about | support
home
 

Search Used

Nikon 600mm f/4D IF-ED AF-S II Nikkor

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
8 49851 Mar 16, 2013
Recommended By Average Price
100% of reviewers $5,712.50
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.71
8.29
9.9
2133_180

Specifications:
Very lightweight Magnesium die-cast construction body design (approx. 10.7lbs) with tripod mounting foot. Easier to carry and handle under demanding action conditions.

Exclusive Nikon Silent Wave Motor provides ultra-high-speed and accurate autofocus along with super-quiet operation. Fast, precise and accurate, this Nikon technology adds significantly to picture taking performance.

M/A mode provides instant switching from autofocus to manual focus with virtually no time lag, even during AF servo operation. A quick touch-up on focus without delay or slack response can make the difference between crisp sharpness, or just slightly out.

Optical design features three high performance Extra Low (ED) Dispersion optical glass elements to control secondary chromatic aberrations. Produces very sharp and high contrast images throughout the focusing range and at every f/stop. Legendary ED glass ensures crisply sharp focusing throughout the color spectrum.

Closest focusing distance during AF operation is approx. 18.4 feet; provides reproduction ratio of 0.12. Dramatic close-up portraits that reveal details and textures are within this lens close-up range.

Also available in light grey - special order only; product #2134


 


          
Sendero
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 16, 2013
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 0
Review Date: Mar 16, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $3,000.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: I stumbled on an early afs600 2 years ago and bought it for a bargain price of $3k, it wasn't in pristine condition, but optically wise in mint condition. It has an amazing super fast auto focus and produces really sharp images - one forgets about the weight burden of this tank for the images it produces
Cons:



Mar 16, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Sendero to your Buddy List  
Gene Lugo
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Apr 30, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Review Date: Mar 30, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $6,650.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Image quality, autofocus performance
Cons:
cost

This is a wildlife photographer's dream. Sharp wide open, does not get any sharper stopping down to F8. Very fast autofocus on a D300. Tripod foot is a little weak, prone to transmitting vibrations, but a low-profile foot that is sturdier is available from Wimberley, Really Right Stuff and other vendors - this is highly recommended for getting consistently sharp results. There is really nothing to dislike about this lens aside from the cost. at 12 lbs or so it is heavy, but that is to be expected.

If you are shopping around for one, there are some lookouts to be aware of. Avoid getting the original AFI - Nikon no longer makes parts for this and you will still pay a premium of over $5000 for one just because it is an autofocus 600. Optically its great, but the AF motor is crappy. The AFS version is also optically wonderful, but has been out of production for 11 years, one year past the period that Nikon provides parts for, so that is also something to be careful about. These will see used in a private sale for $5,500 to $6,500, and in stores with limited warranties from $6,200 to $7,000. IMHO not worth the asking price. The AFS series II is the one to get - they stopped production on this in 2007 and you can find one for around the same price people are asking for the original AFS. Also, beware of non-US branded products. Nikon will not fix them - period - unless you provide a bill of sale from a face-to-face transaction that occurred in a different country. And with Nikon's decision to stop supplying parts to non-authorized repair facilities, it will be all but impossible to get one of these fixed, and you will have a very expensive paperweight.

I love this lens. Can anyone recommend an unemployed Sherpa or Maasai that might be looking to pick up some part time work?


Mar 30, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Gene Lugo to your Buddy List  
fotojev
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 13, 2010
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 24
Review Date: Nov 13, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fast, robust, high IQ, handles well, weather seal.
Cons:
Setting of switch for VR is hard to see, hood is overly difficult because of the 2 parts.

This lens I used for about 1 year for bird photography. In combination with a D300s the reach is fine. But when I switched to a D3s the length deteriorated too much for me.

Apart from that this lens is a beauty to hold and a pleasure to use. Better looking than the white Canons I think. Image quality is superb.


