about | support
home
 

Search Used

Fuji FinePix S2 Pro

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
18 42046 Mar 15, 2009
Recommended By Average Price
83% of reviewers $2,351.13
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
6.00
8.17
8.2
Fuji_FinePix_S2_Pro

Specifications:
6.17 megapixel Super CCD
ISO: 100, 160, 200, 400, 800, 1600
Dual Slots for SmartMedia and CompactFlash Type I and II
Accepts most Nikkor AF lenses including AF-S and AF-VR
Voice memo audio Recording Mode
Continuous shooting; 2 frames per second, up to 7 frames
Interface: Firewire and USB


 


Page:  1 · 2 
          
Neil (S)
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 25, 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 533
Review Date: Mar 31, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very good images, capable of two page spreads offset printed. Excellent shadow detail and smooth gradations. Good image buffer.
Cons:
Two sets of batteries - note if lithiums die, remove them and keep shooting. No vertical grip. Although it has built in firewire connection - is very slow downloading from camera. Bought an external Lexar firewire card reader that is very fast. Have to turn off auto image downloading on the Mac because it thinks this is a Nikon D1 - and gets confused.

When I was looking at this camera, I took a photo in the store and had negs made for offset printing at 11x17 with bleed (two page spread). Then I had a buddy -- who knows way too much about printing and scanning -- look at the negs. Based on his positive comments, I bought the camera. It holds shadows better than most of my medium format trannies drum scanned, and has great colour consistancy. There was some stair-stepping, but not enough to be objectionable. With my type of shooting I need a good image buffer, and almost never overrun it in this camera. I didn't buy a digital camera sooner, because this was the camera I was waiting for. I am not disappointed.

Mar 31, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Neil (S) to your Buddy List  
MyersPhotography
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Feb 19, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 92
Review Date: Mar 30, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,100.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: 12mp in-camera interpolation Firewire connection Great software package Uses standard AA batteries Based (as with D100) on the Nikon N80 body Dual card storage slots (PC I II and Smartmedia) External flash synch port for studio strobes Uses all Nikkor lenses that D100 uses include AFS and VR 100-1600 ISO with minimal noise at 1600 Fuji has wonderful support
Cons:
No mirror lockup Can't add a vertical grip with shutter release Some custom ballhead plates not yet available Can only assign sRGB color space if you don't use RAW Uses FAT storage format vs. Fat 32 on the D100 and Canon bodies.

I'm a Nikon user and tested this against the D100 extensively before purchasing. I didn't need the heavydutyness of the D1x series nor the high continuous shooting rates.
The in-camera 12mp interpolation is based on Fuji's "Super CCD" technology where the pixels are arrange in a honeycomb pattern vs. the standard grid format of most CCD cameras. There IS a difference in picture quality.

The same photo shot at 12mp RAW mode on the S2 vs the 6mp RAW mode on the D100, same lens, same time of day, same exposure, yielded a sharper 20x30 after enlarged with Genuine Fractals than the D100 was able to produce.

The benefits you get with this camera is worth the extra price you pay.

I highly recommend it. This weekly assignements photo was made with this camera. http://www.fredmiranda.com/forum/topic/27092


Mar 30, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add MyersPhotography to your Buddy List  

   



Fuji FinePix S2 Pro

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
18 42046 Mar 15, 2009
Recommended By Average Price
83% of reviewers $2,351.13
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
6.00
8.17
8.2
Fuji_FinePix_S2_Pro


Page:  1 · 2