about | support
home
 

Search Used

Sigma 15-30mm f3.5-4.5 EX Aspherical DG DF

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
88 195972 Oct 23, 2012
Recommended By Average Price
90% of reviewers $1,370.66
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.86
9.32
8.5
15_30f35_45_1_

Specifications:
Focal length: 15-30mm
Maximum aperture: F3.5-4.5
Lens construction: 17 elements in 13 groups
Focusing system: Internal Focusing
Angle of view: 110.5°-71.6°
Number of diaphragm blades: 8
Minimum aperture: F22-32
Minimum focusing distance: 12 in. (30cm)
Maximum magnification: 1:6
Filter size: Rear (gelatin filter insert type)
External finish: EX finish
Lens hood: Petal shape hood (non-removable)
Dimensions: 3.42 in. (dia) x 5.12 in. (length)
87mm (dia) x 130mm (length)
Weight: 21.8 oz. (615g)
Mount: Sigma SA, Minolta (D), Nikon (D), Pentax, Canon


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 
          
Dale
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 2, 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 289
Review Date: Jun 14, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Price, Sharp images and good build.
Cons:

Love this lens and have it on my camera most of the time.

Jun 14, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Dale to your Buddy List  
bellyface
Offline
Image Upload: On



Registered: Mar 17, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 5093
Review Date: May 26, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $450.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Super sharp lens... wide! a nice 24-48mm on the lower end canon DSLRs. Pretty snappy focus. Nice build quality. Quite a bargain considering canon has no lens in this range.
Cons:
Focus mechanism is strange, first click on the af/m switch then move the focus ring back or forward to swith from m/to af. Lins a bit large, almost scary looking.

82mm filters can be mounted on the protective hood (on 10D, D60, D30) I noticed no vignetting at all. Probably cause of the 1.6x FOV crop. I'm sure it's different on the nikon D series. Great color rendition and sharpness. Some barrel distortion at the wider end. Makes a 24-48mm on canon D30, D60, 10D. Even nicer on a film camera... dramatic wides!

May 26, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add bellyface to your Buddy List  
iweiner
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 20, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 50
Review Date: Apr 24, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $465.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent performance on N80 and D100 Well built, easily accessed zoom ring and AF ring Polarizer filter can used when held directly in front of lens--see below
Cons:
Filter mounts in rear of lens, not insurmountable to use Polarizer filter. As with any ultra wide user must protect against unwanted flare

I first used this lens on a phototrek to Moab and Monument Valley last Oct. The lens was swapped back&forth from the N80 & D100 and yielded crisp,tack sharp images in daylight, sunrise and sunset shoots. I highly recommend this Sigma EX as well as several other EX's I own, most especially the 24-70 f2.8.

I used a Polarizer and also a ND gradient filter with this lens. Firstly, I screwed an 82mm 'UV' filter into the supplied protective hood and kept it mounted between shots, the front element is bulbous and always in harm's way.

With the D100, I noticed that an 82mm Polarizer when mounted on the protective hood did not show vignetting from 17-30mm. From 15-30 it was visible--if this did not effect the my composition I shot the image. When the vignetting at 15-17 was not acceptbable, I used a clear sheet of polarizing material (6in diam) purchased from Edmund Scientic held in directly in front of the lens, image quality loss was minimal and acceptable for my needs--I could not discern any artifacts in my prints.

When using the N80, the protective hood+UV was kept on between shots--when shooting the polarizer or ND gradient (Cokin XP size) was held in front f the lens against the petal hood. Since Oct Cokin has released an XP polarizer and lens mounts, I have not tried them but am quite certain the dedicated will find a way which is the main purpose of this post.


Apr 24, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add iweiner to your Buddy List  
Ricciardi
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Apr 1, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 140
Review Date: Apr 2, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros:
Cons:
Not possible to use a polarizer

The lack of front filter support is my main issue with this lens. All the other aspects are very good. Lens build, image quality, everything is fantastic.

Sometimes I use it in my film camera and 15mm full frame is just fantastic.

If you NEED to use a polarizer, forget this 15-30. If you donīt, go for it.


Apr 2, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Ricciardi to your Buddy List  
Kelvin K
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 7, 2002
Location: China
Posts: 3326
Review Date: Apr 1, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Very nice image quality. Picture is sharp corner to corner (with D60). Well build. Focus ring does not rotate during AF (you have to manually adjust the focus ring to "AF" first).
Cons:
Noisy focus. Cannot use polarizer. Size is a bit big due to non-removable metal len hood.

For the price I paid for, I really can't complaint. It is the alternative of Canon 16-35 L, if the latter is too expensive for you. Highly recommended.

Apr 1, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Kelvin K to your Buddy List  
dave chilvers
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 11, 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1691
Review Date: Mar 30, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fantastic value for money, well built sharp as you need(with the 1Ds)
Cons:
A touch tricky into the sun.

I got hold of one of the first 15-30`s and have never had any problems. Images are sharp and the exposures seem to be slightly better than with Canon lenses on my camera(funny that) I use mine mainly at 15mm and to be honest the only problems that I come up against is the dust on the cameras AA filter shows a lot above f8. When i first bought the lens I was using the D30 and had a 17-35 Canon`L` and I traded the Canon in against it and never looked back.

Mar 30, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add dave chilvers to your Buddy List  
geir
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 23, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 3993
Review Date: Mar 30, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $550.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: focal length range, price
Cons:
AF/MF switch

For the money, a very good wide angle zoom lens. I don't like the switch between AF and MF (switch AF/MF and then pull the focus ring back), but all in all a very good lens at a very good price. If you stop down to f/8-f/11 you will get very good pictures.

Mar 30, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add geir to your Buddy List  
wildlife
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 28, 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 36
Review Date: Mar 30, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Build quality, price
Cons:
Weak AF performance and noisy

I usually only use long lenes as I really only shoot wildlife. I found this lens secondhand and so gave it a try.
I was very impressed, the build quality is very good, the zoom ring is very smooth and the optical quality is excellent.
The hood is physically attached to the body of the lens and cannot be removed but this is no bad thing as the front element is a dome shape and sticks out the front of the lens.
In terms of negative points, the AF is very noisy and is not a hypersonic motor. However as this is mainly a landscape lens slow AF is not really a problem.
When attached to a D30/D60 it becomes a 24-48mm which is usually wide enough.
I attached the lens to my EOS3 and WOW, 15mm on a full frame camera is amazing. I ran a roll of film through the camera for the first time in 18 months and was impressed by the results.


Mar 30, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add wildlife to your Buddy List  

   



Sigma 15-30mm f3.5-4.5 EX Aspherical DG DF

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
88 195972 Oct 23, 2012
Recommended By Average Price
90% of reviewers $1,370.66
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.86
9.32
8.5
15_30f35_45_1_


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6