backup
Photoshop actions
 
 

Search Used

Nikon 35mm f/1.8G ED AF-S Nikkor

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
3 6987 Oct 7, 2015
Recommended By Average Price
100% of reviewers $600.00
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
6.00
9.00
8.7
nikon3518

Specifications:
Image Circle: 35mm
Type: Wide Prime
Focal Length: 35mm
APS Equivalent: 52.5mm
Max Aperture: f/1.8
Min Aperture: f/16
Diaphragm Blades: 7 (rounded)
Lens Construction: 11 elements in 8 groups, including 1 ED and 1 aspherical element
Diagonal Angle of View
(Based on image circle): 63 degrees
Focus Details: Rear-focusing; Silent Wave Motor (SWM); Auto/Manual
Front Element Rotation: No
Zoom System: n/a
Closest Focus: 0.25m / 0.82 ft.
Magnification Ratio: 0.16x / 1:6.3
Filter Size: 58mm
Dimensions
(Length x Diameter): 71.5mm x 72mm / 2.81 in. x 2.83 in.
Weight: 305g / 10.7 oz.
Notes: Included Accessories: Bayonet hood HB-70, soft lens case CL-0915, front and rear lens caps


 


          
incrediblehark
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Nov 6, 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 168
Review Date: Oct 7, 2015 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $600.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, Accurate AF, Lightweight, Great Contrast, Excellent Close Focusing Ability, Amazing Flare Resistance
Cons:
Plastic Build Quality

I love this lens. I've used a lot of 35mm lenses over the years and this is by far the best. My copy is super sharp from 1.8 onward, it has very accurate auto focus and tracks well in low light.

I've used it for general walk-around shots, landscapes and portraits. It's awesome close up with my ring light and for environmental portraits with my beauty dish. It handles flare extremely well and has easily corrected distortion.

The only complaint I would have would be the plastic build quality. Other than that, it's a great lens!


Oct 7, 2015
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add incrediblehark to your Buddy List  
Brodgar
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Sep 28, 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 0
Review Date: Sep 28, 2015 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very sharp from 2.8 to 11. Very light. Little flare
Cons:
Soft wide open. Plastic build, but that is what makes it light so you cannot have everything.

Please ignore Pertinax222's comments. The lens pictured here is the FX lens and works very well on FX bodies.

It is an "old fashioned" focal length but I found it surprisingly pleasing as a street lens or for small portrait groups.

In trying to reduce the weight of my kit (D800 etc) this makes a wonderful walk-around lens.


Sep 28, 2015
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Brodgar to your Buddy List  
Pertinax222
Offline
[ X ]

Registered: Jun 20, 2014
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 0
Review Date: Dec 17, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Lightweight, small, cheap and large aperture
Cons:
A bit soft and not strong quality built

This lens is DX and won't work well on FX camera as D800, D700 or D4.
35mm is a very interesting focal which I've found ideal for travel photography or family shots. The main problem I had was at 1.8 and it was a little frustrating because I mainly choose to buy the lens for it's wide aperture. At 1.8 there was a little bit too much softness, especially in the corners for me. It was noticeable. But as a beginner or training at 35mm, this lens is great. For it's price and lightweight. Not for a professional like CreativeView where you need perfection at every shot as any photographe mariage would.


Dec 17, 2014
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Pertinax222 to your Buddy List  

   



Nikon 35mm f/1.8G ED AF-S Nikkor

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
3 6987 Oct 7, 2015
Recommended By Average Price
100% of reviewers $600.00
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
6.00
9.00
8.7
nikon3518