about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon TS-E 90mm f/2.8

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
32 94672 Jun 27, 2012
Recommended By Average Price
94% of reviewers $1,112.62
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.52
8.73
9.8
tse90_1_

Specifications:
This is the world’s first 35mm-format telephoto lens with tilt and shift movements. Gaussian optics give high-quality delineation and true background blur. The lens is suited for a variety of subjects, from products to portraits.


 


Page:  1 · 2  next
          
Gunzorro
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Aug 27, 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 6064
Review Date: Jun 27, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $850.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Awesome lens -- even without any movements, this is an amazing lens! Practically a macro.
Cons:
Zero

Bought used (well used), 1997 model. Couldn't wait longer for a revised model at probably much higher price.

Totally happy! Everything positive I've read about this model is true.

Sold my legendary Zeiss ZE 21/2.8 (near new) to help finance this and the 45 TS-E lenses. Best idea I've had in a long time! Bye-bye Zeiss that saw little use (own the 24 TS-E II) and hello to more wonderful TS-E lenses!

Although I still need and use zoom lenses, and still like Alt (especially Leica R), I only want to shoot with TS-E lenses now. Well, and nice Macro lenses too.


Jun 27, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Gunzorro to your Buddy List  
halse
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 29, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 156
Review Date: Apr 17, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,050.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: It does what it is supposed to do and has great color, IQ and you can get quite close due to the short minimum focusing distance.
Cons:
Metering can be a challenge but this is more of a tilt-shift thing than a problem with the lens.

Have been using for a variety of shots but mostly for flowers and some portraits. The ability to move the "focus wedge" anywhere you want allows for added depth and perspective. Shifting allows getting the angle on the existing light just so.

Each shot takes time to set up and this "feature" makes you consider composition even more than usual.

Also, it works well with extension tubes.

Mine is a B&H used, rated 9, and seems flawless.


Apr 17, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add halse to your Buddy List  
AutoMotoMedia
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 11, 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Mar 11, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $875.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Light, Easy Function, very sharp
Cons:

Pictures can be found here:

http://automotomedia.net/showthread.php/82-Canon-90mm-TS-E-fun-for-taking-shots-of-cars-motorcycles!


Really love the lense and each time I shoot with it, I get better results (more controlled). Great lens to have in the bag at all times.


Mar 11, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add AutoMotoMedia to your Buddy List  
Joop van Houdt
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jul 13, 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jan 30, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharp, manual focus, build like a tank
Cons:
none

I use this lens mainly in the studio. Nice to play with sharp/unsharp with this lens. Manual focus is a pre in the studio. Here some images taken with it, with a 1DmkIII.
It also shows that 10mp is enough in most situations:
http://defotograaf.smugmug.com/Other/CANON-TSE-90mm/15514091_Hcvv3#1171941235_Y5TdS


Jan 30, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Joop van Houdt to your Buddy List  
SandyP
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Aug 8, 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 9
Review Date: Aug 29, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,100.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: ultra sharp wide open at f/2.8, smooth manual focus, solid build, great control, blur or "bokeh" is very smooth and creamy
Cons:
Not really any negative aspects.... read review...

I shoot a lot of weddings, portraits, on location work out in the city and studio photography. I've been looking forward to owning a TS-E lens for over a year now. I had debated between getting the 45mm and the 90mm, but I've been moving away from standard focal lengths of 45mm to 70mm for portraits and have been enjoying what this lens can do for me at 90mm. The creative control over tilting the lens and sometimes rotating it, is quite incredible.

A lot of modern wedding photographers use tilt shift lenses for some of their work. It definitely gives a very specific feel that you cannot always replicate (or ever) in photoshop. Being able to have certain objects always in focus is something that is impossible to take in one photo through any kind of digital manipulation. And a technique that is very specific to the tilt shift lenses. The other possibilities are endless really. You'll be dreaming up new ways to use this lens on a daily basis.

It's manual focus, all the TS-E lenses are. On my 5D Mark II the lens will give me focus confirmation on all focus points when the lens is fully titled or shifted. Obviously you're not really going to be using this for action photography, but the focusing is very smooth, it's a pleasure to work with.

