about | support
home
 

Search Used

Nikon 85mm f/1.8D AF Nikkor

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
42 162844 Jul 15, 2013
Recommended By Average Price
93% of reviewers $340.32
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.87
8.97
9.1
1931NCP_180

Specifications:
Compact and portable telephoto lens that is ideal for portraits
Rear focusing for fast AF operation
Subtle blurring of background for beautifully natural and evocative portraits
An excellent choice for your first telephoto lens.

Filter Size 62mm (screw-on)
f/Stop Range 1.8-16
Minimum Focus Distance 3.0'
Magnification 1:6.6
Formats FX
DX
FX in the DX crop mode
35mm film
Angle of View 2830' (FX format)
1850' (DX format)
Groups/Elements 6/6
Dimensions (Diam. x L) Approx. 2.8 x 2.3" (71.1 x 58.4mm)
Weight Approx. 13.4 oz (379.9 g)
Usable Nikon Teleconverter TC-210 (manual focus only), TC-14a (may have occasional vignetting & uneven exposure when used with smaller apertures than f/11 and high shutter speeds)


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 
      
johnnymg
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 26, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 914
Review Date: Jan 26, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $350.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: small, sharp, nice bokeh.
Cons:
I feel soooooo inferior since it isn't a 1.4 ;)

GREAT lens................ !!!!!



Jan 26, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add johnnymg to your Buddy List  
ColoLense
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 5, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 287
Review Date: Dec 27, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $359.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Sharpness, Color
Cons:
Plastic feel, noisy AF

Wanted something for portraits with D70. Sharpness at every aperture on my copy is impressive (disclaimer, I'm only comparing this to the 18-20 kit lense, which is nice in the smaller aperatures). The color I got with this lense was dead on also. Highly recommended for the price.

Dec 27, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add ColoLense to your Buddy List  
lxdesign
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 4, 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 5900
Review Date: Dec 3, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $450.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros:
Cons:

I purchased this lens about a year ago, I was looking for a longer prime to compliment my 50mm 1.8. This is a great lens, very sharp, good for more than just portrait work. Highly recommended

Dec 3, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add lxdesign to your Buddy List  
phiggys
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 7, 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 25
Review Date: Oct 30, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $160.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Image quality,fast, sharp, nice bokeh, compact and excellent value.
Cons:
Larger filter size compared with shorter Prime lenses from Nikon.

The 4th prime lens that I puchased, its a nice fast portrait lens on a 35mm film body.

I have now replaced this with the 105 f2.0 DC lens.


Oct 30, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add phiggys to your Buddy List  
transmit
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 19, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Review Date: Sep 11, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $400.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Sharp, very compact, great fit for D70.
Cons:
Plasticy, noisy autofocus, not useful for much other than close portrait lens.

Got this one for my D70. Takes wonderful, sharp pictures and the size is very compact. body is quite plasticy but optics are first rate. Hard to take a bad picture with this one.

Sep 11, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add transmit to your Buddy List  
Unregistered
Offline
Location: United States
Review Date: Sep 5, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Screw-in lenshood
Cons:

Just wanted to counter the opinion that screw-in lenshood is a con -- some years ago, my N90s tumbled a foot or so from the door-sill of a cab to the street, landing on the hood and denting the hood's outer rim: absorbing impact that might have damaged lens or camera. They were OK. A firmly attached lenshood is a good thing, protecting lens/camera; and itself against loss. -- John

Sep 5, 2004
Edit/Delete Message
seyhun
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 24, 2004
Location: Turkey
Posts: 11
Review Date: Jul 14, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Very sharp. Excellent contrast and colors. Also very small and lightweight
Cons:
None at all.

I used it with S2 Pro with fantastic results

Jul 14, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add seyhun to your Buddy List  
Winniman
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 7, 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 191
Review Date: Jun 20, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $210.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Light, Sharp, Nice Bokeh
Cons:
Screw-in hood, bad feeling for MF

It's really good portrait lens. Light and cheap.
Compared to 85mm/f1.4 which doen't worth to spend that much extra money to achieve 1 f stop.


Jun 20, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Winniman to your Buddy List  
Jacques G
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Aug 19, 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 40
Review Date: Dec 29, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Very very sharp. Color rendition like the rest of my Nikon lenses.
Cons:
Screw-in lens shade.

I use this lens for portraits on Fuji S2s. Very satisfied.

Dec 29, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Jacques G to your Buddy List  
imagenhance
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 2, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 50
Review Date: Apr 14, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $280.00 | Rating: 8 

Pros: Light weight Great image quality Fast
Cons:
Sort of "loose" feel to the manual focus ring.

I read all the reviews regarding the 85 1.8 vs the 85 1.4 and could not bring myself to part with an extra $1,000 for a stop. This lens is fast, light, and very, very sharp. Contrast and color is fantastic.

The only bummer is the cheesy feel to the manual focus ring. It just feels sort of loose and cheap comapred to the image quality. The auto focus is wicked fast and of course view finder image very bright. If you shoot in autofocus, as I do mostly, you won't be bothered by the manual focus feel.

That is the only thing that keeps me from giving it an excellent. Must be a hold over from the great feel of my "old" Pentax glass and the 17-35 2.8 and 80-200 2.8 afs lenses.


Apr 14, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add imagenhance to your Buddy List  




Nikon 85mm f/1.8D AF Nikkor

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
42 162844 Jul 15, 2013
Recommended By Average Price
93% of reviewers $340.32
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.87
8.97
9.1
1931NCP_180


Page:  1 · 2 · 3