backup
Photoshop actions
 
 

Search Used

Tamron 150-600MM F/5-6.3 DI VC USD

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
20 21478 Jan 14, 2015
Recommended By Average Price
65% of reviewers $1,087.71
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.10
9.50
7.3
884479

Specifications:
Focal Length: 150-600mm
Maximum Aperture: F/5-6.3
Angle of view (diagonal): 1625 - 48 (for full frame format): 1038 - 240 (for APS-C format)
Lens Construction: 20 elements in 13 groups
Minimum Focus Distance: 106.3 in (2.7m)
Maximum Magnification Ratio: 1:5
Filter Size: 95mm
Maximum Diameter: 105.6mm
Length (5): 10.1 in (257.8mm)
Weight: 68.8 oz (1,951 g)
No. of Diaphragm Blades: 9 (circular diaphragm) (6)
Minimum Aperture: F/32-40
Standard Accessories: Lens hood, detachable tripod mount
Compatible Mounts: Canon, Nikon, Sony(7)


 


Page:  1 · 2 
      
john paskey
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 23, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 202
Review Date: Mar 23, 2014 Recommend? no | Price paid: $1,069.00 | Rating: 1 

Pros: 600 mm in a compact body
Cons:
Tried it out in 20 degree weather, it stopped focusing in about an hour as the grease or lube inside froze - as I planned to use it in 0 degree weather for eagle pics it is not worth any money to me

Tried to love this as a replacement for sigma 150 to 500 but it stopped working in cold weather. YMMV

Mar 23, 2014
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add john paskey to your Buddy List  
Imagemaster
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Feb 23, 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 42232
Review Date: Mar 22, 2014 Recommend? no | Price paid: $1,200.00 | Rating: 6 

Pros: Presently best bang for your buck for a zoom lens in this focal range. Weight and size make it easy to handhold. Gives sharp images.
Cons:
Will not AF properly in AI Servo mode on many Canon bodies.

I was at first impressed with this lens until I tried it in the 500-600mm range in AI Servo mode on both my 7D and 1D4. It simply would not change focus when aimed at a distant subject then aimed at a nearer subject.

This problem occurred with "focus search" turned on, focus-limiter in either position, and in bright light with contrasty subjects.

As of March 22, I have not heard of this problem being either acknowledged or fixed by Tamron, despite a number of similar complaints on the Canon Forum.

Returned my copy for a refund.

May try the lens again if this problem is fixed or if it will work properly on a 70D.


Mar 22, 2014
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Imagemaster to your Buddy List  
shutterbug guy
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 18, 2005
Location: Thailand
Posts: 500
Review Date: Mar 20, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,069.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Sharp, good VC, somewhat compact, price. Works beautifully with the Canon 5DIII, focus is dead on, even in AI Servo.
Cons:
The zoom ring turns like a Nikon lens (backwards), takes a little getting used to.

This is a definitely a great bang for the buck lens. Where else can you get to 600mm with VC for just over a $1000? It focuses beautifully with my 5DIII camera, both single and AI Servo focus. Ymmv with the 7D and 1Dmk4 according to some forum reports. I haven't experienced any focusing problems what so ever. It works like a champ tracking jet ski's with AI Servo in high speed burst mode.

At 600mm it is very sharp, sharper than my 100-400L with a 1.4 mkIII T/C at 560mm. It won't compete with my big white 500mm f4 mk1 though, even with a T/C on it. For the money and with the image quality it was a no brainer to buy this lens.

My only problem now is what to do with my 100-400L, keep it since it's a little more compact and lighter? Or get rid of it since I haven't touched it since getting the "Tamzooka".


Mar 20, 2014
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add shutterbug guy to your Buddy List  
Chris B.
Offline
Image Upload: On



Registered: Oct 7, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 1502
Review Date: Feb 12, 2014 Recommend? no | Price paid: $1,069.00 | Rating: 5 

Pros: Build quality, weight
Cons:
AF tracking problematic with 1D Mark IV bodies

I am fortunate enough to own the wonderful Canon 400/4 DO and a 500/4L, both of which are used a lot of the time with a 1.4x and yet I just bought the Tamron primarily for one reason: a single lens solution when traveling to places where taking a lot of gear would be difficult. My current bodies are both 1D Mark IVs.

I tested the Tamron for several days on a variety of subjects and then sent it back. For stationary birds, and objects, it performed admirably with really excellent sharpness,and contrast. Wide open @ f6.3, it was okay but not great. Images greatly improved when stopped down to f8. It does need a LOT of LIGHT to perform well.When I (tried to)use it for BIF though, it failed miserably... regardless of the focal length, it would not track properly, and the AF continuously hunted for focus. I could never get it to lock focus despite using a variety of focusing techniques.

Frankly, it's a very nice lens with an excellent build quality and superb price point but unfortunately, it didn't work with my camera bodies. If Tamron fixed the tracking issues to enable it to work on a 1D4, I'd reconsider purchasing it.


Feb 12, 2014
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Chris B. to your Buddy List  




Tamron 150-600MM F/5-6.3 DI VC USD

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
20 21478 Jan 14, 2015
Recommended By Average Price
65% of reviewers $1,087.71
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.10
9.50
7.3
884479

supersize


Page:  1 · 2