about | support
home
 

Search Used

Nikon 180mm f/2.8D ED-IF AF Nikkor

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
27 93626 Jun 23, 2013
Recommended By Average Price
100% of reviewers $372.83
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.36
9.33
9.5
1940NAS_180

Specifications:
High performance, fast telephoto lens that's ideal for PJ, sports and portraiture.
Internal focus for fast AF operation.
ED elements assure crisp and sharp images, even at the maximum aperture.

Filter Size 72mm
f/Stop Range 2.8-22
Minimum Focus Distance 5.0'
Magnification 1:6.6
Angle of View 13 Degrees
Groups/Elements 6/8
Tripod Collar No
Length 5.7"
Maximum Diameter 3.1"
Weight 1.70 lb
Usable Nikon Teleconverter TC-201 or TC-14a (manual focus only, may have occasional vignetting)
Usable Nikon Teleconverter Tc-201 Or Tc-14a (Manual Focus Only, May Have Occasional Vignetting)


 


Page:  1 · 2  next
          
the solitaire
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 22, 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 799
Review Date: Jun 23, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Small, lightweight, pin sharp, fast AF, built in lens hood.
Cons:
Aperture blades are very exposed, some purple fringing in backlit situations

I tried 2 copies of this lens. The 1st version with the narrow plastic focus ring and the D version with crinkle finish.

The 1st version was as good as the D version in all aspects but I think mine had a defect. It suffered from purple fringes quite badly.

The D version I tried was better in this respect but I do believe that this is just due to sample variation rather then Nikon changing anything to the optical formula or coatings between the various versions of this lens.

Itīs a perfect lens in many respects. Optically itīs sharper then any of the 80-200 or 70-200 f2,8 zooms. Especially out of the center.

The 2 reasons I did not keep mine were that the Aperture blades are completely exposed. Since I photograph outdoors and switch lenses a lot they would have been cluttered with dust and rubbish in no time. Unfortunately there is no way to fix this that I know of.

The 2nd reason is that I am willing to sacrifice a little sharpness in the corners for the greater flexibility and added size and weight of a f2,8 tele zoom to accommodate my shooting stye.

If you are mostly using the long end of a xx-200 zoom anyways and manage to keep the Aperture blades clean this is the best lens you can get for your buck.


Jun 23, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add the solitaire to your Buddy List  
pwsth1
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 16, 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jun 4, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very well built, compact, relatively light, exceptionally sharp, nice creamy bokeh,
Cons:
Some have back-front-focus issues. flimsy and (too) short, sliding lens hood AF-MF switching is kinda complicated. but that is the case for all Nikkor lenses from that era

This lens makes beautiful shots with exceptional depth and stunning sharpness. Lovely creamy bokeh. And it also has a distinct "3-D"-like character, with this I mean that the subjects REALLY pops forward in a scene. A definite keeper!!!!


I read that some of these lenses have a small focus-issue (back- or front focus) on some camera's. Mine has this too, and I was happy with the focus fine-adjustments on my DSLR.

On my analogue F100 I always have to correct the focus a tiny bit to get that exceptional sharpness wide open.

This is only an issue when shooting close subjects wide open.

see some shots I made with this lens:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/pwsonline/sets/72157628924895623/


Jun 4, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add pwsth1 to your Buddy List  
FMthejnal
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Aug 31, 2012
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 0
Review Date: Mar 14, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $400.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Really nice bokeh, cheaper than 105 DC or 135 DC
Cons:
Soft wide open. Tried 2 versions, new one and older (plastic) one. Both same sharpness, needs to be stopped down. Autofocus is slow, i was not able to photograph people walking to me if they were close to me (face portrait). Chromatic aberation.

could have round blades, but you can make a circle from paper and put it inside the lens so you can get perfect circles.
some photos using this lens:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/50566490@N08/5854258766/in/photostream
(bottom corner is info about the lens)


Mar 14, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add FMthejnal to your Buddy List  
James Markus
Online
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 19, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 4435
Review Date: Sep 20, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Incredibly sharp with wonderful bokeh. Built in lens hood. A good value.
Cons:
manual focus is not smooth

I got a used one of these to replace my 70-200mm afs vr version I. The bokeh is identical, and it is actually much sharper. Beyond that - the Nikkor 180mm f2.8 AF is smaller, lighter, and less expensive...a win-win-win. I sold off the 70-200

Sep 20, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add James Markus to your Buddy List  
fotojev
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 13, 2010
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 24
Review Date: Nov 13, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Fast, very sharp, robust.
Cons:
No weather seal, a bit heavy and long.

