backup
Photoshop actions
 
 

Search Used

Canon EOS 5DS R

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
9 18120 Jun 2, 2016
Recommended By Average Price
100% of reviewers $3,519.20
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.44
9.00
9.7
Screen_Shot_2015-03-06_at_9_31_25_AM_copy


Specifications:
50.6-megapixel, 36 x 24mm CMOS sensor
"R" version has cancelling AA filter
ISO 100 to 6,400, plus ISO 50 and up to 12,800 expansion
5 frames per second burst mode
Dual DIGIC 6 Image Processors
3.2-inch, 1.04M-dot LCD with Live View
61-point AF system with up to 41 cross-type points
252-zone, 150K-pixel RGB IR metering sensor
Full HD movies with external mic jack
Dual card slots (CompactFlash Secure Digital)
USB 3.0 digital I/O; uncompressed HDMI output


 


          
I Simonius
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 22, 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 53
Review Date: Jun 2, 2016 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Colour better than previous models. On/off switch better placed. Dials lock. More/better menu options.
Cons:
Depth of field preview button moved to position that doesn't work for me,. Preferred 5D2 placement. Complex menus can take time getting used to..

No point in mentioning the obvious, like high MP count, reinforced baseplate etc - you know that stuff already.

PRO:Highly customisable, a delight to work with once you have learned the new menus. Does the things I wished the 5D before would do. More bracketing options etc. Colour is better.

Love that they moved the on/off switch- that was a hassle before as was the lack of compensation dial and joystick lock, which it now has. Love the function button, perfect for swapping crop modes (customisable). Love that there's lots of customisation options. (e.g. set the Fn button to a different crop mode of your choice- so much choice with this camera!) Really great to work with. Those that don't like it are probably using it in situations it wasn't optimised for.

CON: only ones I can think of are: Depth of field preview button moved to position that doesn't work for me,. (Preferred 5D2 placement).

Almost cons;
Shutter button is SUPER sensitive - takes getting used to.
This is where so many menu options can work against you until you have studied it over and over - the plethora of menu choices really do actually need proper study (it's the only bit that you can't transfer automatically from the previous 5Dxx). - the extra menus (over the 5D2) take some getting used to (e.g.Blurry 100% preview confusion if you are also shooting jpg and haven't got the settings right.
DR could be better perhaps but it's not a deal breaker

Not concerned about moiré, lower ISO options or fast frame rate - if those are your priorities get a different camera.

I use it mostly for landscape (with the 16-35f4L) but lately have also been using it on holiday and for street. Sure, not ideal due to size and weight but apart from that a fantastic performer with the 24-70f4L IS producing images with luxurious tones and exquisite detail. With the IS I get as many keepers as with previous cameras despite the 50MP showing up every tiny flaw in technique

Overall there's little to criticise assuming you knew what you were buying and why, but LOTS to praise, it really is a fantastic camera


Jun 2, 2016
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add I Simonius to your Buddy List  
cgi_photo
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 27, 2008
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 37
Review Date: Apr 27, 2016 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: resolution, body, auto focus, mirror modes, menu options, ergonomics, 16x live view magnification
Cons:
light metering does not follow AF point, weak battery life, requires good technique and lenses, dynamic range (in comparison to others)

target use: fashion, portrait, people, nude, mostly with flashes (Eli Quadra), handholding
upgraded from: 5d mIII

I was getting "tired" of my good old 5d mIII and still no direct upgrad from canon ;-) I safed "some" money and, finally after 10 months of saving and replacing a few lenses (new 16-35/4 IS, 35/2 IS), I got a 5DsR.
the decision for the R version took me quite some time because I shoot mostly people/fashion. I was a bit afraid of moiree - But since I have seen moiree with my mIII, I thought "it can't get an worse" ;-) and jump for the R.

I just had 3 shootings (2 Outdoor and 1 studio) with this camera and I love it. No moiree so far and handholding isn't as difficult for me as expected - at least it was looking sharp enough for me. having said that keep in mind that I used my Quadra outdoors, backgroud about 2/3 underexposed, shutter speed 1/160 to 1/250, shutter delay 1/8s. I will try to even improve the sharpness by paying more attention to shutter speed, delay and so on. Tripod will be used more often as well in the future.

