about | support
home
 

Search Used

Nikon 35mm f/2D AF Nikkor

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
38 125840 Mar 1, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
97% of reviewers $279.52
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.52
8.97
9.3
1923NCP_180

Specifications:
Versatile wide-angle lens for a broad range of uses.
Perfect lens for the photographer on the go.
Fast f/2 maximum aperture make this ideal for low light, hand-held shooting.

more info from Nikon

A popular choice for travel photography and candids, the 35mm f/2D AF Nikkor offers autofocus capability, plus 62 picture coverage, additional depth of field and a wide maximum aperture. Compact size, light weight. Accepts 52mm filters; HN-3 lens hood.

Note! AF not supported by D40 and D60 cameras.
Filter Size 52mm
f/Stop Range 2.0-22
Minimum Focus Distance 10.2"
Magnification 1:4.2
Angle of View 62 Degrees
Groups/Elements 5/6
Length 1.7"
Maximum Diameter 2.5"
Weight 0.45 lb
Usable Nikon Teleconverter TC-201 or TC-14a (manual focus only)


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 
      
deadkenny
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jul 2, 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jul 2, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $360.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Fast focus, sharp, very light and small. Perfect "normal" lens for non-full-frame DSLRs.
Cons:
Not as quiet as an AF-S. Expensive compared to the Nikkor 50mm f/1.8.

I've been using this lens more and more as a general walk around lens rather than relying on zooms like the 18-70 DX (which is a very good lens, just not as fast as this lens and heavier). It does a great job and can continue shooting long into the evening when light is failing. With the typical crop on a DSLR this lens is approximately the same field of view as a 50mm lens, so it becomes the ideal "normal" lens, though sadly more expensive (especially in the UK).

Has been good for city-scape shots and even with a DSLR it's got a fair amount of width on it.

Handy to use with a polariser too as with such a fast lens you've got more room to play with at the max aperture.

By the way, the front element does not rotate. The focus ring does, but not the front thread, so polarisers are fine with this.


Jul 2, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add deadkenny to your Buddy List  
phiggys
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 7, 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 25
Review Date: Oct 30, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $140.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Superb image quality and value for money reasonably fast at F2.0
Cons:
None !

This was the 2nd Nikon prime lens that I purchased after the AF 50mm f1.8 and it complements it perfectly.
It makes a good standard lens on a digital body giving you a little over 50mm in focal length.


Oct 30, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add phiggys to your Buddy List  
Chipouille
Offline
[ X ]



Registered: Sep 10, 2004
Location: Afghanistan
Posts: 206
Review Date: Sep 17, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Really sharp even wide open, cheap, excellent value, almost macro focussing capacity.
Cons:
Construction quality could be a bit higher, beware of violent backlights.

This is a very nice lens, sharp and bright, light ; AF is fast, if not completely silent.
It's able to focus really close, but then it's optical quality wide open tends to soften a little. There is no CRC as in the 35/2 ai-s. It is not as sharp in the edges and corners as his old ai-s brother. But the center is amazingly sharp at every aperture ! Perfection corner-to-corner begins at 2.8, just one stop down.

I really love this lens, it is so small, it's angle is perfect for me, and it's so cheap !!.

Just buy one. It's also perfectly sharp in digital, becoming a nice 52 f/2 mm.


Sep 17, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Chipouille to your Buddy List  
MoxieMike
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 17, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 181
Review Date: Jun 17, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $289.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Sharp! Sharp! Sharp! Excellent color rendition. Contrasty. Sharp at f2.0 even! No distortion. Bright. Definitely my favorite lens.
Cons:
None whatsoever.

I got this lens to fill a gap in my kit for events/party photography. i found that my 12-24 has too much odd distortion at times to really be a workhorse in that realm (close-ish crops of 3-4 people) and that the 50 1.8 was a bit too long. So i snagged this lens. And boy do I not regret it! Thought about picking up the Sigma 24-70 and may still do so, but for now, wow! It's light, inexpensive, and has some great qualities. Buy it. ASAP.

Jun 17, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add MoxieMike to your Buddy List  
seyhun
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 24, 2004
Location: Turkey
Posts: 11
Review Date: Mar 25, 2004 Recommend? no | Price paid: $240.00 | Rating: 6 

Pros: Makes approximately 50 mm on a dSLR. F:2.0 is acceptable. Quite sharp.
Cons:
When used with available light outside, watch out for bright spots. You will end up havin 2 of each, the reflection being RED in color, in a point on the photo that may kill all the scene..

Can't recommend. I prefer the Sigma 28 mm 1.8 most of the time.

Mar 25, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add seyhun to your Buddy List  
dvirr
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 12, 2002
Location: Israel
Posts: 550
Review Date: Mar 30, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $170.00 | Rating: 8 

Pros: Tack sharp and light
Cons:
No AF-S, Front ring rotates when focusing

I mainly bought this lens for use in low light situations when shooting indoors. I've used it successfully even in candle-lit situations.
Overall a great lens, and does exactly what I wanted it to do.


Mar 30, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add dvirr to your Buddy List  




Nikon 35mm f/2D AF Nikkor

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
38 125840 Mar 1, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
97% of reviewers $279.52
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.52
8.97
9.3
1923NCP_180


Page:  1 · 2 · 3