about | support
home
 

Search Used

Nikon 35mm f/2D AF Nikkor

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
38 124832 Mar 1, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
97% of reviewers $279.52
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.52
8.97
9.3
1923NCP_180

Specifications:
Versatile wide-angle lens for a broad range of uses.
Perfect lens for the photographer on the go.
Fast f/2 maximum aperture make this ideal for low light, hand-held shooting.

more info from Nikon

A popular choice for travel photography and candids, the 35mm f/2D AF Nikkor offers autofocus capability, plus 62 picture coverage, additional depth of field and a wide maximum aperture. Compact size, light weight. Accepts 52mm filters; HN-3 lens hood.

Note! AF not supported by D40 and D60 cameras.
Filter Size 52mm
f/Stop Range 2.0-22
Minimum Focus Distance 10.2"
Magnification 1:4.2
Angle of View 62 Degrees
Groups/Elements 5/6
Length 1.7"
Maximum Diameter 2.5"
Weight 0.45 lb
Usable Nikon Teleconverter TC-201 or TC-14a (manual focus only)


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3  next
      
Gregory.Rotter
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 13, 2008
Location: Greece
Posts: 2338
Review Date: Nov 29, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: Light, Excellent minimum focusing distance, F2, close to standard 50mm on APSC DSLR
Cons:
A bit plasticy

This is my first prime lens since I've got my D80. This lens is brilliant. It's size and I.Q are top notch. F2 is a little soft as expected, but by f2.8 its tack sharp. I could have gone for the 50mm f1.8, but I figured I'd just be kicking myself every time I was in an enclosed space and had to back up more just to get what I was seeing into the frame. The 35mm on APSC is more of a standard lens than the 50mm and that is what makes this lens so great.

The thing I love most about this lens it its minimum focusing distance, at around 15cm from front of lens. Sweet Smile

Overall nothing really negative I can say about this puppy. Feels a tad plasticy, but more than makes up for that with what it produces.


Nov 29, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Gregory.Rotter to your Buddy List  
kreativbuero
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Nov 8, 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 4
Review Date: Nov 8, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: classic view on FX, very nice quality stopped down, unobtrusive
Cons:
slower AF, a little soft wide open



Nov 8, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add kreativbuero to your Buddy List  
misanthropic a
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 26, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 448
Review Date: Oct 22, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $280.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Great lens on full-frame, sharp as a tack from wide-open onward. Good price and great performance, just as sharp as the 50mm F1.8.
Cons:
Slower AF than the USM Canon equiv, though for a screw-drive lens its quick. No hood included, but the optional metal hood is bullet-proof (could even be literally!).

Originally purchased this out of curiosity, as I had never used a 35 before, always either a 24 or a 50. After using it for awhile now, it barely ever leaves my D700 anymore, this is the ultimate walk-around lens for me. I bring this and an AI-S 50mm for the ultimate pocketable( at least the lens') for street work. I can't forsee ever selling this little gem, it is a superb lens at an incredible price.
OOF areas are fairly smooth, not Rokkor 58 F1.2 good, but no slouch either. Looks better to these eyes than the 50mm F1.8 or 1.4.


Oct 22, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add misanthropic a to your Buddy List  
condrup.eu
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jul 20, 2006
Location: Denmark
Posts: 38
Review Date: Apr 13, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $525.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Sharp, sharp, sharp, f/2.0, lightweight, feels solid.
Cons:
No lenshood, AF not so fast.


Just switched from Canon EOS 1Ds Mark II to Nikon D3. I am used to have the 24-70mm f/2.8 lens, but felt like going "prime" a bit more from now on.

This 35mm is sweet. First of all, i love the 35mm, its a good "wideangle", it produces very sharp shots and it is easy to work with. Its a mix of plastic and metal, the mount is metal though and it feels solid build and at the same time lightweight.

AF works fine, though a bit slow sometimes, nothing crucial. When using manual focusing, its easy to use.

All in all a great all-round day lens that produces very sharp results and are easy to carry around.

Overall: 10 Build: 9 Price: 10


Apr 13, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add condrup.eu to your Buddy List  
martyn.
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 29, 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 324
Review Date: Mar 15, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Sharp, rich vibrant colours, great contrast, close focus 10", fast and lightweight
Cons:
None

Great value for money, the images this lens produces are superb.

Mar 15, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add martyn. to your Buddy List  
PJ Fish
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Nov 24, 2006
Location: Denmark
Posts: 18
Review Date: Feb 9, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $200.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Sharp sharp and contrasty fast lens witth a super good bokeh and feel.
Cons:
To light and a little fragile .

This lens is very sharp from 2,8 and onwards i feel its sharper than a samurai sword and worth every dime.
Now that the Nikon FX FF is going to be the standard in the future the demand will rice definitely!
An the lens is a great competitor to a 17-35 or alike ,and only cost a fraction ! go and get one before Nikon set the price up!

Its a super good valuce for money and a super cool classic Photo journalist format = the 35 mm f 2!



Feb 9, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add PJ Fish to your Buddy List  
Mark Kenfield
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Aug 24, 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 920
Review Date: Jan 29, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: Small, sharp, flat perspective, lovely bokeh.
Cons:
Expensive for a standard prime (on DX format)

Bought mine used off ebay. A bit of wear-and-tear on the barrel but the glass is mint.

