about | support
home
 

Search Used

Nikon 50mm f/1.8 AF Nikkor

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
61 136735 Nov 12, 2012
Recommended By Average Price
100% of reviewers $105.02
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.26
9.85
9.5
1906NCP_180

Specifications:
An affordable Nikkor that combines the ease of autofocus operation with advanced Nikon optics.

Ideal for scenery or full-length portraits.

Weighs only 5.1 ounces.

Stops down to f/22 for additional depth of field control.


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4  next
      
Thomas Russ
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 7, 2006
Location: Austria
Posts: 14
Review Date: Sep 18, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $70.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: cheap, sharp, good portrait lens
Cons:
-

Very cheap, very sharp and very good performance at f4! Good portrait lens.

On of the best nikkor-lens I ever bought.


Sep 18, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Thomas Russ to your Buddy List  
dj dunzie
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Aug 14, 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 7020
Review Date: Sep 4, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $130.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Extremely sharp, good in low light, better built than I thought, unbeatable value.
Cons:
No true rear cap, no hood, no case.

I have no idea how the most affordable lens I've seen on the market produces such wonderful images. This lens is becoming the one I switch to for anytime I want to pull out the sharpest details mid-range. It is outstanding as a very-affordable "portrait" lens, and bang for the buck? HA! Nothing compares to this.

I have shot side-by-side now with the 18-70 and 18-200 VR at the 50mm range and this one CONSISTENTLY pulls out slightly better details at that range all the way from f4.5 to f22 in comparing the resulting images. I know it's not a truly fair comparison going up against zooms, but for a $130 lens, why not?

Despite some reports that it's not so finely crafted, I'd put this lens up against anything remotely close to it's price range for build quality, and CERTAINLY better than comparable Tamrons and Sigmas I've used. Autofocus is surprisingly quick and quiet too. OK, so it doesn't come with the soft nylon carrying case, a lens hood or a proper screw-on rear cap. And it seems to be slightly notchier mounting it than my other Nikkors. Those are nitpicks in the grand scheme.

I have nothing but compliments for this fantastic little bargain at this time, and a great new arsenal in my kit. And even after paying for it, I had to smile. Uncanny value for the money.


Sep 4, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add dj dunzie to your Buddy List  
tanglefoot47
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 12, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 14843
Review Date: Sep 1, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $120.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Fast, sharp, cheap
Cons:
What negative can one have for a $120 lens that shoots like a $500 or more lens

Man what a lens for the money there are non better. This lens is tack sharp, cheap and actually built pretty good.

Sep 1, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add tanglefoot47 to your Buddy List  
firewireguy
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 20, 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1436
Review Date: Aug 21, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: Light, cheap, f/1.8, only 52mm filter size so filters are cheap, front element does not rotate when focusing so circular polarisers are usable
Cons:
Very small and light when used to the 18-70mm Nikon but easy to get used to. Loud AF, attaching to the camera is a bit stiff, poor rear cap

The built quality could be better but it's more than adequate for those that don't make a habit of dropping things. The AF is noisey when it hunts.

This is my first prime lens and I've only been out shooting with it once but I really like it.

The small DoF is something I'll have to get used to but I can see myself using it a lot as I tend to like small DoF. It's been razor sharp at the aperatures I've used it at so far (1.8 - 11). The Bokeh is awesome, very smooth.

I got mine brand new imported form HK for only 70, and I got an awesome lens. Couldn't be happier with it.


Aug 21, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add firewireguy to your Buddy List  
dyel337
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 12, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1327
Review Date: Jul 30, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $110.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Cheap, fast AF for non AF-S lens, sharp, good low light shooting
Cons:
Soft at f/1.8, place for filters are far away from the front element so it's easy to get things like distortions in your shots when using a filter.

It's a great lens, and a must for all photographers. It's kinda soft at 1.8, but gets sharper until about f/4. At that point it incredibly sharp. I often use f/2 because it is noticably sharper than f/1.8, but, for the price it's more than wonderful. I recommend to all, if not this, the 1.4 version.

