about | support
home
 

Search Used

Nikon 12-24mm f/4G ED-IF AF-S DX

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
40 154992 Mar 7, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
85% of reviewers $914.59
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.54
7.00
8.7
2144NAS_180

Specifications:
Designed for Nikon D-Series digital SLR
Design enables a combination of wider angle-of-view with optical characteristics that are optimized for Nikon digital SLR camera sensors
2x Zoom ratio and variable angle-of-view from 99 degrees at 12mm to 61 degrees at 24mm. Comparable to that of an 18-36mm lens on 35mm size sensor format
Nikon design that produces a smaller image circle (the size of the image that is projected by the lens on to the sensor) enabling smaller lens diameter, and optimal image quality from center-to-edge-to-corner on the image
Exclusive Silent Wave Motor enables ultra-high-speed autofocusing with exceptional accuracy and powerful super-quiet operation
2 Extra-Low Dispersion (ED) glass elements for minimized chromatic aberration
3 Aspherical lens element for low distortion
Internal Focusing (IF) design for smoother focusing and great body balance
M/A mode enables instant switching from autofocus to manual with virtually no time lag even during AF servo operation
Nikon D-type design provides precise distance information for flash and ambient light exposure processes
Rounded diaphragm to make out-of-focus elements appear more natural
DX Nikkor is designed exclusively for use with Nikon Digital SLR models
11.8 close focusing distance throughout zoom range


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 
          
Unregistered
Review Date: Jul 10, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $958.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: outstanding
Cons:
cost

Just purchased..shot 18 photos with outstanding results
Utilized Nikon Capture 4.1 and HP Photosmart7960 with outstanding
print results.


Jul 10, 2004
Edit/Delete Message
Howard Passman
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 23, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 656
Review Date: Jul 7, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Sorely needed wide angle zoom for digital camera. Nice and sharp. Good colors.
Cons:
Worst lens I own for flare once the sun gets anywhere near the horizon and 90 degrees off axis. You'll wish it were f/2.8.

It's quiet, fast and sharp. Very good compliment to the 17-35 f/2.8 AFS. Now if it was f/2.8.....

Jul 7, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Howard Passman to your Buddy List  
Unregistered
Offline
Location: United States
Review Date: May 11, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very sharp at 24mm. Barrel distortion is acceptable.
Cons:
A little soft towards the wider range.



May 11, 2004
Edit/Delete Message
scorpio_39
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 8, 2003
Location: Dominican Republic
Posts: 6
Review Date: Mar 22, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,024.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very well designed lens, optics great, overall performance very...very nice. Love this lens !
Cons:
It is neither compact nor light, but balances very well with my cameras.

What can I say, if you like wide angles then this is for you.

Damn... I miss the DOF scales, this lens is perfect for Hyperfocal.

You can get so..so close and still don't distort, unbelievable for landscapes.


Mar 22, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add scorpio_39 to your Buddy List  
Jeff Stevens
Offline
Buy and Sell: On

Registered: Mar 9, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 503
Review Date: Mar 4, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,030.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Finally a wide for the dslr sensor crop. Size is great, built well, and has very fast focus.
Cons:
Price

I love it. Finally a true wide. It allows you to get very close Smile I'm very happy, and it is the lens that will spend the most time on my camera.

Mar 4, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Jeff Stevens to your Buddy List  
Mankan
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Dec 2, 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 0
Review Date: Dec 2, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Its a very fantastic lens and I really like the way Nikon has arranged the focus vs Zoom rings. The zoomring falls perfectly into my hand when holding the lens in my normal way. Sharp, light, resitance to flare, no rotating front end while zooming or focusing
Cons:
PRICE!!!!!



Dec 2, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Mankan to your Buddy List  
mkonik
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 1, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 2147
Review Date: Oct 1, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $990.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Light weight, close focusing, 77mm filters, price, ED and AF-S
Cons:
DX only

Walked into my local dealer to buy a $50 set of close-up lenses and walked out with this last week. Loved it the minute I used it. Though not a 2.8 design like my 17-35 it is half the weight and fills that minor gap on the wide angle end with the Nikon DSLRs. In the first week I shot several hundred images with it and have been very happy with the performance. Can't wait for the leaves to start turning this Fall and putting it to some really good use. This should be a very strong performer as long as Nikon stays with the same sensor size.

Oct 1, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add mkonik to your Buddy List  
jmcfadden
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 30, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 30242
Review Date: Jul 24, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,100.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: AFS ! Light weight, contrasty and detailed, lack of flare and ghosting, edge to edge sharpness
Cons:
I hate the focus ring position, it is "backwards" from my other Nikkors. F4 Maximum aperture

I purchased this lens to cover the last "hole" in my kit. I am very happy with this lens , I do alot of indoor shots and really like the zoom range here. As a landscape lens it is really sharp and the images are uncanny in their realism.Alos I do a great deal of flower shooting, this lens minimum focus distance really makes for interesting close up with tons of DOF.

2 thumbs up way up !

J


Jul 24, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add jmcfadden to your Buddy List  

   



Nikon 12-24mm f/4G ED-IF AF-S DX

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
40 154992 Mar 7, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
85% of reviewers $914.59
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.54
7.00
8.7
2144NAS_180


Page:  1 · 2 · 3