about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EOS 1D

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
81 91346 Jul 1, 2010
Recommended By Average Price
93% of reviewers $1,736.28
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.91
9.67
9.6
1D

Specifications:
Sensor: 4.15 megapixels
Max resolution: 2496 x 1662 (Canon RAW format)
Lens conversion factor: 1.3x
Focus: 45-point Area AF w. One-Shot AF, AI Servo AF, and Manual Focus
Exposure: Program, Shutter Priority, Aperture Priority, Depth-of-Field, E-TTL Flash, Manual
ISO Range: Equivalent to ISO 200-1600 (in 1/3 stop increments)
Max burst rate: 8 fps for 21 shots in Large/Fine
Magnesium alloy chassis
"Most extensively (weather)protected camera in its class"


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6  next
          
orthopod
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Jan 15, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 876
Review Date: Jan 22, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,550.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: AF Accuracy and Speed is UNREAL. Straight out of Camera JPEGS unmatched by ANY Camera, Build.
Cons:
Battery Life is Short compared to newer 1D bodies, Higher ISO requires better exposure accuracy.

Echoing the sentiments of many, this camera is really a masterpiece that revolutionized digital SLR's, and was way advanced for its time. Today it can STILL hold its ground, and will continue to do so if you understand its limitations and can operate between them.

NOT THE BEST cropping camera. Learn how to frame, use your lens, and foot zoom and cropping isn't necessary. Makes you a keener photographer.

Despite the 4MP, the images it produces rivals my 1D MKIIn except for very large unlargements, or very high iso, or cropping. Requires much less if any post processing straight out of the camera.

If you find you has a slight green color cast, there are custom color tones, particularly those of Antonio Langana that you can load as a custom profile that gets rid of the cast.

The smaller file size is a refreshment, less storage space needed, less memory/processing in photoshop when needed.

For the money, you can't beat the AF accuracy and speed, and the number of keeper shots you'll get from this beast. You'll never want to go back to the 20d/30d type body once you have tried a pro series body. the 1D is more than a stepping stone to bigger better bodies, its a legend that set the bar and continues to perform flawlessly for me.


Jan 22, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add orthopod to your Buddy List  
leewoolery
Offline
Image Upload: On



Registered: Feb 27, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 1277
Review Date: Jan 22, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,300.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Price, Speed, Auto Focus, Response, Build, Ergonomics, General Handling, 1/500 synch speed
Cons:
Noise at High ISO's, Battery Life, Many settings must be changed through computer via Firewire cable

I was looking for second and third cameras for myself and an assistant and the 1D has proved to be a worthy addition. I had tried out 20 and 30D's but their quickness and low-light AF capabilities aren't even close to the 1 series Canons ( or D-2 series Nikons.)

Now, the 1D has its limitations, high ISO noise being the biggest drawback, but it more than makes up for that with the ultra-fast focusing and general responsiveness when photographing fast-moving subjects such as barrel horse racing, bull riding and ice hockey, which I do alot of.

This camera may be 5 years old with only 4.1 megapixels and lacking in high ISO performance but it is still capable of producing incredible images. I shoot 99% sports and the 1D makes for a great second body...especially when shooting with strobes at ISO's of 400 or lower. The 1/500 synch speed helps for hand-holding larger lenses such as the EF 70-200 or EF 24-70 f/2.8...especiallu for baseline work in basketball and matside with wrestling.

For outdoor sports, on bright, sunny days, images taken at ISO's of 100-200, from this camera are incredible. For anything up to 8 x 10, I have a hard time telling the difference between prints produced by this camera or the 1D Mark II. I have made 20 x 30 prints from the 1D files and they look pretty good.

As with any pro camera, the best results are acheived with that manufacturers highest performing lenses and the Canon L lenses, compliment the 1D perfectly.