The lens is SHARP, VERY VERY VERY sharp. Probably one of the sharpest lenses Canon makes. Wide open at f/2.8 it's mind blowing at just how incredibly sharp this lens is. It also has great control over distortion normally, even when not shifted to adjust for this issue. That, the resistance to flare and pretty much no CA, and you've got yourself one nearly flawless lens.

Since incorporating this lens into my line up, my creativity has taken a new step in a great direction. It's just another amazing tool at your disposal.

It's an absolute wonder this isn't an L series lens, it's better than many of them! Buy this, enjoy it, it's awesome.


Aug 29, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add SandyP to your Buddy List  
AlexF
Offline



Registered: Feb 6, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 1032
Review Date: Mar 23, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,200.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharpness, clarity, tilt+shift
Cons:

Excellent lens - as good optically as any other lens canon makes - and I have owned most of the L series up to 200mm at one point or another.
Use it mostly for product photography with extension tubes....

The only thing I wish was a bit different is the focus - wish it was more like the zeiss lenses..


Mar 23, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add AlexF to your Buddy List  
Jeff Kingston
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Aug 2, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 75
Review Date: Dec 21, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, sharp, sharp. Fabulous build quality. Magnificent lens.
Cons:
none

This is perhaps my most entertaining lens. I am using it for watch macro photography (with an extension tube). It produces fantastic images and gives me DOF that I could not have otherwise imagined. Finally I have a real reason to use live view (on my 7D) for accurate manual focus. This is a spectacular lens for my application and a real game changer for me.

Dec 21, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Jeff Kingston to your Buddy List  
DigitalBill
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 17, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 313
Review Date: Aug 19, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: The versatility of this lens is unmatched by any other in my kit.
Cons:
None.

Sharpness with this lens is sharpness defined. Use the TS-E 90 from macro to panoramas and be dazzled. This lens injects a fun factor into creative photography that is alone worth the cost. If you haven't experienced tilt/shift, you will marvel at the phenomenal control. To me, the manual focus is a plus, not a negative. I've used this lens for everything from insects to panoramas with outstanding results. Using extension tubes, I've achieved razor-sharp macro details of the smallest components of a flower. I can't imagine another lens that packs so much creative potential. It renders full, rich colors. The TS-E 90 is highly recommended.

Aug 19, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add DigitalBill to your Buddy List  
I Simonius
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 22, 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 51
Review Date: Jun 4, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Jolly Sharp Close focussing You can do fun stuff Jolly Sharp - did I say jolly sharp?
Cons:
pokey out bits

Didn't give 10 cos it's not weathersealed (but that would be impssible probably)

I am amazed how deliciously sharp this lens is, probably sharper than my 85f1.8 when not tilted or shifted

All the TS stuff has been said so I won't reiterate

You can do all that TS fun stuff though ;-)


Jun 4, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add I Simonius to your Buddy List  
vin14
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jun 28, 2006
Location: Ireland
Posts: 256
Review Date: May 10, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,050.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: tilt function, sharpness, build quality
Cons:
none

This lens does exactly what I bought it for. I use it for product shots (usually small items), the focal length is just right and the tilt function allows me to increase DOF without shooting at f22. I usually shoot against a white background, even with a reletively clean sensor that's a lot of dust to clean up in post.

May 10, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add vin14 to your Buddy List  
Peter Wirtoft
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Sep 7, 2006
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2
Review Date: Apr 19, 2007 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros: Sharper than EF 135 f2 L.
Cons:

I recently tested this Lens in a small test and compared it with "EF 135 f2 L", "EF 300 f4 L IS", "EX 150 APO f2.8"

This toy is even sharper than the EF 135. That is extremely sharp.


Watch more photos taken with this fantastic lens.

http://www.wirtoft.com/foto/TSE90test/index.html


Apr 19, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Peter Wirtoft to your Buddy List  
johnnydanger
Offline



Registered: Aug 26, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 674
Review Date: Apr 15, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $900.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp sharp sharp. Ultra-precise focusing ring.
Cons:
Reversed tilt knob is taking some getting used to.

