about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon TS-E 90mm f/2.8

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
32 94669 Jun 27, 2012
Recommended By Average Price
94% of reviewers $1,112.62
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.52
8.73
9.8
tse90_1_

Specifications:
This is the world’s first 35mm-format telephoto lens with tilt and shift movements. Gaussian optics give high-quality delineation and true background blur. The lens is suited for a variety of subjects, from products to portraits.


 


Page:  1 · 2 
          
swormley
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 15, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jun 9, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,099.95 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Quality, Capability
Cons:
Would enjoy AF

The TS-E 90mm F2.8 is a wonderful lens, exhibiting the
performance of Canon's "L" series lenses without requiring
UD glass or aspherical lenses. Having some of the tilt and
shift movements of large format view cameras, makes this
a very capable lens, in deed.

Although there are good arguments for not including AF
capability, I would have certainly made use of it. On a
camera body such as the EOS 5D, one can see the plane of
focus when tilting and this is often confirmed by the
pattern of AF points lit up in the viewfinder.

My uses include
o general photography
o portraiture
o product photography
o copy work and documentation



Jun 9, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add swormley to your Buddy List  
wimg
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 8, 2006
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 143
Review Date: May 8, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: T&S (versatitlity!), sharp, sharp, sharp, did I mention sharp?, quite close-focusing ability...
Cons:
Slight radial movement in base plate caused by option to rotate lens for varying direction in tilt and shift. Annoying but understandable...

For the type of lens and the creative possibilties it gives you, there just isn't anything better available for dslrs, except the other two Canon TS-E lenses. This lens is just slightly better than the other two.

Very, very sharp, a match for my macro lens, even when used with extender (1.4 X).

On an APS-C dslr it is great for spectacular macro work, with different to normal and still in focus views thanks to the tilting options.

Very highly recommended, despite the high price! Really wondering why the TS-E 24 is an L-lens, and this isn't...


May 8, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add wimg to your Buddy List  
Stono
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Dec 4, 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 1
Review Date: May 6, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,100.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very, very sharp. Extreme DOF possible, perfect for landscapes.
Cons:
None really (OK, it is manual focus, but it can't be otherwise, I assume, if you want the possibilities this lens gives you.

Takes a while to learn to use all its possibilities. But highly rewarding - extreme DOF (tilt) and great panorama (shift). It is not an L-lens, though it is priced like one, BUT it is simple very sharp with great colors and contrast. My only non-L lense (got 7 L-lenses), but its optical performance is absolutely of L-quality. Highly recommended. Use it with my Canon 1Ds MarkII and "together" they give me landscape photos I could not get otherwise (with a 35mm camera).

May 6, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Stono to your Buddy List  
Space Cowboy
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 8, 2005
Location: France
Posts: 281
Review Date: May 2, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,099.95 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Tilt & Shift abilities, sharpness, build quality
Cons:

Allowing camera movements, this lens is a perfect tool
for products shots. Extremely sharp, the image quality
from this lens exceeds my Canon EF 100mm Macro f/2.8,
the lattest being very sharp.

The build construction is excellent; mostly made of aluminium.
The focus ring can easily compete with the "L" lineup when
talking about smoothness.

The Canon TS-E 90mm f/2.8 is a truly exceptional lens,
that I recommend to anyone looking for T/S movements.



May 2, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Space Cowboy to your Buddy List  
penghai
Offline
Image Upload: On



Registered: May 21, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 775
Review Date: Nov 23, 2005 Recommend? no | Price paid: $1,099.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Tilt and shift. Sharp focus. Very solid build.
Cons:
Poor optical quality. Heavy like a brick.

I am a fan of shallow DOF. After reading so many positive reviews about this lens for flowers/portraits of really shallow DOF, I thought I finally found the perfect lens and decided to get this lens.

I just returned my 2nd copy to B&H.

Both copies I bought and returned were brand new. The manual focus is just amazing that they are smooth and the focus mechanism seems better than the Canon 100mm f2.8 macro. But they have lots of CAs.