Lee Woolery
Speedshot Action Photography
www.speedshotphoto.com
www.trojanmania.com


Jan 22, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add leewoolery to your Buddy List  
larhaf
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 4, 2006
Location: Sweden
Posts: 3
Review Date: Jan 16, 2007 Recommend? | Price paid: $1,000.00

 
Pros: Dynamic
Cons:
once u know it's limits your in charge

Great,great,Great,,Great,greatGreat,greatGreat,greatGreat,greatGreat,greatGreat,greatGreat,great

Jan 16, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add larhaf to your Buddy List  
larhaf
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 4, 2006
Location: Sweden
Posts: 3
Review Date: Jan 16, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: I will NEVER , EVER let go of this one.. Tack sharp (if u know what 2 adjust and have a L lens applied.. Balance is Premium class, Response & vividness is unbeaten. It's a extension of myn mind and shots down to 1/15/sec is not an issue due to balance & control..
Cons:
If U don´t know it's limits u will embarace yourself..

far out...
DYNAMIC!!!!


Jan 16, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add larhaf to your Buddy List  
jirok12944
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Nov 22, 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jan 16, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,200.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Build, Speed, X-SYNC, Price
Cons:
Battery Life

I needed a body for party shots, something quick, robust and not expensive. 1D is obvious choice. Getting it for under 600GBP is an exceptional value. Mine was in very good condition with 40K actuations and excessive amount of dust on sensor (I actually cannot clean it all after at least 10 tries). I’m very happy with the camera, and consider myself lucky this time.

*4MPX*
It does not sound like a lot…. But what’s the purpose, why I bought this camera (along with 5D and medium format)? Not to get ultimate details. To get an action shot; a moment, which no other camera (except other 1D) can get. That’s the bottom line! And yes, 1D mk2 will do almost the same job; it just costs 3-4 times more.
In the other hand this camera uses 4mpx like no other. You cannot even compare it with 4mpx compacts. Enough details for up to 10x8!!!

*AF*
AF is exceptional! No other body (except 1D, 1Ds) can get anywhere close to speed and accuracy.

*X-SYNC*
This one is phenomenal. No other Canon body has 1/500. It does make a difference. I have much-much more keepers using 1/500 X-SYNC.

*BUILD*
As a tank! Weights the same!!! Smile If you are a lady, don’t even think about this camera.

*SPPED*
Not just frame rate. Response is instant, like (somebody said it before) an extention of your brain. Frame rate exceptional. I have not really needed 8fps…

*BATTERY LIFE*
Not good. New 1650mAh battery will give you 300-400 shots. Aftermarket 2400mAh will get you more (potential problems with charging it on Canon charger).

*BOTOM LINE*
Exceptional value camera on today’s used market, if you luck to get good one.


Jan 16, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add jirok12944 to your Buddy List  
ray_lam5
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 18, 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 71
Review Date: Dec 14, 2006 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros:
Cons:

http://www.photography-on-the.net/forum/showthread.php?p=2400948#post2400948


You can obtain all the software for the 1d on the above link. The post has lots of great information for new 1d users so go have a look.


Dec 14, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add ray_lam5 to your Buddy List  
ray_lam5
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 18, 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 71
Review Date: Dec 11, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,100.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Pro build, customisation, excellent colour, sharp images, good dynamic range
Cons:
I knew everything about this camera before finding a good sample and therefore i find no negative issues. Awaiting new batteries to allow use as intended. High ISO shots are not as refined as newer cameras but buyer should be aware of this anyway, still ISO 1600 can be used with care.

Although I have only had the camera for a couple of weeks I had been looking to purchase one for over a year and based on a few trips to test the camera these are my initial thoughts.

1: When exposed accurately images from the 1D are excellent, providing vivid and true colours with incredible sharpness.

2: Using this camera as it was intended you cannot be dissapointed. Ok with 4MPX cropping images too much may not be recommended but the purpose of the camera is to understand photography by carefully composing shots prior to shooting. Users must be careful not to underexpose too much as the 1D is sensitive to banding if the image is not exposed properly, this is a pro camera and so if you use it the way it is intended you will get the results you are looking for.

