about | support
home
 

Search Used

Sigma 24-70mm f2.8 EX Aspherical DG DF

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
135 434378 Apr 3, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
88% of reviewers $380.93
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.75
9.40
8.3
24_70EX_med_1_

Specifications:
The Sigma 24-70mm f2.8 EX Aspherical DG DF is one of several new products to be introduced at PMA 2001 by Sigma Corporation of Japan (2-3-15, lwado-Minami, Komae-shi, Tokyo) This lens covers focal lengths from 24mm ultra wide angle to 70mm medium telephoto and provides a large f2.8 aperture at all focal lengths. Its design employs three (3) aspherical lens elements to minimize spherical aberration, astigmatism and sagittal comma flare. The use of two (2) SLD (The Special Low Dispersion) glass elements results in excellent correction of chromatic aberration and provides a high level of optical performance and 24-70rnm F2.8 EX ASPHERICAL DG DF has high contrast and resolution. The lens also incorporates Dual Focus mechanism. It is easy to hold the lens, since the focusing ring does not rotate during auto focusing, and yet provides a wide focus ring for easy to use manual focus. Since the front of the lens does not rotate, it allows the use of a flower shaped "Perfect Hood" and facilities the use of polarizing filters. The lens materials used in this new lens are lead and arsenic free ecological glass.


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9  next
          
cfsantos
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Dec 24, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 1
Review Date: Dec 26, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $450.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very sharp Great color rendition Very solid build
Cons:
Slightly buzzy AF motor Size (not unexpected for a 24-70) A bit stiff zooming when new

Recently purchased this lens after seeing the great reports of "macro" version of this lens. The reports were correct, this is a gem of a lens.

I comparison shopped between this and the similarly priced Tamron 28-75. What I can say is either I got the best copy out there, or the Sigma negative reviewers were really unlucky in the early 2003 copies of the lens, or (I suspect), Sigma has really focused on making this a whole new lens since it's re-release as a macro edition. This lens is outstanding!

I obsessed over a CF-card full of comparison shots between this, the Tamron 28-75 Di, the Sigma 24-60, the Sigma 28-70, and the Canon 24-70L. (Originally was going to get the Tamron after it's great review on photo.net this month).

What I can say is my results showed this Sigma as matching or even beating the 24-70L image-wise, and ever so slightly beating the Tamron 28-75 at full aperture (this will *not* be noticeable unless you really go out of your way though, the Tamron is outstanding in it's own right, just showed a tiny bit of fringing on some backlight letters), and it really wipes the floor with it's 24-60 and 28-70 cousins.

After testing it extensively, I'm very happy I bought it, the lens is so sharp and clean on my test, it comes almost indistinguishably close to my primes in this range, (the Canon 50mm f/1.8 and the stellar Sigma 50mm f/2.8) in terms of color and sharpness.

I settled on it in the end over the Tamron because I liked the coverage down to 24mm since I'm shooting on a 300D. If I have anything to improve, it would be to make it smaller (it can be a beast to lug around, but so is the Canon 24-70), lighter, and to put in the HSM motor they've got in their 12-24. The HSM is the only thing missing for this to fully match the overpriced, somewhat overhyped Canon L.

This 24-70 now is a different beast with latest "Macro" version.


Dec 26, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add cfsantos to your Buddy List  
TangaroaV
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Nov 28, 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 12
Review Date: Dec 23, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $350.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, great colours, good range, fast, bright and always exact focus,
Cons:
Too heavy and too big for family type reunions or to carry all day during your vacations.

It compares very well with the Canon 24-70 L. At 35 % the price of the equivalent L it is one of the best SIgma offering. If your paying for your lenses out of your own pocket ; Buy the Sigma. If someone else, (business expenses, tax deductions), then consider the L .

LPG


Dec 23, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add TangaroaV to your Buddy List  
John Black
Offline
Buy and Sell: On

Registered: Jul 14, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 3686
Review Date: Dec 3, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $429.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Light (compared to the Canon 24-70L) and inexpensive. Delivers sharp & crisp shots.
Cons:
Very noisy motor, if you're used to USM or HSM - get ready!!!

This is the "Macro" version which Sigma announced in August 2004. Not quite sure how this is differs from prior versions, but the box states MACRO in bold letters. I had purchased a Canon 24-70L and but the price/performance ratio wasn't there. 24-70L color & contrast were stunning, but F2.8 perfomance was average. At F4 the 24-70L was excellent. F2.8 is important to me, so I bought the Sigma 24-70 F2.8 Macro.