I did a test against my Canon 100mm f2.8 macro. It was shoot at around the minimum focus length of this lense and f2.8. My 100 macro is much sharper and better contrast, and better image quality in general. And the 90 TS-E have so much CA that I cannot believe. This is for both copies. The tests are done around sunset. And all these tests are done with no tilt and no shift which I expect the lenses gave the best performance.

I don't know whether low light is a problem to this lens. But I don't remember seeing any reviews mentioning this. When light is good, this lens is fine.

My Canon 100 macro cannot compete to my Canon 200 f2.8 Mk II image quality wise. And the 2 copies of Canon TS-E 90mm I got cannot even compete to my Canon 100mm.

For the pro, this lens is very solid built. Hold it in hand, you really feel like it's a brick. Focus mechanism is very precise.

For $1100 a lens, it's not worth for me.

Really disappointed.



Nov 23, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add penghai to your Buddy List  
hvr_oosterzele
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 9, 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 565
Review Date: Nov 7, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very sharp, very nice bokeh and obviously the T&S functionality.
Cons:
Strange hood locking design.

I have been using this lens mainly for flowers. Most of them with my 1D MkII but also some with my D60. This means I mainly used the tilt function.
Here are some examples : http://www.pbase.com/hvr_oosterzele/ts_flowers


Nov 7, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add hvr_oosterzele to your Buddy List  
lb311
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Aug 24, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Review Date: Sep 5, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,100.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: View camera-like effects; great for panos & products; accepts a tele-converter.
Cons:
limitations when used with the 20D (& probably the Rebel XT).

This is a very versatile lens with good color and sharpness, but beware of some pretty big limitations if used with a 20D or Rebel XT. These bodies utilize a mirror box that is smaller than other Canon bodies, so any time the lens is shifted up (towards the viewfinder), vignetting will occur along the bottom of the frame due to mirrorbox cutoff. This makes vertically-framed panoramas essentially impossible on these bodies. Additionally, exposures of pano left or right frames is much more distorted and unreliable (even if shot with manual settings).

Surprisingly, I've found much better results using this lens with my old Digital Rebel (300D) body than with the 20D-- no mirrorbox cutoff and much more consistent exposure across all pano frames. I'm hoping the results will be equally as positive when I upgrade to a 1-series body.


Sep 5, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add lb311 to your Buddy List  
Holger Ehlers
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 10, 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 331
Review Date: May 21, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,400.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: very sharp at all apertures, creative t/s options, build quality, great color and contrast
Cons:

I use this lens mainly for portrait work in the studio and totally enjoy it. It is amazingly sharp and the tilt/shift effects open many new options for me. Ok, it's manual focus only but i got used to it.

I really like it and bought the 45mm T/S-E shortly after this one because i was so satisfied.


May 21, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Holger Ehlers to your Buddy List  
Songline
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Dec 31, 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 25
Review Date: Jan 9, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,400.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very sharp, close focusing, light weight, creativily in it's own class.
Cons:
None

I've owned this lens for several years now and it is on my camera about 60% of the time. I shoot a lot of people and it's just so much fun. Blur here, focus there, it can't be beat. I use it at f/2.8 all the time and never complain. It takes a 1.4 converter and imagine a 2x as well. If I am only going to take one lens with me on a shoot this would be it.

Jan 9, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Songline to your Buddy List  
Ken Tanaka
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Aug 3, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 1319
Review Date: Sep 27, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,050.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very sharp imaging. Relatively compact for a tele. Relatively fast, too. T/S design opens enormous opportunities for precision and creativity.
Cons:
Manual focus-only. Slight tendency toward overexposure.

This is a terrific lens, comparable in imaging to the venerable 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM. The T/S mechanism of this lens is identical to that of its 24mm and 45mm siblings.

At this writing I've not owned the lens long, but I have already used it for architectural scenery and for some product shots. It's handled both jobs very well, but it's especially well-suited for product close-ups where depth-of-field and distortions can be adjusted. (For a tiny sample of an architectural scenic shot see my Monthly Assignment #16 submission.

