about | support
home
 

Search Used

Nikon 18mm f/2.8D AF Nikkor

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
6 48887 Nov 13, 2011
Recommended By Average Price
83% of reviewers $572.50
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.40
7.00
8.8
1911NAS_180

Specifications:
Ultra wide angle lens with Aspherical lens element and rear focusing capability provides outstanding image correction / quality suitable for architecture and landscape photography

Center-to-edge sharpness is superb, with excellent control of distortion and aberration.

Advanced optical system minimizes coma even at maximum aperture


 


          
fotojev
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 13, 2010
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 24
Review Date: Nov 13, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Light weight, very compact, fast, good IQ.
Cons:
Rotation of grip at AF, no weather sealing, not so good hood.

This lens I use a lot. The reach on FF is very nice for indoor photography. But also outside it is very usable. This length is difficult to master. Everything at close is overly large.

The premium of this lens is it's compactness and speed. I had the 14-24mm first and that lens is way to heavy for me and very vulnerable.

The lens hood comes loose too quickly and can ruin the image. Also the hood is narrow and therefor the lens front is exposed. I use a filter all the time.

In the longer term I may replace it with something else but I would not know what. Maybe the 16-35mm but that is such a big lens. For now I use it and use it frequently with pleasure!


Nov 13, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add fotojev to your Buddy List  
thedruid
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Dec 1, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 1453
Review Date: Dec 27, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $645.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Size, performance, weight.
Cons:
Price even used is high unless you get a private sale

Bought this lens as a lightweight alternative to my 17-35 AFS....you can literally put this one in your coat pocket and along with a D700/24-10VR have a nice lightweight FX travel kit. So far I've been impressed, after reading a lot of bad reviews I've been pleasantly surprised by the image quality I'm getting form this lens. I use it under demanding conditions at dusk in city where flare is a big issue normally.

Dec 27, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add thedruid to your Buddy List  
ISO1600
Offline
Image Upload: On



Registered: Jul 6, 2005
Location: Korea, South
Posts: 4388
Review Date: Jul 24, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Size, AF Speed, max ap. of 2.8, performance.
Cons:
Cost (retail price), can be difficult to find used, the hood (HB-18) is extremely difficult to find.

My first Nikkor 18mm was the (great) f3.5 AIS... i loved it, but wanted more speed... I eventually found one of these (2.8 AF-D) for sale from a buddy for $200, bought it and never looked back.
This is the only 18mm f2.8 AF prime out there (right?), and it fills that void nicely. The size is just right, the focus is super fast, i like that it's a 2.8, and the glass is just great. I liked it so much i got a second copy recently for $325....

Yes, i have two copies for a total of $525. If you look around, you can find them for cheap sometimes- but it is worth the wait.


Jul 24, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add ISO1600 to your Buddy List  
PhotoproX
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Apr 6, 2007
Location: Albania
Posts: 0
Review Date: Sep 21, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $500.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:

The list price of this lens is crazy but you can get it used for far less and its worth it. I do see spherical aberration on my digital bodies which is corrected easily (one click) in Nikon Capture. Other than that, this lens is very sharp from f2.8 and gets perfect stopped down.

A Nikon classic for me!


Sep 21, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add PhotoproX to your Buddy List  
rehnniar
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Feb 22, 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 30
Review Date: Oct 23, 2005 Recommend? no | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: sharp and contrasty, but not more than the older 20/3,5 manual lense.
Cons:
expensive. although nikon claims it for architectural use, it has way toomuch moustache distortion, of the form which is not to remove good enough with any tool in the market. at least no lense for architecture, as the other ultrawides from nikon also.



Oct 23, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add rehnniar to your Buddy List  
mpal
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jun 14, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Review Date: Oct 9, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: The lens is much improved from the early manual focus 18mm F/4 and 18mm F/3.5 versions. As a lens for the Nikon DSLR, it performs very effectively as a 27mm wide angle lens (35mm basis). Contrast and color is better than most zooms that cover this range. Sharp, with good glare control. Good at F/2.8, too.
Cons:
Lens hood does cause some light loss. I do not use it normally.

Nice second prime lens to have for general photography.


Oct 9, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add mpal to your Buddy List  

   



Nikon 18mm f/2.8D AF Nikkor

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
6 48887 Nov 13, 2011
Recommended By Average Price
83% of reviewers $572.50
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.40
7.00
8.8
1911NAS_180