about | support
home
 

Search Used

Nikon 14mm f/2.8D ED AF Nikkor

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
7 89685 Nov 9, 2012
Recommended By Average Price
86% of reviewers $1,400.00
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.67
8.67
8.9
1925NAS_180

Specifications:
With its 114 picture angle and f/2.8 fast aperture, this lens offers dramatic angle of view in demanding situations.
Extra Low Dispersion glass and two Aspheric lens elements ensure superior image quality and compact design.
Built-in filter holder accepts gelatin filters.
Filter Size Built-in gelatin filter holder provided at rear of lens

f/Stop Range 2.8-22
Minimum Focus Distance 8" (20.32cm)
Magnification 0.15x
Zoom/Focus Control N/A
Angle of View FX format: 114
DX format: 90
APS: 102
Compatible Formats FX
DX
FX in DX Crop Mode
35mm Film
Groups/Elements 14/12
1 x ED glass element
2 x Aspherical elements
Number of Blades 7
Tripod Collar No
Dimensions (Diam. x L) Approx. 3.4 x 3.4" (87 x 87mm)
Weight Approx. 23.6 oz (670 g)


 


      
Oskar
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 16, 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 0
Review Date: Nov 9, 2012 Recommend? no | Price paid: $1,700.00 | Rating: 4 

Pros: It's wide ,sharp above 5.6 only.
Cons:
Heavy. Not sharp under 5.6 , easy to scratch Not what it cracked up to be. Why bother making a 2.8 when it is very soft At that setting but really it is a landscape lens So F8 up it is great.



Nov 9, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Oskar to your Buddy List  
Digital Gold
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Apr 17, 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Apr 17, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

Pros: Sharp, Ultra Wide (on FF), Fast Motor, Drop in rear filters.
Cons:
a bit soft at wide open.

So I purchased this lens for a lot of my hotel photography shot before I bought the 14-24mm zoom version of this lens. To be perfectly honest, I dont notice much of a difference in sharpness and image quality between the 14-24mm and this 14mm prime. For that reason I would recommend spending the money on the zoom version of this lens. Also, 14mm on a full frame sensor is mega wide and may be too wide for most.

To see some examples of photos taken with this lens please visit my website and photography blog: http://digitalgoldphotography.com

Feel free to reach out to me with any specific questions.


Apr 17, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Digital Gold to your Buddy List  
GreenTeaSuicid
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 25, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 158
Review Date: Jun 30, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Amazing angles, fast, fancy pants
Cons:
the constant fear of scratching the bubble of glass, the lens cover thing...

Ok so let me start off by saying that I did not pay for this lens, well not entirely...

A fellow on Craigslist had it paired with his D300 and was asking to trade with someone for a 17-55mm 2.8. I had recently moved up to the D700 so the trade was an easy and a well worth one at that.

So the lens...
-I never shot that wide, even at 17mm the crop frame of the DX was a bit limiting and you didn't always get that wide feeling. With this lens it is amazing. The lens picks up so much in such a small distance. You can literally hold the lens inches from the face of your subject and get an awesome portrait.

-The build quality is amazing, It feels like a "tank" as soon as it is on, and the metal hood is a plus. The "bubble" is still scary at times since I do carry my camera around everywhere.

-All in all, the straight lines stay straight and the curved lines stay curved. If your on a full frame body and want a wide lens that is going to not only shock and awe your views but is a blast to shoot with also...get this lens. I would have paid the full price for this lens hands down. it is just right...


Jun 30, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add GreenTeaSuicid to your Buddy List  
avfoto
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 12, 2007
Location: Spain
Posts: 5
Review Date: Mar 13, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Wide enough on my crop bodies, sharp side to side. Flareless.
Cons:
None.

I get a nice wide view on my 1.5 bodies which is OK at the moment, I would like to see it work on the FF bodies Nikon will have to do.

Martin
www.avfotografia.es


Mar 13, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add avfoto to your Buddy List  
Doug Quance
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 6, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 3038
Review Date: Nov 15, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,400.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: As a rectilinear lens, it performs extremely well particularly when shooting architecture. Sharp corner to corner. Very good with flare - I've shot into the sun many times with amazing results. Built like a tank. You could drive nails with this lens!
Cons:
It is expensive, and it is heavy.

I purchased this lens as a wide angle to do architectural interiors and exteriors. On a 1.5 crop factor digital, I wish it was just a little wider... but it does all that I need it to do.

The build quality is very good, and you can get so close to the subject - you have to be careful not to bump into the subject with that big bubble front lens.

It controls flare very well for a superwide, though as some angles you will get to flare. Into the sun it performs very well.

This lens isn't as fun as a fish... but it is still fun to use. Because of the cost, you may have to justify your need/want for this lens. I needed it - therefore I could justify it... but if I didn't, I would've bought the 12-24 instead.


Nov 15, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Doug Quance to your Buddy List  
phiggys
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 7, 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 25
Review Date: Oct 30, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,100.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Ultra-wide field of view on 35mm film camera and good on digital. Superb build and optical quality.
Cons:
Big,Heavy and expensive. But quality usually is !

Purchased this lens as I missed not having a real wide angle for my digital SLR.
Have since purchased Nikons AFD 16mm f2.8 fisheye and the 14mm has stayed at home since :-(


Oct 30, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add phiggys to your Buddy List  
JonCanfield
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Aug 15, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 2851
Review Date: Apr 25, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,400.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Awesome coverage on 35mm, true wide angle on digital. Great build quality, very little flair problem, good corner sharpness
Cons:
Heavy, expensive

I looked at the Nikon and the Sigma 14mm before buying. The Nikon was so much better with flair and edge sharpness. Even though it cost twice as much, it's worth it. The lens is big and heavy. If you shoot exclusively digital, it might be worth waiting for the 12-24 DX lens. If you shoot wide angle, for now this is the best thing out there!

Apr 25, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add JonCanfield to your Buddy List  




Nikon 14mm f/2.8D ED AF Nikkor

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
7 89685 Nov 9, 2012
Recommended By Average Price
86% of reviewers $1,400.00
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.67
8.67
8.9
1925NAS_180