIGH Praise. The Best on the market by far. 5 stars all the way with this lens.


 
Canon EOS 5D Mark II

5DII_1_
Review Date: Mar 13, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $3,200.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: image quality, excellent HD video
Cons:
focus speed is wanting a bit..

As far as image quality goes, this is the bees knees. Also Hd video is superb. I have used the body for all sorts of photography (including motor-sports) where I find the focus doesn't keep up all the time.

I have a 75% keeper rate with this body using excellent long lens technique, as compared to 95% keeper rate with the 1DmkIIn with a higher frame rate.

Overall a great camera for what it is capable of.


 
Canon EOS 7D

canon_eos_7_d
Review Date: Mar 13, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,000.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Lightweight, great quality, blazingly fast foucs
Cons:
none yet

First impressions of this body are:
Great features and build quality. It is my 10th Digital camera in 6 years.
I started with a D60, then 20D,30D,1D, 1DmkII, 40D,50D,1DmkIIn, 5DmkII and now a 7D.

I must say that the 7D had taken me by surprise, especially the focus..it is on par with my 1DmkIIn and that is a very good camera indeed.

Also the image quality up to ISO 3200 is fantastic, 6400 is more than usable especially if slightly overexposed.

WELL DONE CANON, this is the "3D" I have been waiting for...


 
Canon EOS 50D

50D_1_
Review Date: Mar 16, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fast focus, great file, lightweight, live view
Cons:
none really

I have had the 20D, 30D, 40D and now the 50D. I must say this camera 'feels' very good in my hands.
It performs very close to the 40D, however in real life examples I have found the high iso to be very very clean indeed.
I also have a 1DmkIIn and as far as focus is concerned, the 50D is no slouch at all.
I am impressed.
File size is also pleasant and very testing on lenses. Make sure top glass is used with this body.


 
Canon EF 14mm f/2.8L II USM

EF14
Review Date: Nov 27, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,449.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Lightweight, looks and feels superb, sharp from 2.8 up.
Cons:
Cost..ouch

I guess you get what you pay for.
This is one of those lenses. I have not had any experience with the first version of this lens, but I can confidently say that this particular version is a wonderful piece of glass to shoot with.
Firstly focussing is something you need to get right when using such a wide lens.
It is crisp from 2.8 up. Edges are surprisingly very sharp, (I say this because I have heard that Canon cannot make a good wide angle lens, well thats not true with this lens).

I have used the Nikon 14-24 on a D3 and although I found the lens to be very sharp, possibly a tad sharper than the Canon, I also found it boring. Nothing intended against Nikon, i just think that the 14-24 lacks character. Thats where the 14mm 2.8L II stands its ground. It reminds me of my old Zeiss 16mm Hologon. It has a similar feel to the images it produces. Distortions are almost non existent on this lens.
I was expecting big rounded horizons and walls that look like they are bulging, but NO.
In fact almost perfect straight lines edge to edge. WOW, this lens is better in sharpness and distortion than the 16-35 2.8L II.
If sharpness alone is your thing, get a 14-24 Nikon, it is amazing and a freak lens.
If you want a sexy looking lens that produces images that say WOW statements, then the 14mm2.8LII is definitely the go.
Extremely happy with this purchase.


 
Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM

ef_100_28_1_
Review Date: Aug 12, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fast focus, Sharp even at 2.8, lightweight
Cons:
no collar included

One of the best value macros around.
Certainly sharp as an "L", and focus speed is considerably faster than the 180mm.
I have had the Sigma 150 mm 2.8 and the Canon 50 mm 2.5, and I find that this lens is faster in focussing than both, and better images quality as well.


 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM

ef70-200lisusm
Review Date: Jul 6, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,000.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: weight, size, IS, IMAGE QUALITY
Cons:
$$$

What can I say, I have had all four versions of the 70-200 models.
This is by far the sharpest, and most pleasing to use (very lightweight)
The only downside of this beast is f4. In every other area this lens is a freak. Well done Canon, at last.


 
Canon EF 400mm f/5.6L USM

ef400mmf_56_1_
Review Date: Mar 30, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,400.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: weighs next to nothing, SHARP as a tac, fast focusing
Cons:
no image stabilizer

an amazing lens indeed. I use it for sports mainly and it can keep up just as good as the 300 2.8 does. For versatility and ease of use it is an excellent choice.
Did I mention that this lens is SHARP, oops I almost cut myself again..lol



 
Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L USM

ef85mmf_12_1_
Review Date: Feb 6, 2008 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros: 1.2 aperture, "L" glass.
Cons:
Heavy , expensive, very very very slow to focus....ridiculously slow

This is an interesting lens indeed. Although I found the lens to be quite sharp, I also found it to be almost unusable in many many applications.
Anything that moves with slightly faster than normal speed is almost impossible to focus on.
The lens just wont focus fast enough for real life applications, and that is very frustrating when you want to capture a moment in time.
As far a build quality, this lens lacks nothing, as far as sharpness and bokeh, it is second only to the MKII version.
But as far as focus speed, I found more winners focussing manually.
I have since upgraded to the MKII version and it is a 10 out of 10.
I think Canon tried very hard with this first version of this lens , but maybe should have left it as a manual focus lens, then at least the expectations were realistic. Apart from that its a 9 out of 10 in all other areas.


 
Canon EOS 40D

40d
Review Date: Nov 1, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,800.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: file quality, speed 6.5 frames/sec
Cons:
none yet

purchased this as a second body(to my 1DmkIIN), but I LOVE it. Have used it for motorsports, portrature and weddings...spot on little unit.
WELL DONE CANON. thinking of buying another as a second body to this one.


 

Page:  1 · 2  next