about | support
home
 

Search Used

Nikon 50mm f/1.8D AF Nikkor

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
48 122208 Jun 20, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
94% of reviewers $110.46
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
7.75
9.70
9.2
2137NCP_180

Specifications:
New D-type lens design provides distance information as part of flash and ambient light exposure processes

Classic normal lens provides speed and compact design

Multi-layer coating minimizes flare and ghosting

52mm filter size

Exceptionally lightweight and compact – ideal for travel photography

Stops down to f/22 for excellent depth-of-field control


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3  next
          
Don Farra
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 4, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Sep 10, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $114.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Represents excellent value, great general purpose portrait lens. Stopped down it becomes a sharp, well behaved lens, that can produce some high quality images. Resists flare when shooting into the sun during sunset.
Cons:
Some edge CA noticed when shooting wide open, which is correctable. Aperature and focusing ring a little stiff until they are broken in.

As a rule, I don't care much for 50mm lenses, but the effective focal length on my S5 is 75mm. When combined with F/1.8 the lens make this a great portrait lens. The depth of field is slightly greater compared to a full frame counterpart, but more than enough softness wide open to create pleasing available light portraits and candids images. The front element is recessed so there is little need for a lens hood (IMHO). There is no need to buy the 1.4 cousin, unless you make your living with it. This lens is must for any camera bag.

Sep 10, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Don Farra to your Buddy List  
MichaelBarkley
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Aug 17, 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 351
Review Date: Aug 17, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fast focus. f1.8! Bokeh Sharpness. Light Compact
Cons:
None come to mind!

This lens focusses very quickly I find, beautiful Bokeh, and very sharp esp at f8 ish, but with the f1.8 option, low light photography becomes more of a reality, and the true strength is in how creative this lets you become! I love primes, and this is one if not the most used lens in my collection.

It is also rediculously cheap, and rediculously good!

Reversed, it makes quite a good 1:1 macro lens, here is an image done by reversing:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v506/realmofspeed/macro1.jpg

This lens is simply a must buy for ANY photographer! Everyone should own a 50 prime!

Mike


Aug 17, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add MichaelBarkley to your Buddy List  
dave chilvers
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 11, 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1691
Review Date: Jun 11, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Light and cheap
Cons:
None

A superb portrait lens on the D200, top marks.

Jun 11, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add dave chilvers to your Buddy List  
Louis Otto
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: May 25, 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 0
Review Date: May 25, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharpness, optical quality overall, price
Cons:
Rear lens cap is a tupperware cap!

I've been wanting a good 50mm prime for some portrait work for ages, I must say this Nikkor lens has surpassed every single expectation I've had! It's sharpness is amazing, at f/1.8 you have a brilliant mix of centre sharpness and diffused softness. When stopped down to f/8 or 11 things really become tack sharp.

I don't see why people put this lens down on its 'plasticky feel' yes I will make it clear, it does feel plasticky, but well built. And you have to ask yourself, how much damage are you gonna put your equipment through? I'm fairly sure if I dropped this lens it would survive (it's pretty light). Also, at the price you're paying you could easily buy a replacement if it did break.

Autofocus is actually pretty loud for this little thing, louder than I first thought it would be, and the focussing ring is just smaller than I would have liked it but they're such negligble aspects that they won't affect my view of the lens!

Overall, highly recommended. I've had no problems and the results have always impressed me!


May 25, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Louis Otto to your Buddy List  
Joey Accardo
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 20, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 340
Review Date: Feb 7, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $95.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, Cheap, Relatively Fast, Small, Light, Fun to use
Cons:
Plasticky, Light, Small focus ring

I love this small lens. My only problems with it stem from the fact that I am a big guy, and this lens is quite tiny. That aside, it is great and the plastickyness (is that a word?) is just a side effect of the price and size and weight, and in my bag, that is something that I am willing to sacrifice. I would highly recomend this lens, I now keep two kits at the ready: All my stuff, and my d50 with a card and battery plus the 50mm. Great for street photography as it screams student/non pro. Also for portraiture on digital is is a 75mm f1.8, how great is that?

Feb 7, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Joey Accardo to your Buddy List  
DHJ.V
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 4, 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jan 4, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Price, f1.8, bokeh, sharpness
Cons:
none, you get more than what you pay for

This lens is a no-brainer: it should be in every Nikon owner's bag. I use it a lot and it's my favourite lens in stills since you can control the depth of focus really well with this lens. Images are really sharp from f/2.5-2.8 and above. I like the bokeh, but that's a personal issue. The build quality is what you pay for (it's not a tank, but plain plastic fantastic).

For a sample picture @ f/2.2, you can watch <a href=http://www.flickr.com/photos/dhjv/337927412/>here</a>.

Highly recommended.