Jul 30, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add dyel337 to your Buddy List  
crosstrainer
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 7, 2006
Location: Philippines
Posts: 0
Review Date: May 19, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $80.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: cheap, sharp, lightweight, tough, ease of use, quick focus
Cons:
too small, making it tough to handle - a mere niggle

a 75mm f/1.8 lens on a DX sensor, with excellent semi-macro focusing abilities, with a decent AF speed, lovely bokeh and up to f/22?

what more can you ask for?

I got mine very slightly used for about $80 a few days after I got my D50, and I never looked back.

I've used this lens for food photography
http://www.flickr.com/photos/chewychua/sets/72057594139049244/

lots of fun portraits and badminton action shots, and it's never let me down, ever!

i bought a sigma 28mm f/1.8 to complement this, and i'm a happy prime shooter now.

It's quite tough, falling off my bag several times already, without any adverse effects at all. Sure it's plasticky, but it's tough enough to survive my clumsiness.

I'm just an average shooter, but i've fallen in love with this versatile lens.

Get this lens now, and be amazed with how lovely your shots will be. Flash or no flash.


May 19, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add crosstrainer to your Buddy List  
maciek
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Dec 29, 2005
Location: Poland
Posts: 0
Review Date: Dec 29, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $140.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: great optics, low price, quality seems ok too
Cons:
could be wider on DSLR ;)

I love 50mm lens.
I use some for my manual mamiya equipment. Using both F1.4 and F1.7 tought me one lesson - F1.4 has better aperture, but is less sharp at F1.4 - 2.8. Therefore, even though i have brilliant mamiya 50mm F1.4 lenses, i still use F1.7 ones.
Knowing that, and having a very limited budget the choice for my d70s was easy - 50mm F1.8 AF-D instead of F1.4 version

I could buy a used Japaneese one, but decided to get a new one, just for the pleasure of having it brand new Wink . The build quality is good enough for me, it is just as good as my 18-70DX lens, so what more may i need?

Of course it is far from my mamiya manual lens (CS and E bayonet) build quality, but nowadays everything seems to be cheaply made, so what can i do...

If Zeiss makes a better 50mm lens for nikon, i will buy it someday, but for now, this one is perfect.

optical quality is 10/10
build 8/10 - i have better ones at home, only they dont work with my d70s
price is 10/10 - its one of the cheapest, and the cheapest when comparing picture quality and price.


Dec 29, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add maciek to your Buddy List  
Jeremy Hua
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 5, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 169
Review Date: Dec 25, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $94.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Small, lightweight, and it really showed me what sharp images looked like. I can definitely tell a difference between the 18-70 kit lens, and this lens.
Cons:
Made of plastic.

I have always read about people saying this lens is "tack sharp", but I never bothered to purchase one. With Christmas approaching, I asked my sister to get me one for the holiday, and she did. Now I'm wondering why I waited so long because it is definitely a lens everyone should have in their bag.

Dec 25, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Jeremy Hua to your Buddy List  
supertonic
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Dec 3, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Review Date: Dec 3, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: Fast zoom, fast aperture, and the PRICE!
Cons:
For the price, you can't bitch.

Yeah, it's plastic, and it's not the most solid lens ever built, but for a measely 100 dollars you get an awesome low-light and portraiture lens. The zoom is really fast, and the noise isn't a big deal at all. This is a perfect beginner lens, and for the price, you can't go wrong. Unless you really need f/1.4, if you're in the market for a nice 50mm lens, buy this.

Dec 3, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add supertonic to your Buddy List  
azenis
Offline
Image Upload: On



Registered: Aug 4, 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 447
Review Date: Nov 14, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $80.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Sharp. Dirt Cheap. f/1.8!
Cons:
None for its price. Maybe a more quiet focusing would be nice

The one I got is the old batch MIJ (New ones I believe are made somewhere else). The lens is RAZOR SHARP beyond f4. But even @ F1.8 it's an amazing lens.

An excellent portrait lens after the crop factor (75mm in 35mm) and it bokeh very soft. Very smooth to my eyes.

A must have bargain lens for any Nikon shooter.


Nov 14, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add azenis to your Buddy List  
jmfitch
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jun 24, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jun 24, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: Speed; sharpness.
Cons:
Not a zoom!