I instantly felt at home coming from a 5D mIII. Yes, file size is huge... but colors and look of the pictures out of camera is great. in the dark shadows I noticed some noise but nothing that you can't fix in photoshop (I had to look for it) - maybe, in my case, a beautiful model helps too :-D

If you have good lenses, a fast computer (processor & lots of RAM & huge HDD), don't need 10 fps and don't frequently high ISOs, I think this camera is great (5DS or 5DsR).
Rent it for a weekend and decide if the cam works for you.

I will have to change my shooting style a bit (a bit wider, fewer pictures(!) ) but, besides that, it's a great camera for me.
If moiree will become a problem for me...? I will see in a few days, when the model will wear a pantyhose. evening dresses haven't been a problem so far...



Apr 27, 2016
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add cgi_photo to your Buddy List  
maiaibing
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jun 25, 2009
Location: Afghanistan
Posts: 10
Review Date: Feb 27, 2016 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $3,350.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: 50 MPIX!, advanced mirror modes, excellent time lapse, excellent auto ISO, great colors, excellent light metering, fast and precise AF, lots of AF tweaks, great menu options, great ergonomics.
Cons:
No eye AF, light metering does not follow AF point, no touch screen, useless crop mode, no wifi/gps, needs your own color profile in Lightroom (Adobe's fault), eats batteries for lunch.

Upgraded my aging 5Dii's to the 5DS R.

Lenses matter with this camera. 50 mpix is unforgiving. The range of lenses I could use so far were the new EOS 16-35mm f/4 IS L, Sigma 50mm F/1.4 ART, EOS 70-200 f/2.8 IS L II and EOS 300mm f/2.8 IS L II. All pictures shown here where taken hand held including the night scenes - so yes you can actually use this camera without a tripod, more about this later.

http://photo.mellbin.com/Lens-tests/Samples-Canon-EOS-5DS-R-Review/i-Z4mrbFw/0/X3/456A0652-X3.jpg

Handling: Coming from the 5DII/5DIII you will find this camera body very familiar – all the way down to the battery. IT is a big camera even for a DSLR, but not excessive. It is the third generation 5D-series camera based on the 5DII body and accordingly the entire button and screen layout feels very mature and natural. It’s a camera buildt to last many years.

The body is clearly made for still photography. The weight alone makes shooting videos without a tripod a dog because of the combined weight of camera & lens & the fact that the 5DS R can only shoot video using live view. I really miss in-body IS or at least a swivel screen for decent hand held video operation.

The software menu is probably the best Canon has made yet. The layout is an extension of the 5DII/5DIII options, however Canon has added several very useful options such as customizing the auto-rotate focus point individually for vertical and horizontal shooting. Also, the expanded custom settings available for defining your own C1-C3 shooting options are extremely useful. I strongly recommend all users to look into this. I have pre-settings for action, bracketed jpeg shooting and shooting against the sun. Overall, it’s a noticeable step up on the software side.

http://photo.mellbin.com/Lens-tests/Samples-Canon-EOS-5DS-R-Review/i-HVcRzCJ/0/X3/456A2272-X3.jpg

Battery power is noticeably shorter than for the 5DII/5DIII and most people will probably be well off buying at least one spare. Depending on your shooting habits, you may even want more spares. I could imagine some people going through 3 on an intensive days shooting.

The screen is excellent if not spectacular – and you can easily see if your pictures are sharp. While the screen has some menu options available for how you scroll through your pictures I still find them limited. This is important because @50 mpix you will want to check you results on-screen fairly often to ensure your shots are spot-on.