This is the first Nikon lens I've ever bought, I got it for my new D300 to act as a standard prime and they make a lovely couple. The lens is very sharp, quite compact, has very appealing bokeh and a very flat perspective - which combined with fast auto-focus and a handy focal length (equivalent to about 53mm on FX) make it ideal as a standard prime.

My only real gripe with the lens is that it's pretty expensive for a standard prime that's only f2, though since that's a DX conundrum I can't really hold it against the lens itself.

Highly recommended.



Jan 29, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Mark Kenfield to your Buddy List  
ray_lam5
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 18, 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 71
Review Date: Jan 23, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $260.00 | Rating: 8 

Pros: small, light, fast motor
Cons:
Soft at F2 until F4.

I owned the equivilent canon and found the canon to be sharper and produce better results. Without running scientific I'd still rate the buzzy canon as a better lens although this does focus faster and quiter. My copy is quite soft at f2 maybe due to the shallow depth of field and my nikons poor AF. At F4 the lens is sharp across the board.I tend to rely on a flash unit internally to get acceptable shots so not sure if this lens is useful as fast glass for low light photography.

Is it worth 3 times the amount of a 50mm f1.8? Im not so sure however the focal length is useful on a crop and these tend to keep their value well. Still a pretty nice lens to have in your bag for lightweight descreet photography.


Jan 23, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add ray_lam5 to your Buddy List  
radiodenver
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 4, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 490
Review Date: Jan 17, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $290.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Light, inexpensive, sharp
Cons:
Corners a little soft on full frame.

Purchased this lens for my D300 kit. Plastic build is not a concern, seems robust enough. Sharp wide open, stays sharp. I tested it on full frame and it gets a little soft in the corners but on the DX body, it should not be a factor. Autofocus is quiet and fairly fast. Manual focus is smooth. Bokeh is pretty good. For the money paid, it's a very good lens.

Jan 17, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add radiodenver to your Buddy List  
Andrei Todea
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Apr 17, 2007
Location: Romania
Posts: 3
Review Date: Oct 15, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: very sharp, good contrast, autofocus quite fast and accurate
Cons:
none (ok, maybe no AFS)

It's very sharp even at f/2.
Don't care too much for the lack of AFS because focusing is fast anyway and it doesn't make too much noise.
The contrast is excellent.
The DOF is so good it can be used also as a portrait lens (also beause minimum focusing distance is very short, just 0.25m)

The only bad thng about it (it's not it's fault though Smile) is that 35mm is a little to long for a "standard" lens on DX format. I think 30mm would have been much better. But this lens was designed before DX and maybe it will even outlive it.

It's a great lens and I highly recommend it!


Oct 15, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Andrei Todea to your Buddy List  
E. Amador
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Sep 6, 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 0
Review Date: Sep 6, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: Light, small, fast, sharp above 2.8, Great build quality, a bargain !
Cons:
Soft wide open.

This lens is made in Japan. The quality of the build is very good. The QC is higher and it is hard I think to have a bad copy of this lens.
That's a lens you can order on internet, it is a sure value.

It is in my view the best way to have a sharp fast standard equivalent lens on a DX sensor.

The minimal focusing distance is about 20 cm.

Go for it, it is a gem !


Sep 6, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add E. Amador to your Buddy List  
Andrej Sijka
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 2, 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 0
Review Date: May 2, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: ..as williamkazak said this lens looks sharper then 50mm f/1.4, I like it!!!
Cons:
bit noisy? Not too much, try Sigma lens. It doesn't matter.

it is a very nice portrait lens..

May 2, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Andrej Sijka to your Buddy List  
jjchones
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Aug 16, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 69
Review Date: Jan 21, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $329.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Sharp, great color.
Cons:

Just picked this up a few weeks ago and has become one of my favorites. Did a photo-shoot with it (commercial) under controlled lighting (elinchroms) and was amazed at the color and how sharp it is. Great lens for the money......I'll never sell this one!

Jan 21, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add jjchones to your Buddy List  
daliangr
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Feb 16, 2006
Location: Greece
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jan 3, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: one of the best nikon lens,very sharp,light,fast focus,natural color
Cons:
none



Jan 3, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add daliangr to your Buddy List  
williamkazak
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 8, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 6299
Review Date: Jun 9, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $450.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Compactand an essential focal length,good close focus ability,very little flare and works on film and digital.
Cons:
A little pricey but you do get what you pay for with this one.Could be F1.4 with CRC.

This lens seems sharper than my AF-50mm F1.4.Also,less flare.This is a perfect normal lens on the D70.Nice wide angle for film.This is nice to use at a dark reception.Carry it at all times.

Jun 9, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add williamkazak to your Buddy List  
paparazzinick
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 8, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 7392
Review Date: Feb 7, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $200.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: light, small, fast focus, sharp, good price
Cons:
only f2, wish it was 1.8 or 1.4

I got this brand new the other day and I love it. I got it for wedding work, as one of my main lenses and this is by far one of my sharpest lenses in my bag.

I had a Canon version of it and the Canon was sharp, but this one blows it away. I dont know if it is just the sensor on the Camera that is making my pcis this sharp and have such right colors, but this is one heck of a lens.

I would definately recommend this to anyone who loves primes.



Feb 7, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add paparazzinick to your Buddy List  




Nikon 35mm f/2D AF Nikkor

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
38 124832 Mar 1, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
97% of reviewers $279.52
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.52
8.97
9.3
1923NCP_180


Page:  1 · 2 · 3  next