I now own all 3 Canon T/S lenses, the 90mm being the most recent purchase. It should have been the first purchase... Fantastic lense. It seems to be sharp everywhere, and nearly as sharp wide-open at f2.8 as it is at f8. My only complaint is that the tilt knob is reverse operated from the other 2 canon T/S lenses.

Apr 15, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add johnnydanger to your Buddy List  
JanPhoto
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 27, 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 17
Review Date: Oct 14, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,099.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: I have pick-up this lens from New-York store for my still life photography and surprise, surprise ... this is a FANTASTIC LENS !!! I can not spill here all good or bad but, it does job in splendid way ...
Cons:
Maybe, I say may be switch on and off auto focus will be nice but otherwise this lens ROKS !!!

I am using this "glass" on still life with 1Ds. Results are fantastic. I have been using 8x10 Sinar before and now I am waiting till time di-gi backs will "slow-down" in price race. So this is my 'substitute" witch I can say is of-course not replacement for 8x10 but for general stuff, man it's great !!!

Oct 14, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add JanPhoto to your Buddy List  
Peter Wirtoft
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Sep 7, 2006
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2
Review Date: Oct 8, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,400.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: The extreme and strange possibilities it gives. Sharp, good build quality. Easy to focus, tilt and turn.
Cons:
Strange colors sometimes. Difficult to handle, No AF, No IS (that would be nice to have). Shift function is difficult to handle(razor sharp edges).

Used it for only a week now. And I have lots to learn before i can get a higher percentage of good pics.

It is very difficult to use with the viewfinders of 400D/350D. Since there is no auto focus, one is dependent on seing whats sharp and whats not. Its not an easy task.
Compared to a regular lense (in MF mode) this is so much more advanced since blurry areas can appear all over the image.

I'm using the tilt mostly.

Have some images at

http://www.wirtoft.com/foto/CANONTSE90f28/index.html


This lense is recommended. Anyone interested in this area should have played around with one of these.

Think they have a good secondhand value on the market.
So just try one. Its a lot of fun.


Oct 8, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Peter Wirtoft to your Buddy List  
Geert Soenens
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 25, 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 76
Review Date: Aug 29, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: 'Very' sharp and wonderfull lens! (Waw). TS of course! Construction is super.
Cons:
Some flair in backlight. Cheap and strange looking lenshood.

As sharp as my 135mm f2! (My favourith lens). Better than 70-200 L IS USM at 90mm! Great for table top. Gives photography another dimension. A lens I keep in my bag. Thinking about bying the 24 mm as wel.

Aug 29, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Geert Soenens to your Buddy List  
cjjmst
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 7, 2005
Location: France
Posts: 475
Review Date: Jun 13, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,100.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Opens new doors for creativity.
Cons:
Learning curve for good exposure. Canon notice is not very helpful in this.

The most incredible lens I've got. Surprisingly versatile. I first bought it for shooting flowers (I had been impressed by Nori works posted here in the "articles" section).
Eventually I use it much more than my 24 TS which I had been begging for for such a long time...
Used with TCs and tubes, it is a great setup for macro.
I didn't expect to use it for landscapes, but the Shift movement allows for easy panos.
Sharpness is great but overall, you can play with the Out Of Focus area: you can minimize it, or maximize it, move the focus plane (almost) wherever you want, ...
With this one, I mostly use the Tilt movement while with the 24 TS I find the Shift more useful... and it's a lot more fun!
I find the angle finder C pretty useful with TS lenses, the x2.5 is really welcome for manual focusing (my sight is not any more what it used to be...)
Although not L, it is sharper than the 24 TS...


Jun 13, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add cjjmst to your Buddy List  

   



Canon TS-E 90mm f/2.8

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
32 94672 Jun 27, 2012
Recommended By Average Price
94% of reviewers $1,112.62
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.52
8.73
9.8
tse90_1_


Page:  1 · 2  next