I love this lens for outdoor use. Very nice to picture people.

It is somewhat long when carrying around. Also people will notice you! Definitely a lens I recommend.


Nov 13, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add fotojev to your Buddy List  
jessi74
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Aug 22, 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Review Date: Nov 5, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $400.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Razor sharp. Smaller than a zoom. Great manual focus feel.
Cons:
Slow AF. MF clutch is annoying.


Buy the older versions; they're all the same optically.


Nov 5, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add jessi74 to your Buddy List  
ljdart
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 9, 2010
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 17
Review Date: Jan 30, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $375.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: excellent image quality, good manual focussing, well balanced when handheld
Cons:
no tripod mount.

I bought this lens second hand. I love to work with it. The autofocus is noisy, but generally speaking is very accurate on the d200. When on manual focus the lens works like a dream, even on the small focus-screen of the d200.
When on tripod the combination is out of balance and there is need for a tripodmount on the lens.
Optically I love the sharpness and the bokeh, kind of dreamy.

edit 2-12-2013.

On a nikon d700 the sharpness on 2.8 has gone, what is left is the irresistible rendering of a dreamy athmosphere.


Jan 30, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add ljdart to your Buddy List  
Richard GT
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 18, 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 145
Review Date: Nov 4, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharp, fast, beautiful bokeh, well built.
Cons:
Nothing I can think of other than I should use it more.

So what's not to like? I've heard stories about a rather slow AF but this is not the case on my D200. I find AF to be fast enough to capture running dogs at 20-30 mph. That's fast enough for me. I like this lens very much. It makes magic happen. I always bring home a prize when this lens is chosen.

Nov 4, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Richard GT to your Buddy List  
Bubble
Online
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Jul 20, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 2107
Review Date: Jun 4, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $400.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp, good contrast,excellent Bokeh.
Cons:
none

another great lens at low price.

Jun 4, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Bubble to your Buddy List  
HomeyD5
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Dec 11, 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 1
Review Date: Dec 12, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Beautiful results even wide open, stunning between f/5.6 and f/8
Cons:
Screwdriver focusing is a bit slow; that, combined with its tendency to hunt across the entire focus range makes it not a good choice for moving subjects or action in low light.

If your subject is suited to the 180mm perspective (270mm equivalent on DX), and will sit still for you while you focus and compose, you can rely on this lens to produce professional results. Crisp and contrasty edge-to-edge, even wide open, with pure colors and good bokeh. The build is solid metal with a bakelite crinkle finish; it would be at home in a hardwood box lined with red velvet! Good examples can be found at a very reasonable price on the used market. My sample is a non-D version, which handicaps it for iTTL flash use.

Dec 12, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add HomeyD5 to your Buddy List  
digiman69
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 20, 2005
Location: Italy
Posts: 4
Review Date: Aug 7, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp from center to corners wide open even on FF. Solid built while still a compact tele, great even with pro 1,4x converters.
Cons:
None!

For those still loving primes...

Aug 7, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add digiman69 to your Buddy List  
condyk
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 14, 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 300
Review Date: Aug 3, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great colour, contrast and sharpness with superior bokeh that really makes shots pop. Great build that feel hard wearing and everything works crisply as it should. I'm very pleased with this lens and even like the hood design ;-)
Cons:

Impossible to fault. Very compact and sharp lens - pocket sized even!

