about | support
home
 

Search Used

Nikon D100

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
18 49753 Dec 11, 2009
Recommended By Average Price
94% of reviewers $1,637.85
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.83
8.83
9.1
D100

Specifications:
Sensor: 6.1 Effective megapixel CCD
Max resolution: 3,008 x 2,000 pixels
Lens conversion factor: 1.5x
ISO 200Ė1600
Flash synch: 1/180 sec.
Storage media: CompactFlash Type I and II
USB interface
Optional battery pack


 


Page:  1 · 2 
       †††
blulegend
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 24, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 90
Review Date: Apr 6, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: New lower price, instant on, fast image review, superb low-light focus, good eye-point, unique manual feel, comfortable in hand, great ergonomics, format without going into menus, viewfinder grid, LCD cover, good ISO range, solid build, super-long battery life, excellent viewfinder information
Cons:
Image noise only acceptable, dust prone, bad compressed NEF, bad NEF buffer, no ISO 100, focus tracking is average, RAW software not included, images not as sharp as competition

I've compared this camera extensively for my usage against the new Caon 10D for 2 weeks now and I've finally decided on the D100. Although the Canon quality glass with USM/IS is cheaper than Nikon equivalents, the fact that I feel the 10D's image are more usable out of the camera in JPEG, the D100 eventually won me over. I like the fact that Nikon lenses also include the hood whereas with Canon this needs to be ordered in addition to the lens. The D100 brought out the shooter in me. It is very comfortable to hold for long periods of time, starts up instantly for those Kodak moments, never failed to focus when expected to, and overall gives me a more well-rounded photography experience. I have moved up to D-SLRs from a CP880 to a CP995 to a G2 and then to a G3. Maybe because I'm new to D-SLR shooting, but that's okay. The D100 to me is a very reliable and excellent choice. Definitely do not go by anyone's review alone, try your camera before you commit.

Apr 6, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add blulegend to your Buddy List  
Boka
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 22, 2002
Location: Brazil
Posts: 1873
Review Date: Apr 2, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Resolution, commands, speed
Cons:
USB 1.0, price to brazilian people like me

I love photography since I was a teenager. Now, Iím 30 and still loving it. A year ago, when I was on vacation in NY, me and Daschund spent a part of a Saturday evening discussing about digital photography, something absolutely new for me. At that time I havenít had any contact with this new world. Some months after that, he called me asking if I knew someone interested to buy his Coolpix 5000. Iím became crazy. Made a search thru the Internet and find out that could be a great opportunity. And I bought my first digital camera.

In January I was happy with my Coolpix, but it couldnít do all I wanted. So I sold it here in Brazil, making a really great deal. Talking again with Daschund, we decided to change our plans. He wanted to buy a 14n (now he has a Mamiya and a digital back!!! LOL), and I bought his D100, and 2 lenses: a Sigma 28-135 and a Nikon 18-35.

Well, guys, I can tell you Iím completely happy. What a wonderful camera. D100 has a great resolution, allowing you to print in large formats. Itís easy to use. All commands are under your fingertips and is very ready-to-use camera. Just turn it on and shoot! Yes, I know, it has a few ďproblemsĒ, but the D100 is still a great camera. Now I can say I have a great gear. I just only have to learn how to take great pictures. :D


Apr 2, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Boka to your Buddy List  

†††



Nikon D100

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
18 49753 Dec 11, 2009
Recommended By Average Price
94% of reviewers $1,637.85
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.83
8.83
9.1
D100


Page:  1 · 2