What irks me a little here is that when Canon decided against a swivel screen they did not at least give the 5DS R a touch screen. Having used one on the 70D I can truly say it’s a blast for changing settings quickly as you can see and change everything at once without fiddling for buttons and sub menus around the camera body.

http://photo.mellbin.com/Lens-tests/Samples-Canon-EOS-5DS-R-Review/i-9HntDx3/0/X3/456A3688-X3.jpg

Exactly when reviewing pictures we confront another of the 5DS R’s shortcomings: it takes time for the pictures to emerge on your screen. For me this is not an issue in spite of all the action shots I take – so it’s not as bad as I see it described sometimes – but scrolling on-screen is not 100% fluid. So if this is key to how you shoot you may want to consider this. At least you can quickly look at your picture at 100% on screen.

Basic Settings & AF: Everything you need and then some. Amongst the essentials the 5DS R has wide auto-bracketing (5 frames) and Canon finally got the implementation of auto-iso right. You can now set the trade-off parameters yourself so you can confidently rely on auto-iso to make your “smart” choices. Finally, as before the "Green" auto-setting also works with RAW files giving extra editing buffer when I hand the camera over to my family members.

AF is one area where the 5DS R is a significant upgrade compared to both the 5DII and 5DIII. Neither of these impressed me much, but the 5DS R is clearly better. It starts with the upgraded AF points and high customizable way you can employ these – like restricting the use to cross-type AF sensors. Combined with its new AF tracking system the 5DS R is especially better than the 5DII/5DIII when shooting moving targets.

http://photo.mellbin.com/Lens-tests/Samples-Canon-EOS-5DS-R-Review/i-hCppcR7/0/X3/456A3791-X3.jpg

The centre AF point is excellent – matching that of the 6D, also in low light. And the 5DS R AF even trumps the 6D centre point by adding a fine centre point option making the 5DS R’s autofocus the best Canon has issued so far.

For video we get face tracking – which works OK. In spite of all its custom glory and improvements Canon’s AF software offerings is still pitiful compared to the completion. Why oh why does Canon not offer a dedicated face and eye AF? This would be even more useful for this camera with its 50 mpix.

Not everything is perfect and some will find the AF points are too narrow in both height and width. I also occasionally feel constrained by the narrow AF span but with 50 mpix going to a longer focus length and cropping afterwards is a real option.

Recording options: 5DS R in fact does have a crop option. Its implementation however makes me wonder how useful it will be for users. When shooting raw the camera does not crop the RAW file. Hmmm. This comes with some penalties and most important of these are that neither the RAW shooting speed or back screen review speed gets any better. So why use it? Ouch. I cannot imagine ever using it myself.

http://photo.mellbin.com/Lens-tests/Samples-Canon-EOS-5DS-R-Review/i-JJtS9gf/0/X3/456A1835-X3.jpg

Shooting JPEG’s speeds everything up. But again you don’t really need the crop mode for that anyway because the camera is quick enough handling even full JPEGs. It’s a fail from Canon’s side and I wonder how difficult it would be to offer a real RAW crop mode.

Instead there is the option of shooting a lightly compressed RAW format (MRAW) – but still filling the entire frame crop mode or not. The difference is only that when you open the RAW file in your editor it will open “cropped” but with the full RAW file available.

As you should expect the two card slots can be set individually to record in all modes and combinations. However, the slowest of the two cards will determine your ultimate shooting speed.

http://photo.mellbin.com/Lens-tests/Samples-Canon-EOS-5DS-R-Review/i-RX3rzfH/0/X3/456A2853-X3.jpg

That narrow DOF when shooting @50mpix is something I needed to get used to. In fact DOF is the same as before but the ultra high mpix count will make even small differences in DOF more visible than before when you look at shoots @100%. Since I like to shoot wide open and still crave sharpness (an optical contradiction), I have had to reconsider my options compared to shooting with the 5DII/5DIII. This is in fact one reason I got Canon’s new 16-35mm f/4 IS L which may eventually push out my 35mm f/1.4 L.

