about | support
home
 

Search Used

Sigma 28-70mm F2.8 EX Aspherical

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
20 90344 Feb 12, 2011
Recommended By Average Price
95% of reviewers $278.33
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.17
9.58
7.9
28_70f2_8lens_1_

Specifications:
It features a fast, constant maximum aperture of F2.8 and covers the popular focal length range of 28mm wide angle to 70mm mid-range telephoto. Two aspherical elements help maintain its high optical performance throughout its zoom and focus ranges. It is the world's smallest zoom lens in this category, just 3.9" in length. A minimum focusing distance of just 15.7 inches, at all focal lengths, also gives it the world's shortest close focusing capability. The 28-70mm F2.8 EX is equipped with a perfect hood and incorporates helical focusing to eliminate front lens barrel rotation during focusing, for added convenience when using polarizing filters.


 


Page:  1 · 2 
          
vince
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 18, 2002
Location: China
Posts: 306
Review Date: Feb 18, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Very solid build. Focuses reasonably fast.
Cons:
Soft wide open. Flares like crazy. Focusing problems with some EOS bodies.

I was looking at a whole range of 24/28-70's with an f/2.8 aperture when I wanted to upgrade from my slower zoom. This was one of the lenses I tested. It worked fine on my EOS-5 and AF was pretty fast. Build quality is very good and solid. I'm sure it can handle a beating.

I did not buy this lens because of the optics. The lens I tested was soft wide open at all focal lengths. At 70mm I observed that the lens often wouldn't focus on the subject, rather a little ahead or behind it. Pressing the AF/shutter button a couple of times made it lock focus... this was very troubling. This lens flares like crazy even with the hood, and in order to mininize flare I really had to keep any light sources out of the frame. I wasn't satisfied with the performance so didn't buy it.


Feb 18, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add vince to your Buddy List  
daveperk
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 7, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 1471
Review Date: Dec 1, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $250.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: feels solid, focuses quickly, nice warm colors
Cons:
very soft wide open

Stayed on the camera (10D) for the first month, took lots of pix from landscape to close portrait, only complaint is the softness at f/2.8.. it's made some VERY sharp pix at smaller apertures, starting around f/5.6.. a good midrange lens for everyday and PJ work, but I'd go to a prime if I had more time to set up the shot..

Dec 1, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add daveperk to your Buddy List  
GTrom
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 2, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 528
Review Date: Nov 22, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $225.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Great range, fairly fast focusing. Good contrast and resolution. Great price!
Cons:
Auto focus is loud. (no big deal)

I tied this at the store just to see how it focused compared to the 18-55 that I have. Fell in love and took it home, hasn't been off the camera yet Wink
Close focusing is a big plus. Not quite macro, but it will have to do until I can get the Canon 100 macro.
This lens is much better than the Sigma I used to have, both in build quality and performance.


Nov 22, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add GTrom to your Buddy List  
auroraproject
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 26, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 121
Review Date: Aug 14, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $285.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Build quality is quite good, comes with a nice case and a plastic lens hood. Good color rendition and contrast.
Cons:
Heavy, loud focus. Soft wide open.

A bargain for an f2.8 lens. Image is soft when used wide open, better at f5.6 and beyond.

Aug 14, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add auroraproject to your Buddy List  

   



Sigma 28-70mm F2.8 EX Aspherical

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
20 90344 Feb 12, 2011
Recommended By Average Price
95% of reviewers $278.33
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.17
9.58
7.9
28_70f2_8lens_1_


Page:  1 · 2