backup
Photoshop actions
 
 

Search Used

Sony FE 16-35mm f/4 ZA OSS Zeiss Vario-Tessar T* SEL1635Z

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
4 9325 Oct 29, 2016
Recommended By Average Price
100% of reviewers $1,192.00
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.50
7.75
8.8
fe1635

Specifications:
Focal Length: 16 - 35mm
APS Equivalent: 24 - 52.5mm
Max Aperture: f/4
Min Aperture: f/22
Diaphragm Blades: 7 (circular)
Lens Construction: 12 elements in 10 groups, including 3 ED and 5 aspherical elements
Diagonal Angle of View
(Based on image circle): 107 to 63 degrees
Focus Details: Internal; SSM (Super Sonic wave Motor) with Focus Hold button and Auto Clutch
Front Element Rotation: No
Zoom System: Rotary
Closest Focus: 28cm / 11 in.
Magnification Ratio: 0.19x / 1:5.3
Filter Size: 72mm
Dimensions
(Length x Diameter): 98.5mm x 78mm / 4.0 in. x 3.3 in.
Weight: 518g / 18.3 oz
Notes: Sony E-mount; Image Stabilized; Dust and moisture resistant; Included Accessories: Lens hood, carrying case


 


          
PrecisionPhoto
Offline
Image Upload: On



Registered: Oct 4, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 2716
Review Date: Oct 29, 2016 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent colors, very sharp to the corners, fast zoom movement
Cons:
None

Sony makes some of the best zoom lenses that act more like primes.
The resolution is wonderful and sharp to the corners
Colors are excellent and weight and size are perfect for what it is


Oct 29, 2016
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add PrecisionPhoto to your Buddy List  
Carles77
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Sep 19, 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jun 15, 2015 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,036.00 | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: sharp, corners, nice fit on A7, weight it's OK
Cons:
colours on a7r... Too green, the f/4 of course!

After a year of use it I sold it. Just because colors tend to be very greenish on a A7r and also transitions from lights to shadows are not very natural. I think my old canon 16-35ii produces better colors and more natural imatges althought the sony is sharper in the corners of course. I haven't found yet any sony lens nor zoom neither primes than can compete with L lenses or zeiss lenses in giving a natural feeling imatges. Anyway it's the best angular zoom for the sony right now...

Jun 15, 2015
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Carles77 to your Buddy List  
Sami Ruusunen
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 29, 2010
Location: Finland
Posts: 720
Review Date: Mar 18, 2015 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: resolution at wide end, built like a tank
Cons:
"only" f4, price, (size/weight), not that great @35mm

If you need a ultrawide this is a must lens on A7 line. Great image quality at the wide end (16-20mm). Lens is not optimized for the long end but is usable when stopped down. Built quality and the feel is probably the best I've seen in af lenses ever. Someone might complain about the size but I assume more compact build would require more exotic (and more expensive) glass.

Mar 18, 2015
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Sami Ruusunen to your Buddy List  
Fred Miranda
Online
Admin
Image Upload: On



Registered: Dec 30, 2001
Location: United States
Posts: 25837
Review Date: Dec 13, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,348.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: High IQ, compact, OSS, build-quality
Cons:
fly-by-wire focusing. Yuck!

I tested the FE 16-35 f/4 OSS today and I'm impressed. The lens seems to be optimized for the widest range.
Micro-contrast, color and resolution are top notch from center to corner even wide open. That proved to me that the A7R/A7RII is capable of great resolution at ultra-wide-angles even in the corners when the lens is optimized for the body.

To get the maximum resolution from this lens center to corners, all you need to do is step down to f/5.6. This is mainly because of the noticeable field curvature when shooting wide open.

At f/8 there are no visible changes except for a slight loss of micro-contrast.

The same goes for 20-24mm with only a tiny bit less resolution.
At 28mm I need to step down to f/6.3 for best corners and at 35mm f/9.

At infinity distances,
f/5.6 seems to be this lens sweet spot from 16 until 24mm.
f/6.3 for 28mm
f/9 for 35mm

It's a great landscape lens.


Dec 13, 2014
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Fred Miranda to your Buddy List  

   



Sony FE 16-35mm f/4 ZA OSS Zeiss Vario-Tessar T* SEL1635Z

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
4 9325 Oct 29, 2016
Recommended By Average Price
100% of reviewers $1,192.00
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.50
7.75
8.8
fe1635