about | support
home
 

Search Used

Nikon 500mm f/4D IF-ED AF-S II Nikkor

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
5 41616 Feb 17, 2010
Recommended By Average Price
100% of reviewers None indicated
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
10.00
8.00
10.0
2131_180

Specifications:
Very lightweight Magnesium die-cast construction body design (Approx. 7.6lbs) with tripod mounting foot. Easier to carry and handle under demanding action conditions.

Exclusive Nikon Silent Wave Motor provides ultra-high-speed and accurate autofocus along with super-quiet operation. Fast, precise and accurate, this Nikon technology adds significantly to picture taking performance.

M/A mode provides instant switching from autofocus to manual focus with virtually no time lag, even during AF servo operation. A quick touch-up on focus without delay or slack response can make the difference between crisp sharpness, or just slightly out.

Optical design features three high performance Extra Low (ED) Dispersion optical glass elements to control secondary chromatic aberrations. Produces very sharp and high contrast images throughout the focusing range and at every f/stop.. Legendary ED glass ensures crisply sharp focusing throughout the color spectrum.

Optical design features three high performance Extra Low (ED) Dispersion optical glass elements to control secondary chromatic aberrations. Produces very sharp and high contrast images throughout the focusing range and at every f/stop.. Legendary ED glass ensures crisply sharp focusing throughout the color spectrum.

Closest focusing distance during AF operation is approx. 16.01feet; provides reproduction ratio of 0.12. Dramatic close-up portraits that reveal details and textures are within this lens close-up range

Also available in light grey - special order only; product #2132


 


          
martyn.
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 29, 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 324
Review Date: Feb 17, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp wide open, works well with 1.4 and 1.7 TC's, Lightweight, great optics.
Cons:
None

Must admit I amazed at that low score review, especially as the reviewer states that he does not own the lens.

I picked up one of the last brand new stock of these, I do not need VR and preferred the lighter weight of this model.

This is one sharp lens wide open, and I see no improvement when stopping down only an increase in DOF, this is the same when using the 1.4 or 1.7 TC's.

The images this lens produces are superb.


Feb 17, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add martyn. to your Buddy List  
jimgrif
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 20, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 105
Review Date: Dec 15, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:



Dec 15, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add jimgrif to your Buddy List  
ZX7R
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Dec 20, 2004
Location: Portugal
Posts: 148
Review Date: Aug 16, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Superb optics ; very fast AF ; built like a tank ; works well with Nikon 1.4 TC ; super-sharp even at F4
Cons:
none

I got the AF-S I version a couple of years ago to shoot mostly surf and never looked back, my other option was the Sigma 300-800 since the 400 2.8 and 600 F4 are too expensive and heavier.

The image quality i get at F4 ( or F5.6 with 1.4TC) is great, and at F5.6 it's super-sharp up to F8. It focuses really fast with the D200 and even better with the D2Hs, the only significant difference is when the 1.4 TC is used and then it works better and consistently with the D2Hs.

It's usually mounted on a heavy-duty Manfrotto tripod and gymbal-type head which is a must to get absolute sharpness, specially on higher-res bodies like the D200 or D2X. On a monopod it can be used with good results, if the light is there to keep the shutter speeds up.

It fits nicely on a Lowepro 600 AW bag with a camera attached, making it easy to carry on walks or when travelling by plane.

Most of the photos on these links were taken with the 500 F4 :

http://www.pbase.com/slbravo/quicksilver_pro_france_2006

http://www.pbase.com/slbravo/surf&page=all


Aug 16, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add ZX7R to your Buddy List  
dale keith
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 10, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 91
Review Date: Jan 16, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros: I have looked at the lens as a potential buyer. The glass is great, the AF-S fast, the weight is expected.
Cons:
In today's state of technology a non-VR lens is myopic. This lens cannot compare to a Canon IS. The cost is not worth a non-VR model as today's market place demands parity with Canon. Potential buyers should demand a VR model.

As a long time Nikon user I wish Nikon USA would step up their VR conversion to the Super Tele line. In today's era of technology Nikon needs to meet the demands of the market place. The D2X is a major tech step for Nikon and very appreciated in the photo world. The line of "look at all those white lenses," is one huge justification to adding the VR function to the Super Tele line (the 400mm, 500mm, and 600mm). They have the VR function on the 200 F2.0, the 300 F2.8, and the 200-400 F4.0. When will the executives in Nikon's product development department observe the market place? Again, I say, "look at all those white lenses at every major sporting event."

Jan 16, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add dale keith to your Buddy List  
Stripper
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Dec 11, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 6243
Review Date: Dec 4, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Light in weight - Very fast and positive focusing - Sharp from edge to edge - Color rendition is amazing.
Cons:
I wish it let in 1 more stop of light....but then it would not be as light and would cost more.

For me this is the ultimate long motorsport lens. It is not a good a lens for football or other "Dome" work because of the max f-4 aperture, but at the race track it is a great length and it is much easier to carry around than the 400 2.8 or the 600 4.

As far as performance is concerned, I think it captures and locks onto a really fast car as well and probably better than any lens I have used. It is difficult to get an out-of-focus shot due to any fault of the lens. I am not sure that it is any better from the standpoint of color rendition than the 400 or the 600, but I think that it is better edge to edge.

If you do not need f-2.8 and want to save a little money and weight, you can not go wrong with this baby.


Dec 4, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Stripper to your Buddy List  

   



Nikon 500mm f/4D IF-ED AF-S II Nikkor

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
5 41616 Feb 17, 2010
Recommended By Average Price
100% of reviewers None indicated
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
10.00
8.00
10.0
2131_180