about | support
home
 

Search Used

Nikon 24-85mm f/3.5-4.5G AF-S

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
29 68311 Oct 2, 2013
Recommended By Average Price
79% of reviewers $302.27
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
6.76
8.18
7.4
2141NCP_180

Specifications:
Wide to telephoto 3.5x zoom lens ideal for landscape, full-length portraits, travel and portrait photography

Exclusive newly designed Silent Wave Motor enables ultra-high-speed autofocusing with exceptional accuracy and powerful super-quiet operation

Compact size and high performance realized by new optical system including an aspherical lens and ED glass element

0.38m closest shooting distance

Rounded diaphragm (7 blades) for natural blur

M/A mode allows rapid switching between autofocus and manual-focus operation

Internal Focusing (IF) design for smoother focusing and great body balance

Flower-shaped Lens Hood HB-28 is provided

New Nikkor cosmetic design

Nikon D-type design provides precise distance information for flash and ambient light exposure processes

High-performance Nikon Super Integrated Coating offers superior color reproduction and minimizes ghost and flare

New G design enables apertures to be selected from select Nikon AF SLR camera bodies


 


Page:  1 · 2  next
          
ITisISIS
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 2, 2013
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 0
Review Date: Oct 2, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: I replaced a new 24-85G VR with an old non VR lens because the new one is dreadful at wide settings and in my experience never gets to sharp as such. I consider this 2002 lens massively and markedly better: it is sharp- as sharp as my other zooms and adds the 24mm view I need on occasion. Focussing is exactly on the focussed points.Good enough for almost everything even on a D800.
Cons:
The distortions! correctable in Lightroom now only with the profile for the new one, yet greater than the Canon 24-85mm USM . The pincushion at 85mm is as bad as the barrel at 24mm: so useless for film and architecture. Corrected at each end you wont notice but it is then no longer a 24-85mm lens-more 26-82. I have experienced flare at 85 with no light source anywhere near -just a bright plastic surface. And it wobbles all the way through. I feel this optic and its new VR replacement really need as good a build quality as has the 28-85mm and the 28-105mm. Great in the street, but not with a lenshood as caught by a passer by it could be wrecked this way-it really is in need of care, plus used as mine has been, though in good nick the claim that it focusses silently is inaccurate on the D800



Oct 2, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add ITisISIS to your Buddy List  
bgorum
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: May 8, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 126
Review Date: Sep 21, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Weight, sharpness
Cons:
Cheesy construction (though no problems yet because of it)

Chalk me up in the column that actually thinks this is a pretty good little lens. The build quality definitely does not inspire confidence. The barrel extends out when you zoom and you can actually jiggle around the extended part of the barrel considerably, BUT...... the lens is sharp, at any focal length! It is also seems pretty resistant to flare, though I don't use it a lot for into the sun shots. I must admit this is a strange focal length range for me on DX and I rarely use this lens, but when I do need it, it doesn't disappoint. I should qualify my appraisal by saying that the sort of subjects I photograph call for me to almost always use a tripod and to stop the lens down some for adequate depth of field, so I can't speak to it's performance wide open.

Sep 21, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add bgorum to your Buddy List  
Brenzef
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: May 16, 2009
Location: Zambia
Posts: 0
Review Date: May 16, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $100.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Price, weight
Cons:
Distortion

Bought this one for only 100 euro and use it on a D700. Why this lens? its light and it's image quality is fine. Yes there is some distortion on the wide end, but this can be corrected easily.

IQ is very good, sharp, nice colors and contrast. If you don't care to much about distortion and don't need 2.8 this is a great lens. Value for money I would say....


May 16, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Brenzef to your Buddy List  
musicandlight
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 9, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 137
Review Date: Oct 30, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Bargain priced AF-S zoom with good range, fast silent focusing, very good color, decent build for the money
Cons:
Some distortion, so-so flare resistance

This lens lives on my D3 and has replaced the 24-70G in my kit simply because it is a very decent AF-S lens at 1/10th the price and 1/3 the size and weight.

In fact it is the only zoom I use. The rest of my kit is made up of primes.

Is it a great lens? no. But it is a really really useful lens for me.


Oct 30, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add musicandlight to your Buddy List  
Jeroen Wijnand
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Aug 29, 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 2
Review Date: Sep 3, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $130.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Very fast AF not prone to hunting at all. Silent AF-S. Nice contrast and color
Cons:
zoom and focus rings too close together for my big hands.