The Sigma is not Canon "L" quality, the zoom ring is stiff and the AF is loud, but overall construction is very solid. Sigma builds a nice lens and 24-70 feels good and balances better on the 20D than the 24-70L did. The F2.8 performance is amazing! F2.8 and F8 are almost identical, F2.8 isn't quite as sharp at the edges. For some reason F4/F5.6 are quite as sharp. Maybe Sigma beefed up performance at F2.8 somehow, but whatever the case, very sharp. I do not regret selling the 24-70L at all.

The only weird thing about Sigma is their stupid MF - you have to slide the focus ring forward or backward to set AF or MF --- and still --- flip a switch for MF/AF. Why?!?! Stupid... Another oddity - somehow the Sigma is extremely bright in the 10D viewfinder, making MF on the 10D was very easy. Don't know what Sigma did, but that was a nice surprise. On the 20D, this isn't as noticeable. The 20D's matted focus screen negates the extra brightness. Can't explain it, but it was very nice on the 10D. Read some posts where users think F2.8 may really be closer to F2.2 based upon metering results. This would explain the brighter viewfinder.

The Sigma gets an A+++ from me. If you're on the fence with this lens, buy it from someplace with a good return policy. I think you will keep it, but if not, just return it and move on. If you want some wider, consider the Sigma 18-50 F2.8 EX.


Dec 3, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add John Black to your Buddy List  
KLeigh
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 14, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 42
Review Date: Nov 1, 2004 Recommend? no | Price paid: $400.00 | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: solid build, good zoom range, f/2.8
Cons:
unacceptably soft wide open

For the price this isn't a bad lens, but if I'm going to pay for f/2.8, I'd like the lens to be able to produce a reasonable picture at that speed. Maybe I've got a particularly bad copy, but I don't notice an improvement until about f/5.6, and it's only truly sharp above f/8. Images shot at 2.8 are mostly unsalvagable. I've also had the occasional problem with the AF hunting.

Good things: not too heavy (IMO at least - an acceptable "walk-around" weight), solidly built, very useful range on a 1.6 crop, inexpensive (comparatively).

Mine will probably be replaced with the equivelent 2.8L or a fast prime or two soon.

Used with a 20D


Nov 1, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add KLeigh to your Buddy List  
clonardo
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 19, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 608
Review Date: Aug 2, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $250.00 | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: range and fast aperture, build quality, great MF feel, reasonably fast/accurate focus on D70, reasonably priced
Cons:
too soft below f/5.6-8, MF/AF switching mechanism seems like an afterthought, 82mm filters (Canon was able to use 77mm filters on their 24-70/2.8L, so why not Sigma?)

This review is directed at the Nikon-mount version of the lens.

I picked it up for $250 new, which was certainly a good price. I expected the image quality to be closer to Sigma's 28-70/2.8 EX, but with a better wide angle for digital. I was wrong, as this lens is simply not sharp when you need it most.

I shot a stage production last night (kept the aperture between f/2.8-4), and suffice it to say that I needed to apply some unsharp mask to EVERY IMAGE.

It was a bit of a letdown, but for $250, I have no right to complain. I've spent more on normal primes.


Aug 2, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add clonardo to your Buddy List  
fStopJojo
Offline
[ X ]



Registered: Jun 4, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 327
Review Date: Jun 30, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $364.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: FAST f/2.8 and AF on 20D, solid EX build, color/contrast/saturation/sharpness excellent, nice bokeh, 24mm end beats out most others that start at 28mm, value is unbeatable, use it more than my 24-70L (which is also a sharp, good copy)
Cons:
Zoom ring a tad bit narrow (but not a big deal), switching to manual focus requires two functions, 82mm filter size is bit more costly, no HSM

I've now received the new Sigma 24-70 EX DG Macro, and it's simply outstanding. In terms of optics and wide open, I'd say it's a 9.5/10 and my Canon 24-70L a 9/10 (and my Tamron 28-75 an 8/10). To pay $364 for a solidly built, fast AF, f2.8, 24-70mm lens, and to have FULL confidence using it wide open ANYWHERE in the focal range, it's sensational.

See this for some sample and test shots www.pbase.com/fstopjojo/sigma_2470


Jun 30, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add fStopJojo to your Buddy List  
kahfluie
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 25, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 116
Review Date: Feb 21, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $362.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Price, solid, sharp
Cons:
Filter size is a whopping 82mm

After much thought, I decided to get this lens. I was sort of antsy wondering if I had made the right decision. When the lens arrived I put to use immediately and realized I had made the right decision.