This is the must-have prime for anyone even thinking of being a serious photographer. It's cheap, fast, and razor-sharp. Buy one. Now.

Jun 24, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add jmfitch to your Buddy List  
fxcreatography
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 5, 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 0
Review Date: Mar 5, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: sharp, cheap, small, lightweight, classic handling
Cons:
noisy AF

I bought this lens in a time i didnt have that much money available for photography due to the fact that i just got myself my D70.

First i thought this would be only a temporary lens for me but now i use it even more then my bundle 18-70 which just doesnt provide the f-stops i want.

Let's cut the foreplay, this lens is among 1 or 2 others the best thing you can get for the money: the sharpness at f/2.8 is adorable, color response is great to, no visible vignetting with a DSLR with x1.5 crop.

Of course it's not as versatile as a zoom but considering the great pictures i have this babe mounted more often then my 18-70 DX zoom...

The only thing that can be annoying is the AF which is really kinda loud and if you use it at theatre or concert ( and its not a rock thing but classical =) it may force you to go back to the good old days and use the excellent MF ring =) Ah, another thing which could maybe counted as not that superbe.. you cant de-attach the focus ring like you can e.g. with the sigma primes.. that means you cant really hold the cam with one hand on the (already small) lens without getting your fingers brushed :-P

But these are all tiny little dirt spots on an overall superbe, "its-damn-worth-the-money", lens.

Go and get yours!!


Mar 5, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add fxcreatography to your Buddy List  
rafadavidc
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 2, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 800
Review Date: Mar 3, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

Pros: sharp, fast, small, light, good color, contrast
Cons:
cheap plastic build, slow-ish focus

can't beat it for the price. great glass, very lightweight.

feels cheap (because it is). focus could be faster for such a short travel, but this thing was introduced with the am200, so i doubt nikon knew how to make it fast.

--RC


Mar 3, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add rafadavidc to your Buddy List  
skhan
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Feb 19, 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1
Review Date: Feb 19, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: Absolutely beautiful lens. Sharp, sharper than the 1.4 version, one of Nikon's sharpest!
Cons:
Poor built quality



Feb 19, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add skhan to your Buddy List  
foxXx
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 28, 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 203
Review Date: Jan 20, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $150.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Sharp, Nice Colour, Built Nicely, Fairly Fast.
Cons:
Could be a bit faster, but still good.

Really solid lens, I was quite happy with it when I purchased it with my D70. I don't believe with the 1.5 crop that this lens is awkward. Its really nice for portrait shots at 75mm, and I have used it alot of BMX and Snowboarding shots, Im really happy with this lens, I think its a must have.

Jan 20, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add foxXx to your Buddy List  
Kari Post
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 9, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 660
Review Date: Jan 10, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $90.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Sharp, fast, inexpensive, lightweight
Cons:
None that I can think of

I bought this lens as a fast lens for shooting indoors in low light situations. I've found it to be a very compact and superb optical piece. Since I shoot mostly sports and wildlife, I rarely have a use for a 50mm lens (even with the 1.5x factor on my Nikon D70), but there are times that I need something fast for low light conditions and this is the only lens that will do. I've used it to shoot sports with ambient light in very poorly lit gyms that without this piece, I would have been unable to shoot in, even at 1600 ISO.

It is well worth the money, at less than $100, this lens is a great optical piece that is just good to have. I don't think spending several times the cost of this lens on the f/1.4 version is really going to be of an advantage to anyone. I would really love to have an 85mm f/1.8, but this guy works for me for now. I would strongly recommend this lens -- with its sharpness, light weight, speed, and durability being of Nikon quality and engineering, you really can't go wrong at under $100 for this piece. Even if it just sits in your camera bag unused most of the time, like mine, it is so small and light you won't even know its there until you need it as a lifesaver in a situation where nothing else works.


Jan 10, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Kari Post to your Buddy List  




Nikon 50mm f/1.8 AF Nikkor

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
61 136735 Nov 12, 2012
Recommended By Average Price
100% of reviewers $105.02
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.26
9.85
9.5
1906NCP_180


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4  next