Costs and comforts of shooting 50 MPIX: Apart from taking ultra high resolution pictures another reason to get 50 mpix is the option to make deep crops. Something I need a lot for my shooting style. This does however beg the question: will the extra pixels you gain be offset by mirror slap and camera and hand shake? If the resulting 50 mpix are not ultra “sharp” why invest in all those pixels and the associated processing challenge?

http://photo.mellbin.com/Lens-tests/Samples-Canon-EOS-5DS-R-Review/i-QrDsnXV/0/X3/456A3724-Edit-X3.jpg

First the bad news: yes it is an addition challenge shooting the 5DS R hand held compared to the 5DII/5DIII. I get fewer “ultrasharp” shots with the 5DS R than I do with the 5DII/5DIII/6D. But there is also good news: Canons excellent mirror dampening system works very well, so I get as many “ultrasharp” shoots as I did with my 70D (a Canon crop sensor camera). So, if you are shooting hand held there is a potential penalty if you need to enlarge all the way to 100%. Otherwise reducing the picture to 5DII/5DIII size will do away with the difference. And of course you can opt for tripod or monopod support.

Sometimes when I read about this challenge on the web I wonder what people are doing with their cameras to claim that the 5DS R cannot be used hand held. I can and I almost only use it that way with no regrets.

As for processing these files on my computers. I have no difficulties at all. But I do have very powerful CPU's and videocards to match - so YMMV.

http://photo.mellbin.com/Lens-tests/Samples-Canon-EOS-5DS-R-Review/i-m6c3HKz/0/X3/456A4137-X3.jpg

Response times: Start up time is very fast.

Shooting speed is 5 fps which is good for almost all kinds of shooting unless you have a very specialised need for rapid firing. However, if fps is what you really need you are not in 5DII/5DIII/5DSR territory anyway as none of them are fast shooters.

One question that gets asked a lot is what kind of memory card to get for the 5DS R’s “enormous” files. Answer: not so fast as you think. So look carefully before buying ultra expensive ultra fast memory cards. Unless you have money to burn go for “fast enough” and use the split to buy more megabytes. I have a “fast” 256 GB Komputerbay compact flash card for the added speed CF cards provide with the 5DSR and a cheap PNY 256 GB to fill when speed is not of the essence. That’s ½ terra byte and with that I never expect to run out of space (shooting one card at a time). You can find tests on the net to guide you on which cards fall into the sweet-spot for 5DSR shooting.

In real life shooting I can do 14-15 full RAW on my 256 GB Class 10 SDXC card. This is the in fact same shooting speed that I get with the currently fastest 128 GB Sandisk SDXC card that I also have. With the CF card I can do 18-19 shoots before the camera slows down. Fortunately Canon has made sure that the camera does not stall altogether. Instead the 5DSR continues to shoot frames – just somewhat slower.

http://photo.mellbin.com/Lens-tests/Samples-Canon-EOS-5DS-R-Review/i-CbgFJ7F/0/X3/456A4165-X3.jpg

Pic IQ: Overall the 5DS R is as good as digital FF gets right now. Clarity and detail is extremely impressive when the light is good. Canon sensor tech still lags behind some of latitude of the competition (SONY/NIKON), but if the marginal difference is an issue for you I’m sure you won’t be reading this review anyway - except for entertainment. For the rest of us is more than OK - its simply great.

Noise levels are extremely good taking into account the 50 mpix sensor size. If you reduce the files to match the 5DII/5DIII files size it is much better than the 5DII and a – visible – touch better than the 5DIII because of the added detail.

I used to consider iso 800 my practical limit. But I now find myself happily dailing in iso 1600 which still is very good. When the 5DS R was announced I was at first dismissive due to the very low camera high iso max of 6.400 fearing that it signalled rather poor high iso ability. That was unfounded.

For all practical purposes almost all DSLRs hit the ceiling when going >iso 6400 in the sense that you get the same result as simply underexposing for example iso 6400 as turning up the nominal iso to 12800 or 25600. The real life result is that the 5DS R will give you slightly better results (at equal file size) than the 5DIII @ iso 12800 & 25600.
After 1600 iso pic IQ begins to take a visible hit, but I still use the entire span up to iso 6400 when needed. I have not yet used flash with my 5DS R.

http://photo.mellbin.com/Lens-tests/Samples-Canon-EOS-5DS-R-Review/i-XppzrfX/0/X3/456A0640-X3.jpg

Light handling: Camera handles light very well. I have a non-scientific impression that light metering is better than both the 5DII and the 5DIII (which I saw as equal). Sadly, again Canon’s software engineers let their customers down. While the competition for years has offered light metering according to the AF point you select this obvious and very practical option is not available in the 5DS R. It’s a shame and another reminder that Canon’s AF and light metering software lags behind.

