about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: PJ Fish  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Add PJ Fish to your Buddy List
Canon EOS Rebel XTi (400D)

rebel_xti
Review Date: Nov 10, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: fast and very precise autofucus (same as 30D)good LCD and good metering a fine DSLR for a low cost on the pro level grade for low money! quiet noise from the shutter-small weight..works perfectly with the new 580 flash.
Cons:
lack of spot meter,better viewer..the pics is not as sharp as 350d or alike. i do not know why?too plasticky.

I think this camera is a bargain if you can find one which is without the focus probs such as front or back focus problems and alike.
The pics this canon 400d makes is very fine IF you have good L glass in front...for some reasons the files it produce is NOT as fine and detailed as the old 350 d or my older 10D?!
howcome? maybe the filter aliasing is too strong set.i dont know.
But the noise on high iso is formidable such as 1600 iso..which is on same level of the canon 5 D! ...insnt it strange.?!

I use the Canon 400D as a back up for indoors sports such as hockey and gymnastics and alike,even soccer the AF i super and better than 10D also in low light.
Thats how good it is.


 
Tokina 300mm f/2.8 AT-X 300 AF PRO

atx300afpro
Review Date: Nov 6, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: The Tokina 300mm F2,8 with the RED stripe on it;Sharp fine lenstype.Fast but not superfast, good colours,ok bokeh and not that heavy .works fine on DSLR cams,best buy and no.3 on the BIG 300mm Lens list; nr ones are Canons USM and Nikons AFS and Sigmas HSM and then this Tokina.The PRO version is a little better in almost all aspects but only a little.
Cons:
tendency to flare ,a little slow on non PRO bodies as Nikon D70 and Canon D30,10D ..and alike..gets much better and workable on Nikon D1H, D2H, D2X ,and Canons 1D series.

Tokina keeps on to surprise me positively;it started once with the little famed >fat boy>Tokina 17mm F3,5 ATX pro which for a long period served me well on a Canon 10D and 1D cam(s) and did make super good pics for the money.But then The super lens Canon 17-40 did turned up and that was end of this story,..So dear folks..
I was in the market to search for a good soccer lens but didnt had the money for a super 300mm from the big companys(Nikon and Sigma) so i lend this one from a colleague which i heard had this 3 party lens from Tokina in his arsenal.

What a good surprise !---it was on the same level as the famed Nikkor 300m F4 if ED (non afs )but with a stop better and wih better bokeh and out of focus ,only colours could have been a little better but was easily corrected in PS.

It is a very good lens But,you have to work w the Nikons D1 or D2 series cams or Canons 1D to do it right for fast action like soccer and so on,to get the snappy pix right.

If one has the money then buy the Sigma 300mm HSM version or the high end-brands from Nikon and so on.IF not..then the alternative is this pearl.

Tokina 300mm F2,8 STX2 is a very good lens.


 
Nikon 28mm f/2.8D AF Nikkor

1922NCP_180
Review Date: Nov 4, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: ok lens for the price and paired with the nikkors 50mm, 18-70 and a 70-300 you got a gang of light masters for no money.
Cons:
too light and fragile and perhaps not wide enough if you got a DX format ..for the new FX format its a gem.

Its a good Nikkor 28 mm and espcially in the coming years when you can have Nikons FX full format as a standard this pearl is interesseting again.Otherwise ill go for the 35 mm or even the Old AIS 28 mm and of course the legendary 28 mm F1,4 *!! they are super but more costly.

 
Tamron 28-75MM F/2.8 XR Di LD Aspherical (IF)

2875mm
Review Date: Nov 3, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: very good value for money-
Cons:
need usm --hsm motor--lacks better colour.

It is more than a best buy and has become Tamrons bread and butter product besides another tamron (17-50 f2,8) in short : i wish they could make a 70-200 f2,8 likewise as good !

..and furthermore ; i truely wish Tamron could make their own USM HSM motors built in for truely snappy pics..



 
Tokina 12-24mm f/4 AT-X 124 AF PRO DX SD

atx124afprodx
Review Date: Nov 3, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Simply a fantastic lens better than any of the competitors out there.
Cons:
None..i mean none.

Its simply outstanding..PERIOD.

 
Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G IF-ED VR AF-S

70-300vr
Review Date: Nov 3, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Incredible good value for money.The positive list is super !
Cons:
None so far(weather sealing perhaps?lol*) perhaps not so strong made?

This zoom is 99,78 % as good and sharp as the large 70-200 f2,8 and on par with the old non afs 80-200 f2,8 need i say more?
This must be Nikons best known secret at the moment;paired with all the benefits you can ask for and more= SWM fast motor,ED glass,VR 2 and alike.
Its very good in almost all aspects and i use it for assigments daily.


 
Nikon 300mm f/4 ED-IF AF-S Nikkor

1909NAS_180
Review Date: Nov 3, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Err Nikon 300mm F 4 IF ED -82 mm front (non AFS)this is >creme de la creme> as the french says..it IS a true Nikon classic.Strong made, Good range ,perfect pics ,easy to handle and carry and fast speed even w .the Non AFs model which i recomand.
Cons:
That it is no longer made(the IF ED model Errr*LOL) i little irritating to find 82 mm filters but search and youll find them.

