backup
Photoshop actions
 
 

Search Used

Sigma 24-70mm f2.8 EX Aspherical DG DF

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
134 450589 Apr 3, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
88% of reviewers $380.93
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.75
9.42
8.3
24_70EX_med_1_

Specifications:
The Sigma 24-70mm f2.8 EX Aspherical DG DF is one of several new products to be introduced at PMA 2001 by Sigma Corporation of Japan (2-3-15, lwado-Minami, Komae-shi, Tokyo) This lens covers focal lengths from 24mm ultra wide angle to 70mm medium telephoto and provides a large f2.8 aperture at all focal lengths. Its design employs three (3) aspherical lens elements to minimize spherical aberration, astigmatism and sagittal comma flare. The use of two (2) SLD (The Special Low Dispersion) glass elements results in excellent correction of chromatic aberration and provides a high level of optical performance and 24-70rnm F2.8 EX ASPHERICAL DG DF has high contrast and resolution. The lens also incorporates Dual Focus mechanism. It is easy to hold the lens, since the focusing ring does not rotate during auto focusing, and yet provides a wide focus ring for easy to use manual focus. Since the front of the lens does not rotate, it allows the use of a flower shaped "Perfect Hood" and facilities the use of polarizing filters. The lens materials used in this new lens are lead and arsenic free ecological glass.


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 
          
Caet49
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 6, 2003
Location: Denmark
Posts: 13
Review Date: Jun 6, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $392.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Price (392 Euro) compared too the L class from canon, its just top notch Build, looks tuff (its good, but not an L lense:-) Fast Auto focus
Cons:
It's just a too soft at F2.8 "Photoshop is not going too fix this prob" But allmost any lenses out there is a bit soft at this point - i can live with it.

First of all it a great product, no doubt there ! Of course some might like too spend a heck of a lot more on pro lenses like expensive L series - But the Sigma 24-70mm F.2.8 EX lense vill work a long way, its robust, and the EX Looks and feels okay.

Overall there seem too be quite a big quality diff. between Sigma 24-70 F2.8 EX - some has a Sigma 24-70 F2.8 EX which is pretty sharp other that at the same F.stop "2.8" is unsharp - so try a couple off them too see if you cant find a good one !




Jun 6, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Caet49 to your Buddy List  
Jeff Burian
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 4, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Review Date: Apr 9, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $379.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Great focal length range. Very sharp. Excellent lense for glamour and portraits
Cons:
A little slow focusing sometimes

I have been using this lense for a few weeks now on my Nikon D100. I really like the zoom range; I find the 36mm-105mm equivalent to be perfect for most of my glamour and portrait work. This is the lense I keep on the camera. My shots have all seemed to be extremely sharp with excellent contrast. I would highly recommend this lense to other photographers.

Apr 9, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Jeff Burian to your Buddy List  
Peter Gregg
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 8, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 487
Review Date: Mar 31, 2003 Recommend? no | Price paid: $395.00 | Rating: 4 

 
Pros: At F8 and above it is a decent lens.
Cons:
Too soft.

I would not recomend this lens. At F4 and wider the images are too soft. In fact, I though some of my images were out of focus and they were not. At F2.8 the pictures are unacceptable.

Bottom line, save your money and buy something your digital camera deserves. The Sigma 28-70 EX 2.8 lens is far far better, in fact it rates the same as Canon's 28-135 IS lens, plus it gives you F2.8 to boot. The 2.8 is important because the focusing mechanism on the cameras do much better with more light coming into the sensors.

Pete


Mar 31, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Peter Gregg to your Buddy List  
xojins
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 16, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 23
Review Date: Mar 31, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Good Contrast Good sharpness
Cons:
Loud AF

I find that this is a very good everyday lens. I would consider upgrading to the L lens for this range, but I am very happy with the performance of this lens.

Mar 31, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add xojins to your Buddy List  
stan_g
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 8, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 232
Review Date: Mar 30, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $380.00 | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: good zoom range, close focus
Cons:
AF good but not fast

While I had this lens I was happy with it in many ways, 1) wider zoom range than L's at the time, 2) fast aperture, 3) good macro focus, 4) inexpensive.
Wanted a USM though (spoiled by Canon L's), and upgraded to a 28-70 2.8L.


Mar 30, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add stan_g to your Buddy List  
Photon
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 18, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 10239
Review Date: Mar 30, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $370.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: optical quality
Cons:
dual focus switches

Very useful range, fast focusing in low light, excellent quality at all openings. The only negative is the dual switch system for AF. It does keep the ring from rotating during AF, but means working two switches whenever a quick MF touchup is needed.

Mar 30, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Photon to your Buddy List  

   



Sigma 24-70mm f2.8 EX Aspherical DG DF

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
134 450589 Apr 3, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
88% of reviewers $380.93
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.75
9.42
8.3
24_70EX_med_1_


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9