Aug 3, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add condyk to your Buddy List  
September
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: May 14, 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 15
Review Date: Jul 8, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp, good contrast, lightweight, beautifull Bokeh.
Cons:
Lenshood

This lens is one of my favorites. Even wide open at f2.8. The bokeh is very nice and color rendition is excellent. The lens is very sharp.
Good portrait lens.
The lenshood design is mediocre.


Jul 8, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add September to your Buddy List  
dennisvillegas
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 21, 2008
Location: Philippines
Posts: 0
Review Date: May 21, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $200.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, Bokeh, Light, Price, Fantastic Headhunter
Cons:
Blades are exposed at the rear which can be prone to dust and dirt. Hard to find lens even in Ebay.com.

I own the "D" version of this lens which is the latest generation of the 180mm 2.8. Bought it used for a real cheapo price (the seller stupidly switched to Sony for whatever reason). Anyway his lost was my gain as I found this lens to be one of my sharpest primes. I own the 80-200 2.8 AF-D and this 180 is even sharper.

Anyway, this is one razor sharp lens and gives outstanding colors and creamy creamy bokeh. At 2.8, the lens is sharp enough and even becoming sharpest from f4 to f8. The length of this lens makes it a perfect headhunter and can be a great ambush lens. This lens is also light enough to make tripod-less shooting.

On the negative side, I found the exposed back of the lens prone to dirt. Also this lens is becoming hard to find even in Adorama and Ebay, achieving a legendary status reserved for the outstanding Nikkor lenses of all time.

I highly recommend this lens to anyone who wants the sharpest mid-tele at an affordable cost---that is, if you can find one.


May 21, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add dennisvillegas to your Buddy List  
jdos2
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Aug 31, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Review Date: May 12, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $450.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fast long-focus lens. Small for the maximum aperture
Cons:
None!

I bought this lens on what was almost a whim. I was looking for a decent mid-range zoom for me and my D3 and came upon this lens in the bottom of the pile. The shop let me try out the lens and I was immediately captivated by several things that it does very well:

Sharpness: From wide-open to as far down as I could test (and it seems to near-peak at just one stop down from full aperture!) the lens is sharper than my camera is capable of recording. That says a LOT!

The lens is nice too in that it is a wonderful full face portrait lens. After years of rangefinder photography where it's very difficult to fill a frame with a face, this is the lens to do it. It does so at a reasonable distance (minimum focus is only just under five feet, but it's enough).

Chromatic aberration seems minimal- I've not had to remove the signs of it in post processing.

This is NOT a dim-light lens. The AF does tend to hunt a bit in the muck, and the lens is long enough that shutter speed becomes very important. I'll not generalize to the point of "tripod only," but a good flash helps keep things under control if one has had a bit too much espresso for the day.

The out of focus rendition of the lens is smooth and quite abrupt. At near focus, one knows if they nailed the focus point right away- there'll be no question. The individual hairs, bricks, or whatever teeny detail will snap to sharpness, down to the level of pixels and the limit of the AA filter.

Inexpensive and sharp optic.


May 12, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add jdos2 to your Buddy List  
panos.v
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Dec 15, 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4001
Review Date: Dec 8, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Size, weight, price, sharp, fast AF even on lesser bodies. Great color and contrast. Great build.
Cons:
Small hood. AF/MF switch.

This is an excellent lens. It is small and light for a f/2.8 tele. My copy is very sharp even at f/2.8 from corner to corner. I think it is the sharpest lens I have owned so far (and I've got quite a few primes). The AF is very fast, even on my D70s. Colour rendition, contrast and bokeh is excellent. The build quality is excellent.

The only real annoyance is the AF/MF switch, as you have to use the switch on the body AND the lens. And the hood is a bit too short. Not so much a problem for flare but for protection, say in the rain.


Dec 8, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add panos.v to your Buddy List  

   



Nikon 180mm f/2.8D ED-IF AF Nikkor

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
27 93626 Jun 23, 2013
Recommended By Average Price
100% of reviewers $372.83
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.36
9.33
9.5
1940NAS_180


Page:  1 · 2  next