3: I am glad to say that the images shot in raw and proccessed in canons DPP software using the available Picture Styles will enable users to avoid photoshop altogether.
My camera came with no software but after some careful sourcing they are availible. Please update files from the canon websites for the latest Twain, Utility and DPP software.

4: Custom curves are a must for JPG's straight from the camera, again the customisation of the 1D is a huge plus
that allows the user to modify their shooting styles to suit.

5: The overall feel of the body is superb and coming from a 350D with all its handling issues I find the 1D a perfect step up in quality. I have no real need for sport shooting which this camera is famed for but i do have a need for images to be sharp, colours to be vivid and to contain lots of detail. Used primarily for landscape and architecture is still perfectly fine so long as you look for the photograph. If you pixel peep then yes it will not be as detailed as say the MarkII or 1DS but this we all know.

6: Use of lens are still cropped with the DPS-H sensor but the 1D uses the sweet spots of the lens and will make even a moderate lens seem amazing.

7: The 1D perfectly balances with a newer eos model as part of a 2 camera kit. The newer eos will shoot better long exposures and be more adaptable in low light internal shooting. If you are to have the 1D as your all in one camera then be prepared to learn the strengths and weaknesses of the body, investing in new batteries and a flash and you will not be dissapointed.

After waiting for a year and a half for this reknowned body I am happy to recommend it to photography enthusiasts who want to capture the best images. For general consumers I would think twice before buying as this is not a simple camera to use and is not intended for the happy snapper. Available for the price of an XT this camera is a bargain and i doubt i will let it go in a hurry.



Dec 11, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add ray_lam5 to your Buddy List  
Lani Kai
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 3, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 782
Review Date: Oct 30, 2006 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros:
Cons:

Correction to my review two posts ago... I meant ISO 800, not 200.

Oct 30, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Lani Kai to your Buddy List  
brad_w
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 17, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 350
Review Date: Oct 27, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,000.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: frame rate, AF tracking
Cons:
weight, buffer size/write speed, high ISO noise, battery life, low light AF, menus system can be obscure at times

The fact that we're still talking about a 5 year old camera says a lot, but in comparison to modern bodies this camera shows its age. The camera was designed for sports and daily journalism and while it still gets that job done, modern cameras definitely make the job easier.

Modern IQ standards have gone way up, both in pixel count and noise control. Also, handling has improved in areas like battery life, buffering/write speed and menu accessibility.

I do like the camera and use it for daily work. Still, there are niches in the market where the files just won't make the cut. If you're on a budget and need something to get the job done, this'll do nicely. In many respects though, you can do better elsewhere at the same price.


Oct 27, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add brad_w to your Buddy List  
Lani Kai
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 3, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 782
Review Date: Oct 18, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,100.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Speed, build, ergonomics, weather sealing... What everyone else said
Cons:
Moire is visible quite often, battery life, LCD has slight color cast

I bought this camera because I intend to get into sports photography a bit more. I shot a hockey game last night at ISO 200 and while there was noise, it was very film-like, as others have mentioned. The colors were excellent.

Oct 18, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Lani Kai to your Buddy List  
Daniel Bates
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 10, 2006
Location: Korea, South
Posts: 1213
Review Date: Sep 14, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $850.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: It's a 1-series! Enough said.
Cons:
none

This camera may be old, and it may have only 4 megapixels. But it is still worth every penny of what I paid for it--build quality is superb, the 8 fps is amazing for sports, and all the other perks of a 1-series camera make the 1D an excellent purchase.

Highly recommended for anyone who values quality over megapixels.


