about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EF 28-105mm f/4-5.6 USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
11 99468 Feb 26, 2010
Recommended By Average Price
45% of reviewers $2,621.67
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
4.00
4.29
4.3
ef_28-105_4u_1_

Specifications:
An entirely new lens which joins Canon's existing 28-105 f/3.5-4.5 USM in the line-up. It's the smallest and lightest zoom in the 28-105 class, and its new optical system includes an Aspherical element. Most noteworthy is its new Micro USM II -- half the size of previous Micro USMs, and its use of internal focusing (no front element rotation during focusing).


 


          
Jos Tesseract
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 28, 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 615
Review Date: Feb 26, 2010 Recommend? no | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 2 

 
Pros: Weight and range... i supposed.
Cons:
LOL! (too many - build, price, quality, CA, BD, etc...)

Talk about underachiever. This one is horrid. Canon has made a few budget contenders, but none so bad as this guy. The 18-55, 35-80 and 28-90 all outperform this guy by a long shot.

Feb 26, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Jos Tesseract to your Buddy List  
kimwolfary
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Sep 29, 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 0
Review Date: Sep 29, 2007 Recommend? no | Price paid: $100.00 | Rating: 4 

 
Pros: not mich expensive as other optics with same features, very light and compact, USM engine quite responsive, versatile, covers full spectrum of needs.
Cons:
The image quality is awful, colors are dead, contrast is awfully balanced, as result, the image is similar on those found on that cheap $100 consumer cameras.

Have been using this, i bought accidentally but i was really looking for the 3.5 - 4.5, that have same aperture, but really a different build and image quality. Have been using this lens on a Canon Eos 10D, and i immediately noticed the worst quality in front of a Tamron 55-200 i had before... i was surprised of a Canon lens with so poor quality.

Sep 29, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add kimwolfary to your Buddy List  
The Imagician
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jun 4, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 1
Review Date: Jun 11, 2007 Recommend? no | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: Fast focus: Not bad at very close range -- about minimum focus distance -- with very good light.
Cons:
Soft, low contrast at all apertures, focal lengths and shutter speeds.

I'm amazed that Canon would put its logo on such a crappy product. It came attached to a 10D that I picked up in a pawn shop. They refused to take the lens off and lower the price. Over the past two months, I have managed to destroy my good lenses and am stuck with this piece of crap until I can scrape up dough for a nifty fifty.

It's really frustrating to use this thing. I'm a street photographer who loves candids. I've taken shots with this thing that would have been great if i had taken them with the nifty fifty or the 75-300 USMIII.

If someone offers to give you one, spit in their eye.


Jun 11, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add The Imagician to your Buddy List  
ltj123
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 16, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Review Date: May 3, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Funny I read reviews and after using this lense off & on. I have not had any issues other then works just fine - Good deal for money, if you're a snob then get the next step up (3.5) or high quality "L" series
Cons:
Rarely I get an out-of-focus shot, but that is rarely.



May 3, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add ltj123 to your Buddy List  
purelthium
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Feb 1, 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 0
Review Date: Feb 1, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: Cheap, Light, Great Focal length range
Cons:
Cheap, Light, poor sharpness.

I have the Non-USM version of this lens. I've had it for about a month, and it served me well in Mexico during a business trip, and taking photos at Christmas. This lens is perfect if you don't have much money, and will allow you to have a great compliment to the Kit Lens.

But there are better lenses you could buy than this one. If it's all you can afford, go for it.


Feb 1, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add purelthium to your Buddy List  
coolest
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 26, 2003
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 2
Review Date: Jun 24, 2006 Recommend? no | Price paid: $180.00 | Rating: 3 

 
Pros: None
Cons:
Slow (both in apature & in focusing speed), poorly constructed, toy-like lens

Mistakenly bought this lens (was wanting to buy 28-105 F3.5-4.5), so played around for a day before gotten rid of this toy lens.

This lens really should not be "declared" by Canon as "a micro-USMII to realize fast, quiet autofocus performance." Because it is simply SLOW.

Compared with 28-105 F3.5-4.5, this lens really is like a toy, and with its quality, its price was considered to me expensive.


Jun 24, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add coolest to your Buddy List  
DaveEP
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Aug 14, 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3706
Review Date: Feb 18, 2005 Recommend? no | Price paid: $100.00 | Rating: 3 

 
Pros: Cheap
Cons:
Consumer quality

I was hugely dissapointed with this lens. I bought it as a spur of the moment thing, and will never do that again!

It is no better or worse than the 18-55 kit lens. I used it only once - and that was enough to tell me that I will never use it again.

Shots were soft (consumer) across the whole range.


Feb 18, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add DaveEP to your Buddy List  
Unregistered
Offline
Location: United Kingdom
Review Date: May 22, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $15,000.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Good image quality (for the price), fast focus.
Cons:
Bad construction, No manual fine tune, slow aperture.

For the price it is an excellent lens, I got excellent results with than, it could have a built better body and to be clearer, it would still improve more revenue.

May 22, 2004
Edit/Delete Message
vince
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 18, 2002
Location: China
Posts: 306
Review Date: Feb 2, 2004 Recommend? no | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 2 

 
Pros: Compact and light
Cons:
Poor image quality, slow speed, no true ring USM, flimsy construction

Do NOT confuse this lens with the vastly better 28-105/3.5-4.5 USM lens, which beats this lens in all respects - optics, true ring USM and focusing speed and construction. I suspect this lens is probably the successor to the equally inferior 28-90 "pseudo-USM". I tried this in the camera shop where I was hunting for some filters, and they had just got a new batch of the 28-105/4-5.6. When I picked up the lens it felt cheap and crummy like the lowest end 35-80 kit lenses. I put it on the 10D and shot a bit. AF was slow. Images were soft and I couldn't imagine why anyone would buy a lens like this. Of course, it could be that I used a poor sample.

Feb 2, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add vince to your Buddy List  
ChuckyB
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 13, 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 29
Review Date: Jun 10, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $200.00 | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Low Price. Good zoom range. Good optics quality.
Cons:
Not very wide on DSLR. No image stabilization.



Jun 10, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add ChuckyB to your Buddy List  
SportsPix
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 17, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 151
Review Date: Apr 6, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $150.00 | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: It's got a good working focal range, compact, light, reasonably sharp and cheap.
Cons:
This lens does not exist! The lens Canon offers is the EF 28-105 3.5-4.5USM! seriously the only down side to this is that it's not the sharpest tool and most samples I've owned displayed fairly strong chromatic abberations beyond the outer 1/4 of the image area.

What can I say? This is a very good consumer lens that can cover a lot of territory at a very reasonable price! Not an "L" class lens by any stretch of the imagination but a solid, usable piece of glass. I've owned several and sold them only to buy another one!

Apr 6, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add SportsPix to your Buddy List  

   



Canon EF 28-105mm f/4-5.6 USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
11 99468 Feb 26, 2010
Recommended By Average Price
45% of reviewers $2,621.67
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
4.00
4.29
4.3
ef_28-105_4u_1_