The lens takes very sharp photos, even wide open. Colors are fabulous. It's a little bulky in size, but that's not a bother to me. It has a "durable" feel to it. Because of it's size you cannot use the built in flash - then again I never use the built in flash.

The AF does hunt a lot under low lighting... and the AF is pretty noisy, but that's all secondary to me compared to the quality of shots I get.

Overall, for the price you can beat it. I'm glad I chose this lens and am very happy with it's performance.


Feb 21, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add kahfluie to your Buddy List  
vince
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 18, 2002
Location: China
Posts: 306
Review Date: Feb 2, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Solid build quality, good optics.
Cons:
Huge unweildly filter size (82mm), flare.

I like this lens, but will probably save up for something else. The construction is excellent, and the optics on my sample were very good. Contrary to what another poster has experienced, the lens produced good images at the wide end at f/2.8-f/4 but the images became slightly soft towards 70mm at f/2.8. Its best performance was around the 40-50mm range. If I draw a graph of its focal length (x-axis) and performance wide open (y-axis) it would be a bell shaped curve.
I was pretty unhappy about how badly the lens flared, even with the hood. I had to be very careful in composing my shots and ensure that there were no hot-spots in the frame. This lens is a cheap alternative to OEM 28-70/2.8 zooms, but I'm saving my pennies till I can afford an OEM f/2.8 zoom.


Feb 2, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add vince to your Buddy List  
missionphoto
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 10, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 265
Review Date: Jan 10, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $330.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Super sharp @ 70mm f2.8, speed, build quality top notch, very discriminating DOF, 9 blades, non-rotating front ring for polarizers, dual focus ring floats in AF mode for easy camera rotation, super price.
Cons:
People always want to borrow it, softer @ 24mm f2.8, meaty.

Performance:
Very impressive sharpness at 70mm all the way from f2.8-f11. Softer at 24mm f2.8, but still good performance. 9 blade design makes for nice circular bokeh which is neutral to diffuse, somewhat dependent on the scene. Fabulous clarity at night with striking 18 point starbursts. 82mm front element makes for great DOF discrimination, but pricey filters. $100+ filters wouldn't seem so bad for a lens of this quality if it weren't for the bargain price of the lens in the first place, so it is hard to complain.

Build:
Very fast AF. Smooth mechanicals though extension from about 30mm to 24mm requires noticably more torque (the lens gets longer as it gets wider). Weighty. Superior fit and finish. Seems a little power hungry, but not out of line enough to be able to prove it.

Overall:
Superb workhorse lens. Couldn't be happier, especially at this price.

Update:
I dropped this lens out of an unzipped camera bag from about 2 feet onto a concrete sidewalk. It hit hard. The sound of shattered glass wasn't encouraging as I picked it up. I was tempted to throw it in a nearby garbage can without even looking at it, in disgust for my own carelessness. I'm glad I didn't. The UV filter was shattered, and the empty filter ring is now stuck on but the lens still works beautifully. I can't believe it.


Jan 10, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add missionphoto to your Buddy List  
TwoBoy
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 10, 2004
Location: South Africa
Posts: 25
Review Date: Jan 10, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $650.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very sharp results with my 10D, little bit bulky and EX Filters from Sigma are expensive, but a very good all round lens. The zoom ring on mine is very slightly tight at the short end but this does not bug me. Lens hood supplied with case, finish and build quality very good. A very useful all round lens which should please everyone.
Cons:
EX Filter price.

I had read some negative reports but still bought the lens - I'm glad I did!!!! I believe Sigma have got their price right as well as the quality. Very impressed so far. Picture quality & sharpness excellent

1st Update:
I have upgraded it from 4/5 to 5/5 - on the basis of its price and sharpness.
2nd Update:
After 9 months of quite heavy use I can only say it keeps growing on you. Really nice lens with both the 10D and EOS30 Date. This lens is worth every penny and I am of the opinion it should be rated higher than it is.

Comment: I bought it a Sigma EX UV Filter - it cost a s--thouse full of money but well worth it. Beware of crappy UV's which downgrade the lens and sharpness.