I bought this used just to get a taste of what "real" AF-S is like. I like the AF-S part. IT's accurate and quick. The first few pics I was looking at the distance scale to see if it really was focussing.

Pics are good, nice contrast and colors. It's very sharp. There's some distortion at the wide end and it really does need a hood.

I'm selling mine because I'm too prone to grab both the zoom and focus ring simultaniously and that messes up my shots.


Sep 3, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Jeroen Wijnand to your Buddy List  
Harrythephot
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Apr 3, 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2
Review Date: Aug 10, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great range, sharp throughout, fast to focus, Light and compact.
Cons:
A bit plasticy, but that makes it light

I feel I must have a different lens than some of the others here.

Mine is pin sharp at all focal lengths and has become my most used lens.

I have tested it wide open against my 35-70 2.8 and my 50mm prime. I can see a slight difference against the prime and none against the 35-70.

Possibly relevant is that it is much much better than either lens when all are shot wide open.

All in all a great little lens.


Aug 10, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Harrythephot to your Buddy List  
PJ Fish
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Nov 24, 2006
Location: Denmark
Posts: 18
Review Date: Dec 6, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Good zoom for low money,on par with Canons 24-85,and Nikons 18-70. It is fast because of the SWM /AFS motor and very sharp at 50 and 80 mm.The design is okay.And it feels quite fine to work with,the colours is excellent.It could be a nice travel lens.
Cons:
Not that sharp at 24,35 mm. no weathersealing(the Nikkor 18-70 has it.!) Could be sharper in general,it has some vignetting at 24 mm and 35 mm.A little distortion as well.

This is an okay lens not in the high end league though,but for the money i think it is okay.I have also tried Canons 24-85 and opposite others i think Canons version is better.
But funny enough youll find it very sharp at 50 and 80 mm ,iI did, and was actually surprised it was 97% as sharp and good as the fixed lenses(50mm 1,8 and 85 1,8) from Nikon!!
Furthermore i later discovered that the samples which was made in Japan,is more sharp than those which is made in Thailand.I tried 3 different models two of them made in Thailand and the last in Japan.The last had better sharpness overall, colours,less distortion maybe the others was lemons?
QC control? strange ? i dont know.I still think its a good lens in generel and is excellent, I definitely got some good shots with this and i have used it a lot for PJ work but now i have sold it to a colleague of mine which is more than happy with the lens,therefore if you hook it up with a Nikkor 70-210 or 70-300 and alike you have a fine set up.
Its Nikkor quality anyhow.


Dec 6, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add PJ Fish to your Buddy List  
Jorge Tenorio
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 8, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Oct 8, 2007 Recommend? no | Price paid: $275.00 | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: Very well constructed, Super fast focusing
Cons:
Very soft at all stops

I don't like this lens at all, i have a cheap 28-200 sigma and it takes better pictures than this lens, i don't know if this is a bad lens or my sigma is a superb one, can somebody help me sending me a full size whatever picture that you take with this lens to judge quality, otherwise i would not recommend this to any one, thank you.

Oct 8, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Jorge Tenorio to your Buddy List  
Michael Cutri
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 23, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Review Date: Jun 6, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $229.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Light, quiet, great for filtered IR.
Cons:
Not the sharpest, odd range on digital.

Bought this lens after a glowing review by a certain online reviewer claiming it was as sharp as can be. It's decently sharp stopped down. It is very light and quiet and makes a great, light kit with the D50 for walks and hikes.

The real boon to me came when trying IR filters with it. The images are virtually hot-spot free. I was going to sell the lens, but I am keeping it now for IR use.


Jun 6, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Michael Cutri to your Buddy List  
Camilo
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Sep 5, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 35
Review Date: May 18, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $395.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp at f/4.5 on the tele end, all I can really care about.
Cons:
A little wobbly at the tele end.

I cant say the AF is too precise, so I dont really use it when I use this lens so that would be the greatest downside but I truly don't mind I have a fast eye with this lens.
For the price, its defenitly a great lens, very sharp when around f/4.5 and gives a nice bokeh and good contrast in the wide apertures.
Overall very happy with this lens tho and for the price it's defenitly a gem worth putting on your Nikon.