Sep 14, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Daniel Bates to your Buddy List  
veroman
Online
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Aug 19, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 3749
Review Date: Aug 28, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: • Image quality • Speed of operation • Dynamic range • Metering • Ease of use • Build quality
Cons:
• None

This review of the 1D is being written in terms of the here and now...that is, the fact that this camera can now be found for less than $1,000. I doubt I would rate it an overall "10" if I were posting two years ago or more, when the camera still sold in the several thousands.

But at less than $1k and as low as $800 (in ok cosmetic shape), I find this camera to be unmatched by any other DSLR I have used up to 6MP or even higher.

I purchased the 1D to fill a gap in my camera collection: namely speed. I have no high-frame-rate cameras and have many times lost out on quality shots because of this lack. One of my cameras, a Kodak SLR/c, is the slowest of the bunch and absolutely useless for sports, wildlife, cars, etc. Since fast shooting isn't something I do very often, I didn't want to invest in a 1D Mark II, used or otherwise. I found a used 1D in excellent condition, with low usage, and bought it. (Many thanks to others in this review forum for their positive postings. What you had to say was of tremedous help in making my decision to try this camera out.)

First, this is a 4.1MP camera in measurement only. It behaves much more like a quality 6-8MP DSLR camera in terms of IQ, print size capability, color, etc. The CCD sensor is quite a bit larger than the typical APS-C sensor. It's closer to full frame and affords a 1.3 crop factor.

The pixels are a huge 11.5 microns by 11.5 microns. This combination of large sensor and large pixel contributes to pictures of exceptional detail, depth and overall richness. There is nothing "old," technically, about the pics this camera produces. It can hold its own against nearly all other 5-8MP DSLRs being produced today and exceeds the quality of many of them, including noise levels. Pics at ISO 1600 are quite usable. I don't know of another 35mm-sized DLSR with pixels as large as those of the 1D.

Here is my overall assessment of this superb tool:

1) A remarkable camera by any measure...IQ, speed, ease of use, detail, color, build, etc., etc., etc.

2) IQ-wise and detail-wise, it is at least the equal of any higher resolution camera I have owned or used up to 6.3MP (Olympus C-5060, Canon 10D, Canon A95). But it is better in many important respects, namely dynamic range, out-of-camera sharpness, color fidelity, noise, overall tonality and resemblence to film. The low noise and appearance of the noise at ISO 1600 is an eye-opener. Pretty amazing. All of the files I shot at ISO 1600 are usable.

3) But...4MP is still 4MP, regardless of the size or quality of those pixels. I doubt I would print larger than 13" X 19" if I wanted to hold on to the camera's crispness. Still, that's quite a size for a 4MP camera (and an amazing accomplishment on Canon's part).

4) Compared to considerably higher resolution cameras (Kodak SLR/c, 1Ds Mark II), there is a significant loss of detail in small leaf foliage, fine lines, skin textures, facial features (when the face is small in the pic), etc. This is to be expected, of course. But if there were no way for me to do a direct comparison with cameras of 4 times the resolution, I might not notice or be bothered by these losses. My 10D, by comparison, shows the same losses, but the 1D's images are still better...richer...more dimensional.

5) The 1.3 crop is wonderful. The viewfinder is large and bright. The camera feels more like full-frame, but the 1.3 crop has many advantages, particularly with lenses that generally exhibit light fall-off at the extreme borders. This is my first 1.3 crop camera.

6) The feel of the camera is nearly identical to the 1Ds and my 1Ds Mark II...but in use, it's quieter and significantly faster. Overall, its operation feels "smoother." I don't know how to account for that. Smaller mirror?

This camera will only come down in price as time passes. If the weight doesn't bother you (it's a heavy 1-series camera!) and if prints no larger than 13" X 19" will suffice, I'd say look into one if you're looking for a DLSR of quality pro construction, tremendous capabilities and features, a timeless feel and appearance and an ease of use that belies its tank-like build and array of controls.