As with the other T/S lenses, this is not really a hand-held lens, although you could certainly shoot casually with it in its normal position just like any other lens.

I highly recommend this lens to anyone who routinely shoots landscapes, studio-based product details, and/or architectural work. These T/S lenses are perhaps the closest that the SLR world can get to the perspective and precision that larger-format shooters enjoy.

One word of caution: For reasons I do not yet understand, this lens and the TS-E 24mm both lean toward overexposure by approximately 1/2 stop, at least on my 1DMarkII. That is, the camera's meter will read a perfectly normal exposure but the the resulting frame will be a bit hot. So, if you're a digital shooter, keep a close eye on your histograms as you're shooting and be careful about adding manual compensation to your exposures.

UPDATE
I have prepared some sample images taken with this lens and the Canon 10D body. You'll find them in this gallery at PBase.


Sep 27, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Ken Tanaka to your Buddy List  
shawn gibson
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Sep 13, 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1
Review Date: Sep 13, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,800.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Hoping to buy, it looks like what I need
Cons:
It's expensive. But oh well...

I would be very appreciative if some of you who shoot portraits with this lens would offer a link to some images taken. Especially nice would be shots done with the 1.6 crop of a 10D etc. type digital.

Sincerely,
shawn


Sep 13, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add shawn gibson to your Buddy List  
MarkSaperstein
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 23, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 1339
Review Date: Jun 2, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $880.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Creative opportunities abound!
Cons:
Manual focus with a small viewfinder can be tough.

Excellent optics. Noticeably sharper than the 24mm TS-E. Great for macro work and panoramas. Manual focus is a challenge with a small viewfinder (such as the 10D has), but an Angle Finder C can help.

You can also use the 1.4x and 2x teleconverters with this TS-E lenses. I found that the 90+2x looks just as sharp as the 180 macro.


Jun 2, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add MarkSaperstein to your Buddy List  
Michael Gomez
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Aug 14, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 14
Review Date: Jan 2, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,250.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: great effects
Cons:
none

The best money I've spent on a lens. I love the throw out feel.

Jan 2, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Michael Gomez to your Buddy List  
sirhaas
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 9, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 25
Review Date: Apr 2, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $900.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Capable of producing images no other lens can deliver.
Cons:
Manual focus can be a bit tricky at times.

I’ve used this lens for panoramas, close-up work, and even a few portraits. It’s very sharp and has a very nice feel to it overall.

About the only problem I have is the manual focus, especially while using the tilt function. Right now I’m using a D30, and I bet a 1D or a 1Ds would be much easier to achieve accurate focus, because of the superior viewfinder.


Apr 2, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add sirhaas to your Buddy List  
Jack Flesher
Offline
[ X ]



Registered: Oct 23, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 3489
Review Date: Apr 1, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $800.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: T and S ;)
Cons:
Manual focus only.

Outstanding optics combined with tilt and shift ability, combined with reasonably close focus abilities make this a VERY flexible and useful lens. In fact, due to the added DOF control enabled by tilts, I am finding myself using it more and more for macro, and using my 100 USM less and less. This lens works very well in conjunction with either converter and/or extension tubes. I is also useful for "throwing" the plane of focus in portraiture.

Apr 1, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews View gallery Add Jack Flesher to your Buddy List  
ustein
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Dec 30, 2001
Location: United States
Posts: 387
Review Date: Mar 30, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,100.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Shift works great for panoramics
Cons:
None really

We use this lens mainly for panoramics (shifted right & left). There are many uses for this lens that have to be explored. We have no problem that it only supports manual focus (S/T and autofocus is a bad fit with todays autofocus implementations)

Will buy probably also the 45 S/T too.


Mar 30, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews View gallery Visit Homepage Add ustein to your Buddy List  

   



Canon TS-E 90mm f/2.8

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
32 94669 Jun 27, 2012
Recommended By Average Price
94% of reviewers $1,112.62
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.52
8.73
9.8
tse90_1_


Page:  1 · 2