May 18, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Camilo to your Buddy List  
LTan
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Apr 26, 2006
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 17
Review Date: Jan 8, 2007 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros: cheap, Fast focussing AF-S
Cons:
plastic plastic

My previous review was for serial no. 2110307. The label on the lens said "Nikon corp. Japan" A friend of mine had the same but was going to sell it. So i tested it and it was slightly sharper. To my suprise the label said "Made in Tailand" with serial no. 2093902. We swaped lenses and he sold mine. For this particular lens i would rate it an 8

Jan 8, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add LTan to your Buddy List  
williamkazak
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 8, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 6254
Review Date: Nov 21, 2006 Recommend? no | Price paid: $230.00 | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: I love the 24-85 zoom range.
Cons:
Awful internal flare at 24mm. AF jerks into focus.

I had this lens for a day before I sold it to someone who really needed it. The sharpness was fine compared to the 18-70mm kit lens but the flare was so awful I could not believe my eyes. It had internal flare (fog) at 24 mm and it created an unbelievable streak across the viewfinder as well. Whenever it got close to the sun at the other focal lengths it flared a great deal, more than any zoom I ever used. Also, it seemed to jerk into focus using the AF mode. I could not understand what that was all about.
I was so disappointed and I could not believe Nikon made such an awful lens. I love the 24-85 focal length and I used to have the 24-85 F2.8-F4 which is superior to this one. No wonder this lens is discontinued.


Nov 21, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add williamkazak to your Buddy List  
LeifG
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Nov 16, 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1019
Review Date: Jun 17, 2006 Recommend? no | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Light, good contrast, not much CA.
Cons:
Not sharp at any focal length of aperture.

I bought this as a general purpose lens. Online reviews suggest it offers good performance for a modest price. I was not impressed with it on a D70. On a D200 I find slight softness at all focal lengths even when stopped down to F8 and F11. It is not a patch on my 28-105 AFD, 60mm F2.8 micro and 75-150 F3.5 lenses. Please note that the tests were done using a tripod, remote release, and mirror lock up to try and eliminate vibration. Otherwise the lens is as reviewers suggest. Small, light, a fair bit of distortion at 24mm easily corrected in software if need be, and only a bit of CA, again easily corrected in software. Pity about the sharpness, or lack of it. I suspect mine is a lemon.

Jun 17, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add LeifG to your Buddy List  
LTan
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Apr 26, 2006
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 17
Review Date: May 27, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Light and nice range for a general use lens. Good enough for the money.
Cons:
cheap plastic feel and below average built quality.

Fast focussing and easy handling. Good colour, bokeh and sharpness. Has some CA wide open at 24

May 27, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add LTan to your Buddy List  
Thang
Offline
Buy and Sell: On

Registered: Jan 25, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 8531
Review Date: Dec 21, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: sharpness and contrast
Cons:
built quality

This lens reminds me of the Canon 24-85 3.5-4.5 USM. However, it's much sharper than the Canon's counterpart. When stopped down to f/5 or smaller, image quality is superb at all FL.

Built quality is something to be desired though. At 85mm, the front end of the lens wobbles a little bit. Others have said this is a dust magnet. I haven't experienced that yet but I am sure it will be the case for me as well. However, all my pro caliber lenses have dust in them and I have once notice any degrade in image quality.

I bought this lens as my walkaround to supplement the 17-55 2.8DX. I would not have bought if it wasn't for the $100 rebate. This brings the price down to $260 which I think is very very attractive. It's also a bonus that the lens hood is included in the package. Time will tell the durability of this lens. But for now, it will be a permanent member in my lens arsenal (17-55 AFS, 24-85 AFS, 200-400 VR AFS, 300 2.8 AFS, 50 1.4).

For those on a budget, I highly recommend this lens!


Dec 21, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Thang to your Buddy List  
tarub
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 7, 2005
Location: Indonesia
Posts: 3
Review Date: Jun 7, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: sharp, fast focusing
Cons:
price is not cheap. made not in JAPAN

I use this lense for several month. This lense is sharp and fast focusing. And very light.

Jun 7, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add tarub to your Buddy List  

   



Nikon 24-85mm f/3.5-4.5G AF-S

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
29 68311 Oct 2, 2013
Recommended By Average Price
79% of reviewers $302.27
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
6.76
8.18
7.4
2141NCP_180


Page:  1 · 2  next