about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: Mark K  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Mark K to your Buddy List
Sony 24-70mm f/2.8 ZA Carl Zeiss Vario-Sonnar T* SAL-2470Z

Screen_Shot_2013-11-18_at_7_05_51_PM
Review Date: Nov 23, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,500.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharpness, price.
Cons:
Weight,

I was surprised for the price I paid and even shocked when I attached it to my A850. Sharp and sharp. It was a bad time that no many people knew about Sony.

 
Sony FE 28-70mm f/3.5-5.6 OSS SEL2870

300Screen_Shot_2013-11-20_at_12_31_26_PM_copy
Review Date: Nov 23, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Light weight, inexpensive
Cons:
Build quality

A kit lens, so inexpensive it drove me to buy the A7 kit instead of A7r..It is as good as the price is concerned. A very good daily and general use kit lens

 
Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED NIKKOR AF-S

224-70
Review Date: Jul 15, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $4,999.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: sharpness, slim size, fast focusing
Cons:
price

It must be the sharpest 24-70/2.8 years back and it proved itself.
The slender shape fit my small hands well.


 
Nikon 80-400mm f/4.5-5.6D ED VR AF

1996NAS_180
Review Date: Jul 15, 2013 Recommend? no | Price paid: $1,199.00 | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: Price
Cons:
slow AF, loud focusing noise,

It was a surprise in the market when Nikon launched this lens years back. I could not stop and mounted onto my FM2...ha...it can be better as proven in the 2nd version launched this year.

 
Nikon 80-200mm f/2.8D ED AF

1986NAS_180
Review Date: Jul 15, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $899.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Sharpness, light weight, price
Cons:
Lack of AFS

A great alternative to expensive VR versions

 
Nikon 60mm f/2.8D AF Micro-Nikkor

1987NCP_180
Review Date: Jul 15, 2013 Recommend? no | Price paid: $299.00 | Rating: 3 

 
Pros: Cheap price
Cons:
Poor resolution, slow and inconstant AF, faint saturation.

My teacher once told me that all macros are sharp. This is an exception.

 
Nikon 60mm f/2.8G ED AF-S Micro-Nikkor

pic_001
Review Date: Jul 15, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $879.99 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp, fast focusing
Cons:
expensive

Disappointed by my 60/2.8D macro, my web surfing lead me to this newer version
It is very fast, as fast as Canon 100/2.8 L macro.
Sharpness and saturation are the best I can find


 
Nikon 85mm f/1.8D AF Nikkor

1931NCP_180
Review Date: Jul 15, 2013 Recommend? no | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 4 

 
Pros: Small size, light weight
Cons:
Poor resolution, fair bokeh, poor contrast

After having 85/1.4D, my GAS wanted me to my a smaller parts. Reviews of this lens were rave so it is so attractive, pricewise.
However, the optical resolution does not live up with the reviews.


 
Nikon 85mm f/1.4D IF AF Nikkor

1933NAS_180
Review Date: Jul 15, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,099.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharpness, inexpensive, good bokeh
Cons:
Can be more contrasty

This is a one of a kind lens. When you want a fast 1.4 portrait for your new FF Nikon, this is the only original Nikon branded one.
Comparing to my new 85/1.4G, the only difference is colour and contrast.


 
Nikon 20mm f/2.8D AF Nikkor

1913NAS_180
Review Date: Jul 15, 2013 Recommend? no | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: Small size, light weight
Cons:
Expensive, poor contrast and resolution

Dreamed as I have my very first one using on F90X...and at that time this one was so good I urged myself going for a Minolta version
Well entering the digital age newer cameras like D700, D800 demands better optics. This one should be placed in the museum.


 
Nikon 50mm f/1.4D AF Nikkor

1902NCP_180
Review Date: Jul 15, 2013 Recommend? no | Price paid: $249.99 | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: Inexpensive, light weight, fast
Cons:
faint colour, less contrasty,

Having owned Minolta 50/1.7, 50/2.8 Sony 50/1.4, Canon 50/1.4, 50/2.5, I came to my own conclusion that all 50mm lenses are super buy with good quality and feather light weight.
After websurfing for months, I came to my own Nikon 50. This one came to me as surprises. The first was its price. The second was its build quality and the last was its optical quality.

It is not sharp unless you step down to f4.0. Unlike Sony/Canon counterparts, the colour is very faint and contrast very low. I suspect this must be the same in all the D lenses I have....from 20/2.8, 85/1.8, 85/1.4 to 105/2.8 macro.

I have to admit digital cameras have bought us new challenges in lens quality and only a few legend can survive. Obviously this one is not


 

Page:  1 · 2