This is a review for the Nikon 300 mm F4 IF ED(non afs)mainly;
My true workhorse for sports and PJ work alike,it makes wonderfull pictures and is very snappy on my Nikon DSLRs(such as D1H and D70s) the files is so clean nice and well colours is super.
I personally find that the old model is a better investment and find that is certainly much better made.

Go and buy it used and enjoy..


 
Nikon 70-210mm f/4-5.6D AF

70-210
Review Date: Nov 3, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: A very good zoom; Best Buy and very very fast AF(good for sports) i got the D model which is super fast and make awesome good pics.
Cons:
push pull design,little ackward.

This Nikkor 70-210 D model is a good zoom for the price.
Its not a Nikkor 80-200 or 70-200 of course but its better and more valuable than the 70-300 and 3 party manufacturers products ;its recomandable anytime and you will not be dissapointed with it.You can also use it for sports !
I use it with any Nikon DSLRscams when i travel or hike and find it very good.
Well made Nikon !


 
Nikon D1H

Nikon_D1H
Review Date: Nov 3, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Fast fast fast! This is an awesome fast camera with good AF and very clean NO NOISE files up to 1600 iso it is super strongmade and durable with a shutter life almost endless; i have only good words to say of this true PJ classic; its a workhorse which holds its own even today.No other DSLR cam today is so good made(anno almost 2008) this machine is a true Nikon classic-.period. Used by serious photojournalists worldwide..incredible..
Cons:
A little bit dissapointing batterylife but thats about it.

This must be Nikons Machine Gunner DSLR classic camera which still holds is own.It is a fantastic camera,i still use it ocassionally and i even got two.I pair it up with another true Nikon classics like Nikon 300 mm 4 if ED and Nikkor 80-200 F2,8 (both none Afs) and guess what? this Nikon D1H can autofocus them like cream because of the strong fast instant start up and motor inside.
I never had any problems with this cams whether I have used it for sports and PJ work in generel.the only thing is to bring a couple of cheap extra battery spares with you and go for it.!
Of course this camera has it limits and thats why you should be aware what you shoot and how much you crop ; but its up to the photographer to make a good pic and not the cam itself....isnt it?
The files i made with this D1H is the best and sharpest i have seen right out of the box.For sports, PJ work in generel it still beats the newcomers D200 and Nikon D80 regarding speed and handling.
The Nikon D1H is even today used by local news papers world wide as the standard for photojournalists ! go and buy a used item of this photoworlds Chevy 57.


 
Canon EF 17-40mm f/4L USM

ef17-40_4l_1_
Review Date: Nov 3, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Supersharp files ,strong made,good sexy design,nicely made and very well made pics its a true gem.
Cons:
None-

This must be Canons little gem,paired with any Canon DSLR and alike youll get pro look files and pics ,its very good made The 17-40 is even made in japan with weather sealed design (Canon are you listening ? keep it simple stupids = succes ).
On an FOV crop 1,6 camera its perfect ,need i say more?


 
Canon EOS 10D

10D
Review Date: Nov 3, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Though Big and PRO Look Tank camera,Reliable,Sharp files,fast AF,strong made,almost weatherproof(tight design) VERY Very Quiet shutter(the best in Canon)precise autofocus and low noise.Loong shutter life.
Cons:
Too few series of series shut when firing raw,to slow start up(not a prob)otherwise very fine made.

This is a very good classic indeed among pros and serious amatéurs.
I still use this occassionaly as a back up,and even as a prime camera especially when i need a place for at quiet assignment.
I recently used it for sports!it was an icehockey game paired w a Canon 70-200 F2,8 L and a Canon 135 F2,0 it is still awesome indoors shooting low noise at 800 iso and 1600 iso = the pics and files you get with this Isos is incredible.
I like it so much so i plan NOT to sell it because Canon 10D is still up there in the class of the newcomers 20D and 30D.
I will recomanded this camera anytime ;its a pro camera for a budget price and very good.


 
Canon EOS D30

D30
Review Date: Nov 24, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Fast in JPEG easy to work with ,very strong and handy camera with an fantastc build quality and shutter life! mine must have shot more than 200000 clicks!! its a good PRO camera and lot of my PJ Fellows use it today as a 3rd back as i do,or succesfull travel camera.Highly recomanded ! it still holds its own.A true classic which even is better than or close to a Canon 5D at ISO 200 !! go and get it.
Cons:
Little too slow for sports... too slow in RAW,!

Very good camera and build quality; outstanding iSO 200 pics,very fast JPEG pics,the pic you get is on the same level or even better than todays DSLR!!i often use this on travels or special assignments.
absolutely recomandable.The battery life is great! and it is so so easy to use and set up;
I use it with canon 24-70 2,8 L and 16-35 2,8 L as well as 70-200 2,8 L.Its super! five stars..


 

Page:  1 · 2 · 3