Nov 13, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add fotojev to your Buddy List  
---XR---
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 30, 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 1371
Review Date: Oct 21, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $6,700.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Weight (surprisingly), Sharpness/IQ (duh), AF speed (duh).
Cons:
If you can afford it- None

The previous and former version to this lens are the AF-S 1 and the AF-S VR, both which are also tremendous in their own right, however this lens is the lightest of the three. That is something to consider highly when you are like me and are carrying this mounted or tri/monopod to a destination. considering i really didn't need VR because it's heavy enough it doesn't feel natural handholding and i'd need to use a support system and being VR is meant to be off if it's supported, it wasn't a necessary feature for me.

My real consideration for buying the VR over this lens came from the fact i love the contrast and glare reduction from the nano coating the VR uses. after i used this lens i never cared it didn't have it, because the images are still contrasty to my taste, and glare is minimal. i don't have experience with the VR's AF, however considering how this lens performs i really can't see any reason to pay $3000 more to find out. needless to say i'm very happy with this lens. )Tc'ed for wildlife usually (1.4-1.7)- fantastic.


Oct 21, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add ---XR--- to your Buddy List  
jordanwd
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Dec 15, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 358
Review Date: May 13, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Well I can't get the 600 VR review link to allow a comment so I guess I'll post it here... I've had the 600 f4 VR for over 2 months now and got to admit it is a fantastic lens. My first impression was not it's weight but its size. The lens itself (w/o the hood) is almost as big as the 400 f2.8 w/ its hood on-it's a monster of a lens. With that said it is easily balanced on a monopod (for me at least-using the mono in a kneeling position) and sits well on a wimberly side kick as well. One day I'll get a gimble but right know the side kick is adequate. The af w/ a d3, d300 or d2x is very fast and accurate, the sharpness, colour and contrast is stunning. It's very sharp at f4 but I personally shoot at f4.5 to get ultra sharp images- the bokeah is smooth. It works well w/ a 1.4 tc with sharp images at f5.6 but i prefer f6.1 for ultra sharp images...the camera view finder is noticibly darker w/ the 1.4 tc on. The few times I've used VR it seems to work very well (tho I make a point of not shooting less than 1250 for sports). I can not comment on the focus recall feature as i haven't used it yet. The first thing I did do was replace the stock foot w/ a lowwer profile wimberly foot which does make the lens more balanced on a mono/ tripod. It's an awesome lens and well worth the $.
Cons:
none..get a lowwer profile replacement foot..pricey but you get what you pay for...



May 13, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add jordanwd to your Buddy List  
noblejudge
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 25, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 25
Review Date: Sep 1, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: A dream lens that gives you shots that make you think you are better than you are. Fast and sharp with my D2X and D200.
Cons:
Cost and the Fear that I will drop it or it will be lifted from me. People constantly stop and stare at me with this lens. kind of annoying to tell the truth.



Sep 1, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add noblejudge to your Buddy List  
pkurt
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 1, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 613
Review Date: Jul 30, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Absolutely beautiful bokeh at f4. Fast focusing.
Cons:
Heavy weight.

I love this lens. The photos it renders are just beautiful. I will recommend it to anyone. I use it for wildlife and some sports.

You will need a tripod/monopod, depending on the situation.

The AFS silent wave motor focusing is outstanding and fast, fast, fast.


Jul 30, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add pkurt to your Buddy List  
StevenM
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Jul 18, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 65
Review Date: Jul 19, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $6,500.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Incredibly sharp. Little, if any, drop off in image quality when used with Nikon 1.4X extender. 3 pounds lighter than previous Nikon 600mm AF.
Cons:
Although it's 3 pounds lighter than the previous version it still weighs 10.5 pounds. Price is outrageous but if you take care of a prime Nikon lens they hold their value for resale.

This lens delivers incredibly sharp pictures at f/4.0 with my Nikon D1X even when used with the Nikon 1.4X teleconverter (effective focal length = 1,260mm). Auto focus is spot on and instant. If you like to shoot wildlife, especially song birds, then this is the lens for you. If you don't care about shooting small subjects (I'm talking 4 to 6 inches) at 18 feet then save a couple thousand and your spine and buy the Nikon 500.

Jul 19, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add StevenM to your Buddy List  

   



Nikon 600mm f/4D IF-ED AF-S II Nikkor

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
8 49851 Mar 16, 2013
Recommended By Average Price
100% of reviewers $5,712.50
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.71
8.29
9.9
2133_180