about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EF-S 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 IS

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
2 3618 Mar 1, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
50% of reviewers $585.00
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
6.50
4.50
7.0
Screen_Shot_2013-11-14_at_10_38_57_AM


Specifications:
Name: Canon EF-S 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 IS
Image Circle: APS-C
Type: Standard Zoom
Focal Length: 18 - 200mm
APS Equivalent: 1.6x: 29 - 320mm
Max Aperture: f/3.5 - 5.6
Min Aperture: f/22
Diaphragm Blades: 6 (rounded)
Lens Construction: 16 elements in 12 groups, including 2 UD and 2 aspherical elements
Diagonal Angle of View: 74.3 to 7.8 degrees
Focus Details: Gear-driven by DC monitor; AF/MF switch
Front Element Rotation: No
Zoom System: Rotary
Closest Focus: 0.45m / 1.48 ft.
Magnification Ratio: 0.24x / 1:4.2
Filter Size: 72mm
Dimensions
(Max Length x Diameter): 162.5mm x 78.6mm / 6.4 in. x 3.1 in.
Weight: 595g / 21 oz
Notes: Image Stabilization; EF-S lens mount, exclusively for bodies with APS-C sensors.
Online Price: US$699



 


          
ejhc11
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: May 15, 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Review Date: Mar 1, 2014 Recommend? no | Price paid: $585.00 | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Fast focus, good zoom range, good IS, high picture quality
Cons:
No USM, manual focus not easy, expensive

Covers a good range from wide to telephoto, focus speed is pretty quick for non-usm and accurate, you can get very sharp photos in good light. You can get by with one lens solution - great for non-pro users.

Manual focus ring is tiny and loose, not easy to use. The long end of the telephoto is shorter than 200mm, maybe 150mm?? Also, I bought new which is very expensive from authorized Canon dealer.

If I had to choose again - I only buy this under $300 on a special sale, or buy a Canon EF-S 15-85mm on high budget or an EF-S 18-135mm on low budget.

I've owned mine for a year and half and still use it. My copy needed AF Microadjusment and users of Rebels need to test their copy before buying or keeping it.


Mar 1, 2014
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add ejhc11 to your Buddy List  
Vboer
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Dec 14, 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 3
Review Date: Feb 24, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: very versatile, sharp
Cons:
usm focus would be nice

This lens has a lot of bad publicity, but I'm very happy with this lens. Great for walkaround, travel and the kids at home.
The lens itself feels a little flimsy, but I haven't had any problems with it. Usm focus would be nice, but again it works well the way it is. Sharpness of the pictures is very good


Feb 24, 2014
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Vboer to your Buddy List  

   



Canon EF-S 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 IS

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
2 3618 Mar 1, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
50% of reviewers $585.00
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
6.50
4.50
7.0
Screen_Shot_2013-11-14_at_10_38_57_AM

supersize