I also feel that white balance has improved over the 5DII/5DIII. In fact I find that it is really good which is rare with digital DSLRs. Just remember not to judge the white balance looking at the screen. Grey card is the way to go.

Microadjustment: It worked well during my tests as expected.

Unfortunately Canon's software license does not allow 3.rd party software such as Focal to automatically drive a full AF test. The result is that microadjustment is as time consuming and frustrating as always. Again something one should think Canon would like to offer its customers. I for one would be willing to pay for this and I’m sure may others would too. Canon surely has such software available already for its authorised repair shops. Sell it and make some extra JPY!
Due to the high demands the 50 mpix will place on any lens I highly recommend microadjusting your lenses for the best results. It should be the very first thing to do after inserting the battery or you may be underwhelmed by the picture IQ for no other reason that a slight OOF effect.

http://photo.mellbin.com/Lens-tests/Samples-Canon-EOS-5DS-R-Review/i-2fp6QW4/0/X3/456A2271-X3.jpg

Other thoughts: No visible banding so far in my shots (as with the 5DII). Someone out there can probably provoke it. But for most photographers it will be a non-issue. No hot pixels on the sensor.

Dust system works very well (as it should now-a-days). I have not cleaned the sensor yet and I do not expect to do so anytime soon. Manual focus is easy with live view, but holding the camera still is another matter as mentioned under video shooting so the 5DS R will only really work for ultra-sharp pictures with a tripod or with stationary objects.

Deleting a batch of individual pictures (I do this a lot en route) is easy and there are more options on how you delete pictures than before. This can still be further improved and again the lack of a touch screen is a further limiting factor.

http://photo.mellbin.com/Lens-tests/Samples-Canon-EOS-5DS-R-Review/i-TQBdf5s/0/O/456A3204-3.jpg

There is a non-Canon related issue worth mentioning: Adobe has gotten the calibration files for the 5DS R all wrong. In fact so wrong that I do not recommend anyone to use Adobe’s standard color profiles with the 5DS R until they are updated. To get the best picture IQ you should either make your own profiles or download some on-line. There are good profiles for free and some cheap commercial offerings. If you use LightRoom and PhotoShop for your RAW-processing you will need these. The link above shows an example of how bad it is. Adobe's profile to the left with overblown highlights and crushed shadows. My own profile to the right. Much better shadows and well controlled whites and reds.


Feb 27, 2016
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add maiaibing to your Buddy List  
MattVinkers
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Dec 9, 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Dec 10, 2015 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $3,599.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: very fast auto focus
Cons:
nothing so far

I have actually been awaiting this cam for a long period of time to match my investment in Canon lenses. Do not fret about Moire. I have yet to see it and I have taken several images. The primary thing about utilizing this cam is that to get its amount you have to use it in circumstances where the majority of the pixels are in focus. I utilize this either with flash photography or outdoors where in both cases I can set the ISO low, the effective shutter speed high, and the aperture little. I have an excellent set of L lenses to work with it too. Far, many of my photography has actually been of my grandkids where I create a huge ceiling bounce using my 4 cordless speed lights with CP-E4 battery booster loads. With this arrangement I essentially take out all the limitations and shoot f8, ISO 200, and set shutter at 1/200. The high depth of field and severe sharpness is awesome. I can zoom in and see my reflection of myself holding my cam in the pupils of their eyes! Every pixel counts if you are a pixel peeper. Other work includes landscapes outside. If you want to shoot walk around shots with this cam it is all right. You can always set the camera to a frame size with less pixels. Personally, my walk around casual electronic camera is the Lumix FZ1000 which has the finest 4K video capabilities of any electronic camera I have actually yet checked, yet costs less than the expense of one Canon camera lens but covers a range of 24mm to 400mm with a 1" sensing unit and 20 megapixels. That being said, this 5DSR is now my go to electronic camera for my best shots where I have time to set things up. The only unfavorable, which is not one of the video camera itself, is that these huge raw files take longer to scroll through and process than the ones from my 5D MkIII. You will lose more time in post processing. Cam is easy to utilize, but really effective.

