about | support
home
 

Search Used

Nikon 18-35mm f/3.5-4.5G ED AF-S Nikkor

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
2 6080 Sep 13, 2016
Recommended By Average Price
100% of reviewers $700.00
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.00
10.00
9.0
Screen_Shot_2013-11-14_at_11_33_55_AM

Specifications:
Name: Nikon 18-35mm /3.5-4.5G ED AF-S Nikkor
Image Circle: 35mm
Type: Wide Zoom
Focal Length: 18 - 35mm
APS Equivalent: 27 - 52mm
Max Aperture: /3.5 - 4.5
Min Aperture: /22 - 29
Diaphragm Blades: 7 (rounded)
Lens Construction: 12 elements in 8 groups, including 2 ED and 3 aspherical elements
Diagonal Angle of View
(Based on image circle): 100 to 63 degrees
Focus Details: Internal with Silent Wave Motor (SWM); M/A, M switch
Front Element Rotation: No
Zoom System: Rotary
Closest Focus: 28cm / 11 in.
Magnification Ratio: 0.2x / 1:5
Filter Size: 77mm
Dimensions
(Length x Diameter): 95mm x 83mm / 3.7 in. x 3.3 in.
Weight: 385g / 13.6 oz
Notes: Included Accessories: Front and rear lens caps, bayonet lens hood, soft lens case
Online Price: US$750



 


      
OwlsEyes
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Feb 22, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 5021
Review Date: Sep 13, 2016 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $700.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Surprisingly sharp at 18mm w/ the Nikon D810, smooth zooming throughout the range, and a 77mm filter thread.
Cons:
Build is not a strength, but the more plastic housing results in a lightweight lens.

I have owned the Canon 17-40mm f/4L, Nikon 17-35mm f2.8 AFS, and most recently the Nikon 16-35mm f4VR. I have found this lens to be as sharper at 18mm than all of the prior lenses when at their minimum focal length. In addition, the 18-35mm lens lacks the blurring due to chromatic aberration that plagues the Nikon 17-35mm and Canon 17-40mm lenses. Furthermore, at 18mm, the 18-35G has less distortion that seems so prevalent the 16-35mm lens at 16mm.

Because I own an 18mm Zeiss ZF for when I need the sharpest wide I can afford, the 18-35G has become my go to lens when weight and versatility are my priorities.


Sep 13, 2016
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add OwlsEyes to your Buddy List  
Pallke
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Nov 4, 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 1
Review Date: Dec 16, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: small, lightweight, excellent sharpness and flare resistance
Cons:
Only at the long end of the zoom range the resolution in the utmost corners drops a little.

I had the Nikkor 16-35 VR and sold it because of the new Nikkor AFS 18-35.

It's lighter - but it doesn't feel cheap - and it's sharper at all apertures and through the entire focal range.

If you can live with 2mm less focal range and without VR this lens is a real gem. My cameras are D600 and D800E.


Dec 16, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Pallke to your Buddy List  




Nikon 18-35mm f/3.5-4.5G ED AF-S Nikkor

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
2 6080 Sep 13, 2016
Recommended By Average Price
100% of reviewers $700.00
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.00
10.00
9.0
Screen_Shot_2013-11-14_at_11_33_55_AM

supersize