Jan 4, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add DHJ.V to your Buddy List  
Avi B
Offline
Image Upload: On



Registered: Dec 7, 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 6931
Review Date: Dec 14, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Cheap. Fast. Sharp.
Cons:
Bokeh (background blur) could be less harsh. Feels cheap.

Did I say cheap? Dropped it on pavement once. Still okay.

Dec 14, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Avi B to your Buddy List  
Dave_D
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 19, 2006
Location: Philippines
Posts: 2
Review Date: Dec 4, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $100.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Price
Cons:
No internal AF motor

It's a nifty fifty.

I wouldn't use this wide open for portraits. It needs at least F2 to F2.8 to become reasonably sharp.

Unfortunately, it won't work on the D40 so newbies into the hobby will no longer have a nifty fifty.

I think Nikon has to put a internal focus motor already in this puppy to play catch up with Canon's own nifty fifty and allow newbies access to a cheap prime to hone their skills.


Dec 4, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Dave_D to your Buddy List  
wo0pPerjr
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 14, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Review Date: Nov 25, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $114.95 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: it's fast, it's small, it's sharp, it's great
Cons:
zero

I love this lens. It's f/1.8 so it works really well in low light. With digitals 1.5x crop factor it becomes a 75mm. I use it when ever I'm not using my Tokina 12-24 and need something midrange, with no distortions, and sharp as a tack.

Nov 25, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add wo0pPerjr to your Buddy List  
KrautFed
Offline
Buy and Sell: On

Registered: Sep 21, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 644
Review Date: Oct 6, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $110.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: ~$100 & 1.8
Cons:
I'm too busy smiling while taking pics with it to notice.

This is the best $100 I've spent for my camera, period. This lense should be in everyone's bag.

Oct 6, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add KrautFed to your Buddy List  
Halsmithromi
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jul 21, 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 0
Review Date: Sep 4, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: small, sharp, contrasty, great depth of field.
Cons:
none

I am glad I bought this lens. It is really amazing, considering its price and size. The first copy i got was sharp, though not tack sharp people were raving about on various review postes. The second copy is spot on. It is very sharp, has a great contrast, very nice bokeh, and reproduces color accurately.

Now I am spoiled with primes. I can't see why i need to use any other lens for the type of photography i do.
Very happy with it. I highly recommend it.

I wonder if there is a Japanese-made model of this lens!


Sep 4, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Halsmithromi to your Buddy List  
tehtarik
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Aug 2, 2006
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 0
Review Date: Aug 2, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent Sharp and DOF with excellent price......I like it very much...
Cons:
noisy AF.



Aug 2, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add tehtarik to your Buddy List  
panos.v
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Dec 15, 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4001
Review Date: Jul 19, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp, small, light, cheap, fast AF.
Cons:
Noisy AF, average construction.

This is an excellent lens. Very sharp, fast aperture, it is tiny and very light and very cheap. There really isn't anything bad in it. The AF is fast albeit a bit noisy and the construction is plasticky but for the price no complaints.

I think the only consideration is whether one needs a 50mm lens. In DX sensors 50mm, for me, is neither long enough (like a 85mm) nor short enough (like a 35mm). But if 50mm is what you want this lens is excellent!


Jul 19, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add panos.v to your Buddy List  
Fepa
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Apr 15, 2005
Location: Portugal
Posts: 84
Review Date: May 9, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very sharp and cheap
Cons:
none

It's cheap, fast, light and easy to use.
Highly recommended.


May 9, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Fepa to your Buddy List  
Drax240z
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Dec 28, 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 76
Review Date: Feb 9, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $123.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Price, image quality, weight, price, sharpness, price...
Cons:
A bit plasticy feeling. Rear cap included is pretty lousy.

If you don't have a 50/1.4 this is a must. You won't find a bigger bang for you buck!

Feb 9, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Drax240z to your Buddy List  
goletitout
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 17, 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 1
Review Date: Jan 17, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Small, light, very sharp, cheap.
Cons:
Not too sharp wide open (f1.8), but reasonably sharp at f2.5 and tack sharp at f4; made of plastic...but what to expect with such a price ?? The optics are superb, thatīs all that matters.

My first digital SLR lens. Iīve skipped the 18-55 when I bought my D50 2 months ago and went directly for the 50mm 1.8 as a good starter lens.

So far Iīm very very pleased with its results, and for the price, itīs an absolute bargain. Ok, the 75mm focal length can be strange or a little long in some situations (if itīs your one and only lens) but for portrait work, this little thing is a real winner. And if you seldem need that real wide angle or tele, it may suffice for some time. I love using it, because I know that I will really like the results it produces.

And: for THAT price itīs an absolute sensation, go for it !!!


Jan 17, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add goletitout to your Buddy List  

   



Nikon 50mm f/1.8D AF Nikkor

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
48 122208 Jun 20, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
94% of reviewers $110.46
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
7.75
9.70
9.2
2137NCP_180


Page:  1 · 2 · 3  next