Dec 10, 2015
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add MattVinkers to your Buddy List  
mbailey
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Apr 12, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 351
Review Date: Nov 18, 2015 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $3,500.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Outstanding resolution, some weather proofing, easy interface, fantastic focusing accuracy and speed, large number of focusing points, integrated focusing light, two card slots, surprisingly good low light performance, 1.6X-1.3X-1.0X cropping on the fly!!, fast write speeds, new quiet low vibration shutter, electronic level in VF.
Cons:
weak battery life, no gps, no 4K vid, slow fps, requires good technique and lenses to get best results more than other bodies, low published DR, limited iso, files challenge my computer, need new fast/large cards.

I purchased this body as an update for my 1DsIII. I can say with complete confidence that the 5DsR is superior to the 1Ds3 in almost every important way! I have not had a new body since 2007 so I cannot say from experience how the 5DsR compares to other newer Canon bodies. (I also have no knowledge of Nikon products). The 5DsR has more than twice the resolution of the 1Ds3 but yet blows it away in high iso performance! The new body files look better at 12800 than the 1Ds3 looked at 3200! I know this is 8 year old vs current tech, but it is still amazing to me. Another major advantage is the focusing... The speed is of course better, but it is the accuracy that carries the day, imo. Trying my different lenses on the 5DsR on the body, I find that no correction has been required on any so far! On my 1Ds3, all lenses required some correction for optimal focus. The speed and accuracy of focus tracking is also improved.
The iso and AF improvements would have been enough to justify the upgrade but you get class leading resolution and cropping on the fly to boot!! One of the first things you need to do when you get one of these bodies (after you turn off ability to take photos without a card) is to set the mfn button to cycle through 1.6X-1.3X-1.0X-square crops. 1.6X gives a ~20Mp file and 1.3X gives ~30 Mp file. The whole 50 Mp file is preserved if you shoot in RAW! This gives incredible versatility!

Now for a few nits. The battery life is lower than expected but can be doubled by using a grip. The 1Ds3 did not shoot any video, but some will miss 4K video on this body. I dont shoot video so it didnt matter to me. I have read that DR is low but understand its better than on other Canon bodies with the exception of the 5D3. I have not found this to be an issue in my photos. The fps is slow for this day and age but is not bad considering the amount of data being pushed through. I wish it did have faster fps on crop modes but it does not. The 5DsR is less forgiving for bad technique and lenses. I would advise the best glass you can afford. For hand holding, use your best technique and SS that are twice the focal length. The RAW files can easily be over 70 MB so be ready to increase your storage and processing capabilities. My computer is fairly new but still requires 30-40s to convert RAW into fine JPEG. High end JPEGs are over 30MB! I also appreciate the inclusion of an electronic level in the VF. Not only did the 1Ds3 not have this feature, but the VF and the sensor where misaligned by 1 degree or so! Unfortunately, the level is only present for landscape holds and not for portraits. Finally, I have read a review that took issue with the 5DsR's ability to write burst files to cards. My experience is that if you use the newest cards with high write speeds (ie 90-95MB/s SD and 160MB/s for CF), the 5DsR will exceed published burst capability in RAW. Dont bother paying extra for UHS-2 cards for SD as camera cannot utilize these for additional write speed.

Overall, I am delighted with this body! It does everything I need it to do better than the 1Ds3. Its weather proofing is not as robust but still more than adequate for my needs. It is truly a worthy replacement for the 1DsIII!


Nov 18, 2015
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add mbailey to your Buddy List  
greg swan
Offline
Image Upload: On



Registered: Feb 5, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 202
Review Date: Oct 17, 2015 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Incredible images only had it for a couple of days but it is a big upgrade from my 6D
Cons:
None

I just upgraded to the 5DS r from a 6D. I ran over 50k shots thru my 6D and thought my image quality was good; until I compared images to the 5DS r.

