about | support
home
 

Search Used

Nikon 50mm f/1.8D AF Nikkor

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
48 123158 Jun 20, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
94% of reviewers $110.46
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
7.75
9.70
9.2
2137NCP_180

Specifications:
New D-type lens design provides distance information as part of flash and ambient light exposure processes

Classic normal lens provides speed and compact design

Multi-layer coating minimizes flare and ghosting

52mm filter size

Exceptionally lightweight and compact ideal for travel photography

Stops down to f/22 for excellent depth-of-field control


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3  next
      
Pertinax222
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jun 20, 2014
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jun 20, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $150.00 | Rating: 6 

Pros: The price of course is one of the best aspects of this lens in conjunction with it's wide aperture.
Cons:
It's an old lens without internal motor to drive the AF so you'll need one top camera from nikon to make it work.

Nikkor 50mm f/1.8 lens has been my favorite Nikkor lens. It is extremely cheap yet it produces excellent quality pictur at a time (actually before I became pro). This lens is very light and so very easy to carry around and stay in your bag even if you don't intend to use it. Many say that the low light capability of this lens is excellent but to be honest I never tried it by night because it was too soft under f/2.8. But the softness of the pictures delivered by this lens at f/1.8 can achieve a special look. The new 50mm G f/1.8 is sharper I found.
It's a tough lens and for the price, the build quality is great.
When used on a cropped sensor DSLR, this lens can become a great portrait lens.
When used on a FX DSLR, this lens is the standard lens (equal to 35mm on a cropped sensor DX) and isn't great anymore for portraiture. This focal length is what I used for several years to train my vision.
If you're on a budget and you're starting your travel in photography, this lens is a no brainer one and you really cannot lose anything by purchasing it. For examples, try this Photographe Mariage where there's plenty of pictures to see.


Jun 20, 2014
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Pertinax222 to your Buddy List  
c4change
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Jul 23, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 756
Review Date: Mar 9, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Compact, sharp, fast AF (on D700/D300), recessed front element
Cons:
cheap rear lens cap

For the money nothing beats this nifty-fifty. Its AF is actually a little faster than the AF-S twins (1.4G and 1.8G).

Mar 9, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add c4change to your Buddy List  
paparazzinick
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 8, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 7417
Review Date: Nov 12, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $75.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: light, sharp, fast
Cons:
build quality sucks I broke this lens 3 times

Like my other 50mm reviews, its a very nice lens to have in your bag. Especially for the price. I shoot weddings in Pittsburgh and wouldnt dream of shooting a wedding without this in my bag. There are those dark churches that you will need fast glass and since this one is so cheap there is no reason not to have it. Check out some samples on my site taken with it. http://nbombichstudios.com

Nov 12, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add paparazzinick to your Buddy List  
MrPacMan
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 30, 2012
Location: Israel
Posts: 17
Review Date: Jan 30, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: SHARP, Light weight, Fast AF.
Cons:
Poor build quality, noisy AF - not AF-S.



Jan 30, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add MrPacMan to your Buddy List  
kja777
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Nov 8, 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 0
Review Date: Mar 26, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $135.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Small, so light you won't feel it in the camera bag, accurate colour rendition, crisp crisp crisp. Small 52mm filters are very low cost.
Cons:
Soft at F/1.8 - F/2.2, hood not included

First - I will summarize:
About as sharp as your sensor can capture, VERY accurate and saturated colour, no CA's, no distortion, feather light, and under $140 - wow.

You would expect a lens that is this small and light to be primarily built from plastic - so the Nikon 50mm F/1.8D should not be a surprise to anyone. BUT - unlike the cheapo Canon 50mm, this Nikon has a metal mount making it perfectly snug on both my crop factor and full frame bodies. Also, unlike the Canon, CA's and related are well under control with this Nikon 50mm (images from my Canon 50mm were gushing with CA's).

- I find the colour reproduction accurate and well saturated.
- There is almost no distortion to speak of.
- Between F/3.2 and F/11 this lens is tremendously sharp.
- Uses small low cost 52mm filters.

FYI - you need to keep your fingers out of the way during focus as the focus ring itself turns when auto-focusing. I point that out because it is a rather petite lens.

Incidentally, I switched from Canon to Nikon 3 years ago after 25 years of being a Canon shooter and have not regretted for a single shot.


Mar 26, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add kja777 to your Buddy List  
Il Medico
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Apr 3, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 580
Review Date: Nov 3, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $109.95 | Rating: 7 

Pros: Inexpensive, light, nice focal length on FF, reasonably fast AF
Cons:
Soft at 2.8 and below beyond 10-15ft, AF inconsistent again at full length portrait distance, needs f4 or more to be decently sharp

Decent for the price. Comparing it to my Canon 35/2 on a 1DMkIIN, the Canon setup was much sharper at all F-stops. The 50 gets pretty good by F4 the 35/2 was bitingly sharp at F4.

It works best and is sharpest at half-body/headshot distances.

Will likely be getting an 85 of some type for the full body shots or the Sigma 50/1.4.


Nov 3, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Il Medico to your Buddy List  
hackmann
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 19, 2010
Location: Brazil
Posts: 1
Review Date: Oct 21, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $150.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: HQ, Cheap
Cons:
Flare

Well, I am a D90 owner.
You should not forget to have this piece in your bag.
Its far the best lens I have. IQ its awsome, fast and light lens.


Only problem its having a tendency to flare easly.