This camera, plus a 70-300 DO IS and 28-70 lens combination, fits into a really small case, making the perfect trio for travel. It will serve me much better and provide a lot more keepers than a Sony R-1 or other $1,000+ digicam.


Aug 28, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add veroman to your Buddy List  
lpazxxsh
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 31, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 1159
Review Date: Aug 17, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,400.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fast everything! Built in vertical grip, Solid Pro feel, Sealed gaskets, 8fps, Excellent image quality for a 4.4 MP. Looks more like 6MP. 150 shutter reliability,.
Cons:
No image review magnification, OEM batteries don't last as long as after market extended batteries. Much more noise above 800 ISO than the MKII/n.

I shoot mostly sports and speed is very important to me. I needed a camera that can shoot fast and can take the abuse
from a professional photographer. Spending thousands on a pro DSLR is ok, but why when all i'm going to do is shoot the hell out of it. So the 1D is perfect! 4 MP is enough for most work i do. I've seen outstanding 11x14s prints i could have sworn it was from a film camera. I don't think you can find a DSLR that can shoot 8fps, Pro built with a built in vertical grip for under $1400.00


Aug 17, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add lpazxxsh to your Buddy List  
PghKidd
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 2, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 206
Review Date: Jul 31, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,200.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Image quality, Sharp photos straight from the camera, build quality, focus speed....
Cons:
The usual, weight, battery life, making me spend way too much money for "L" glass

Wow, now that these cameras are down near $1000, if you want to take your hobby seriously, you have to get your hands on a copy of this camera.

I bought this on FM about a year ago, and it has gone with me to Disney, the national zoo, great falls, and so on. Is it heavy, yes, but you would expect that because of the build quality. Do I miss no built in flash? Yes, but usually on the cheap built in flashes, you would get lens shadow anyway.

To paraphrase Jack Nickolson from "As Good As It Gets", if I want to say something nice to this camera, I would say, "You make me want to be a better photographer."

This camera will make you a better photographer. Paired with the 24-70mm f/2.8, and the 70-200mm f/2.8, this camera will make it very difficult to take a bad picture. Sure, I am gushing about this camera, and sure, I upgraded from my 10D, but fdollar for dollar, I can't see a better camera out there.

Happy shooting!


Jul 31, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add PghKidd to your Buddy List  
dennyf
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 23, 2006
Location: Indonesia
Posts: 2
Review Date: Jul 25, 2006 Recommend? | Price paid: $1,000.00

 
Pros: fast focus, good color especially for skin tone, sharp, build quality, etc
Cons:
Noise only if under exposed or long exposure

Try this camera you will not regret..

Although it's 4MP, old LCD and CCD type it will produce great color and sharpness, I never use my 20D and 300D since then..

My favorite setting is color matrix 4 and Set 1, Sharpness 0, quality 10..

If you want to up grade your gear from 2 digit series try the original 1D you will amaze with the result..


Jul 25, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add dennyf to your Buddy List  
dennyf
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 23, 2006
Location: Indonesia
Posts: 2
Review Date: Jul 24, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,000.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Imange quality, especially for skin tone, sharpness, fast and accurate auto focus, build quality and body shape, file size and many more..
Cons:
Battery and noise (only if underexposed)

I just had this camera view months ago, I bought from a friend that already up grade his gear to 1Ds MK2, honestly at the begining I'm a little bit affraid about the image quality 4MP with old type CCD, old LCD (not as bright as 20D), etc.. but since the purpose only to back up my 20D and 300D I

But.. after 1 month I play with this camera I'm very amaze with the result and use my 20D, 300D for back up only..

For those who want to buy or up gread I stongly recommended this camera better than 30D, 20D, 350D and you will not regret..

That's why they call 1 series... go for 1D !!


Jul 24, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add dennyf to your Buddy List  

   



Canon EOS 1D

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
81 91346 Jul 1, 2010
Recommended By Average Price
93% of reviewers $1,736.28
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.91
9.67
9.6
1D


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6  next