Jan 10, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add TwoBoy to your Buddy List  
Georg Dittié
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Dec 14, 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 37
Review Date: Dec 15, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $440.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: tack sharp at f5.6 and slower, focus down to 40 cm, virtually no vignetting, very versatile, works perfectly with Canon 10D (except using the build in flash)
Cons:
soft wide open, severe astigmatism in the edges wide open, bulky, strange double MF switch, 82 mm filter thread, some flare

I expected less from a zoom like this: combining large aperture with a zoom factor 3 together with really satisfiying image quality is not an easy task. But Sigma manages it well.

The image quality stopped down to f5.6 is really amazing, from infinity to the macro distance. Despite the large number of lenses the contrast is very good. This comes together with virtually no vignetting. Only wide open the image quality is only average (and poor at the edges ...)

Its bulkiness disables the build in flash of the 10D - it throws its own shadow on the images at focal length of 40mm and shorter.

I can recommend this versatile lens to everybody who is not to lazy to carry a bulky lens around and who needs no build in flash.


Dec 15, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Georg Dittié to your Buddy List  
spartan123
Offline
[ X ]



Registered: Nov 9, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 3683
Review Date: Dec 1, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $359.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Great range and speed. Also price
Cons:
none

Takes great architectural / landscape pictures nice range on the lens. Absolutely fabulous outdoors in bright sunlight. Freakishly sharp at f/11.

Dec 1, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add spartan123 to your Buddy List  
ShootsQA
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 28, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 26
Review Date: Nov 19, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $350.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: size, weight, quality
Cons:
noisy, slow

My standard workhorse lens for medium distance (my 17-40L is for all close in stuff). Very good focus and quality in the home studio. Only real complaint is the noise, very loud and sounds like the motor is grinding on sand...otherwise, a very good lens for the money.



Nov 19, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add ShootsQA to your Buddy List  
macenchris
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Aug 30, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 8
Review Date: Aug 31, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $350.00 | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Excellent value for the money Built Solid
Cons:
Lacks Sharpness Unable to capture close ups

I purchased this lens for my Canon 10D and really wanted it to work for me as an all around lens. However it just wasn't consistent. Way too many photos slightly out of focus. I replaced it with the Canon 24 70 L, Outstanding Lens. Focusing problem isn't an issue. However I must admit I did capture a lot of shots that were outstanding with the EX.

Aug 31, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add macenchris to your Buddy List  
jrulison
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 31, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 1274
Review Date: Aug 5, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $379.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Great Depth of field, clear color, bright images.
Cons:
Too heavy

I love this lens it is my work horse lens and I use it almost everytime the camera comes out. I recently had an accident in studio with a makeup artist taking out my D100 with this lens attached. Both camera and lens dropped over 3 feet. The Camera was fine the lens did take some minor damage, but is easly repaired. That goes to show you that this is a durable lens. I don't know how anyone is seeing softness on this lens I find it to be crisp and clear. Maybe they need to clean both ends of the lens before mounting. :P

Big James


Aug 5, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add jrulison to your Buddy List  
theblue
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jul 10, 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 10
Review Date: Jul 12, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $967.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great clarity and depth of field ,very sharp.
Cons:
Nothing to dislike about this lens

I just could not fault this lens.
It is heavy and it is bulky.
The 82 mm filters are expensive and perhaps this is the only downside.
I just do not shoot at F2.8 so this aperture setting meant nothing to me as I know from experience with many lenses inluding Canons that your best apertures generally fall from F8 to F11.
The Carl Zeiss Japanese zoom on my Sony has always been regarded as tack sharp.
This lens I fitted to my Canon 10D with some aprehension because of the reported focus issues that some people are having.
The images that I shot with this lens surpassed the Carl Zeiss and coupled to the 10D gave me noise free,beautifully rendered pics with accurate colours. The depth of field even at F11 was amazing.
I focused at about 2 metres from the camera and cars that I had parked at least 20 metres away were just as sharp as the image at 2 metres.
The background and beyond was in clear focus with no abberations or distortion that could be noted with the naked eye.
A great lens and I could not justify paying a high price for a Canon L series after these results.
It seems absurd that for double the price you can hardly see the difference except for the brand name on the barrel, and personally I think price has more than a lot to do with peoples opinions as many tend to think that paying exorbinant prices justifies a high opinion.


Jul 12, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add theblue to your Buddy List  

   



Sigma 24-70mm f2.8 EX Aspherical DG DF

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
135 434378 Apr 3, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
88% of reviewers $380.93
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.75
9.40
8.3
24_70EX_med_1_


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9  next