You can check some samples here:
http://www.carloshackmannphotography.com/Galleries/Plants/14217129_wh8vj#1058448835_UMetH
http://www.carloshackmannphotography.com/Galleries/Inanimate-objects-1/14230830_8udAW#1058452246_2ZkBR
http://www.carloshackmannphotography.com/Galleries/Inanimate-objects-1/14230830_8udAW#1058453208_WwvyZ


Oct 21, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add hackmann to your Buddy List  
kjyuan
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Aug 1, 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 42
Review Date: Aug 10, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $118.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: cheap and shallow depth of field, lightweight, good portrait lens on DX
Cons:
plastic build, soft at f/2 and wider

Bought this because of all the reviews on it how great it was for the price. Yes, I must say i do agree; it is definitely worth the money especially like me if you're just starting out learning photography. Use it mainly for some outdoor portraits, and used once at a low light event. Images were soft at f/2 when looking at 100%, but you really can't tell if you're showing it to someone on the computer screen. For the outdoor portraits, f/10 worked great with lots of depth. Overall a great buy and a great starter lens. I recommend using this lens, then finding out what you're lacking in focal length.

Aug 10, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add kjyuan to your Buddy List  
Harrythephot
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Apr 3, 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2
Review Date: Feb 20, 2009 Recommend? no | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 4 

Pros: Size, weight, cost.
Cons:
Image quality wide open is shocking. Anything wider than 2.8 is unuseable on my copy of this lens.

I may have a bad copy, but there is so much ghosting of the image wide open that it is unuseable. I have just returned it to Nikon UK to see if they can do anything with it.

I have also seen the same effect on my 35-70 before I got rid of it, so I hope it is not a "feature".



Feb 20, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Harrythephot to your Buddy List  
EOS20
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 6, 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 13639
Review Date: Feb 5, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Cheap, Decent build quality, Good picture quality.
Cons:
None.

A great lens at a great price!

I've owned the Canon equivalent and the Nikon version is much better.

Every Nikon shooter should have one!



Feb 5, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add EOS20 to your Buddy List  
PJ Fish
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Nov 24, 2006
Location: Denmark
Posts: 18
Review Date: Nov 5, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Very good lens in the high end class for next to nothing: it is best buy for cheap lenses !
Cons:
None

This is a small wonder of high Quality glass and i use it with the famed Nikon D3 on assigments daily! isnt it strange that this little nipsy 100 usd thing is one of my most used lenses ftb?

Im a fulltime PP and i work with it on press assignments and it is las back from the old days with film based cameras as my beloved F2;

Since i swifted over to FF and Nikon D3 i must admit that the nice classy 50mm together with my 35,85,105,180 and 300mm lenses is a super companion for my fixed lenses arsenal,it full fills my needs and more so,i even compared it to the f1,4 but the differ wasnt justified for me so i kept this lightweight pearl and im a happy pro photographer !!

On my Fuji S5 DX it is a very nice 75mm with good DOF !

I Use it for sports,feature,portraits,street photography, yes almost everything -it is quality indeed.



Nov 5, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add PJ Fish to your Buddy List  
Helmetfire
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 7, 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 0
Review Date: Sep 22, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: Small, very sharp & fast AF.
Cons:
Umm...



Sep 22, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Helmetfire to your Buddy List  
dkwp
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 22, 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 0
Review Date: Sep 2, 2008 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated

Pros: Light, sharp, cheap
Cons:
No internal zoom

Not sure if my previous post was successful. Here it is again.

A cheap lens, good enough for professional use. A must in every bag. I bought this lens for an assignment and the customer and myself were very happy with the results. If you want great quality on a budget this is the way to go.

Don

www.dkwildlifeimages.com


Sep 2, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add dkwp to your Buddy List  
dkwp
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 22, 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 0
Review Date: Sep 2, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Light, small, sharp, for the price you can not go wrong.
Cons:
No internal Zoom, but I guess it would cost a lot more with this feature

I bought this lens recently and used it for an assignment. The images came out just fine and the customer was very happy. There are better image quality lenses, but not by much. For the price this lens is great and it is good enough for professional work. I am very happy with my copy. I am sure there are some bad copies out there, luckily I do not have one of them.



Sep 2, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add dkwp to your Buddy List  
Marsupilami
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Apr 9, 2004
Location: Austria
Posts: 1
Review Date: Jun 19, 2008 Recommend? no | Price paid: $150.00 | Rating: 2 

Pros: cheap, lightweight
Cons:
only sharp beyond f5,6

Because of the good reviews, I bought this lens and was severly dissapointed. Unusable at open apertures it is only sharp beyond f5,6. Maybe Nikon should not build the cheap optics in China. This lens went back to the dealer .

Jun 19, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Marsupilami to your Buddy List  
lextalionis
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 28, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 1076
Review Date: Mar 1, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $110.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Best bang for the buck...just buy it...you won't be dissapointed.
Cons:
Build isn't as good as the 1.4 but good enough for $100

What's the difference between this one and the 1.4?

1. Price...about 3.3X cheaper.
2. Build quality a bit less over the 1.4
3. If you have a trained eye, then you'll notice harder bokeh highlights.

BUY IT!

Here are some sample taken with the Nikon D70:
Sample Photos

-Roy


Mar 1, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add lextalionis to your Buddy List  




Nikon 50mm f/1.8D AF Nikkor

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
48 123158 Jun 20, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
94% of reviewers $110.46
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
7.75
9.70
9.2
2137NCP_180


Page:  1 · 2 · 3  next