I was ready to move to a Hasselblad system for fashion/studio photography. I had to opportunity to demo a H5d-40 for a week. I was disappointed in the image quality and overall ease of use.

The 5dS r exceeds the image quality in studio shoots, even at 28mp setting when compared to the Hasselblad and my old 6D.

I give up ISO performance with this camera and have had to get reacquainted with my tripod. However, overall rating of this camera is a 10.


Oct 17, 2015
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add greg swan to your Buddy List  
Doug Vann
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Dec 18, 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 53
Review Date: Aug 4, 2015 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Large files for big prints, ability to do big crops and still end up with acceptable results. Nice camera build.
Cons:
Poor battery life. Limited ISO range compared to the 6D.

Got this camera as an upgrade from my 6D and previous 5DII. Have had excellent results with my Sigma 50mm Art lens and Canon 70-200 f2.8 L IS II lens. Actually after posting a shot with the Sigma lens I had the local newspaper call and wanted to use the shot in an article. It was a storm shot I had taken. Anyway quite happy with the camera. Real nice feel to it and should serve me well going forward.....

Aug 4, 2015
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Doug Vann to your Buddy List  
richardkaufmann
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Aug 2, 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Aug 2, 2015 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $3,900.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Resolution
Cons:
Cost, it's pretty old school

If you've used a Canon DSLR in the past seven years, you'll yawn when you start using this one. The only changes are subtle. My favorite: HDR mode that stores three RAWs, and auto-selects the EV range needed to get the shadows and highlights dialed in.

Sound subtle? Ubetcha. But as soon as you open the files on a decent screen (yeah, get a 4K monitor) your jaw will hit the floor. Insane resolution. Simply insane.

Sample pic: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/3786292/La%20Jolla%20Cove/_69A1175.jpg . (100/2.8 Macro, the old one, 5ds R, 1/160 f7.1, ISO 400, Strobe fired)

YES, you need to use great lenses. (24-70 II, 100-400 II, 100mm Macro, all cool.) YES, the new lenses are more expensive than their forebears. YES, you have to keep your apertures under ~7.1 (diffraction limiting) but also high enough to avoid laser-thin DOF. YES, you need to find your tripod and use it. (We have gotten lazy, haven't we?!)

YES, if your are outdoors in harsh environments, or need to put 300,000 shots on a camera, you should stick with the 1d line (I sold a great 1ds iii on Ebay today).

And, OK, if you want to shoot in candlelight or shoot 4K video, you should probably get the new Sony mirrorless.

And, OF COURSE, Canon's engineers should have to apologize for not incorporating any modern features into this camera. Wifi, GPS, modern video, "apps..." No way. This is just for people who take stills and want all their magic in the "darkroom."

Bottom line: if you want to get great landscapes / architecture / studio shots, THIS is the successor to the 1ds iii.


Aug 2, 2015
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add richardkaufmann to your Buddy List  
Alex Foong
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 27, 2013
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jun 29, 2015 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $3,247.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Astonishing resolution, easy to operate, softer mirror flapping sound. The 16X live view magnification nail spot-on focus.
Cons:
Need very good lenses to support and jive with the resolution. Will produce soft images if medieval lenses is used. Currently not many lenses in the market support the sensor resolution demand, so be prepared to upgrade your lenses if you think of buying/ upgrade to the Canon 5Dsr.

Its is an upgrade for me from the Canon 5D Mkll. I have it for more than 10days now and still trying to test out all my existing lenses for comparability.

Too bad, Lightroom 5 do not support the RAW file so software also need upgrading besides more hard-disk space.


Jun 29, 2015
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Alex Foong to your Buddy List  

   



Canon EOS 5DS R

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
9 18120 Jun 2, 2016
Recommended By Average Price
100% of reviewers $3,519.20
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.44
9.00
9.7
Screen_Shot_2015-03-06_at_9_31_25_AM_copy