about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
208 483381 Jul 6, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
95% of reviewers $470.83
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.12
9.22
9.6
ef_100_28_1_

Specifications:
Autofocus lens for macro photography up to life-size (1x) magnification. Inner focusing affords a long working distance of 5.9in. (149mm) at 1x. A 3-group floating system results in excellent delineation at all focusing distances. Ring USM for silent and high-speed AF, and full-time manual focusing also provided. The optional Tripod Mount Ring (B) B (with adapter) enables the lens to be rotated for vertical or horizontal framing.


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11>  next
          
dlborges
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Nov 5, 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Review Date: Jun 14, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great focusing, crystal clear imaging, beautiful bokah, image depth of field like nothing i've experienced in other lenses.
Cons:
no complaints other than this is one ugly and odd shaped lens. Oh, just thought of something useful to say - The lens cap was far too expensive (B&H of course).

I've used this lens seriously on only 3 outings, one of which produced what I consider a winning image for a lifetime. I took this poppy image at UC Davis in the Arboretum, standing up, no tripod, on a whim. There was a distracting green leaf at the bottom left corner of the image which I removed, but other than that the image has a few minor spot removals and moderate cropping.
http://dlborges.zenfolio.com/p151239449/hfc7d2b1#hfc7d2b1

I love this image for the clarity, the depth and three dimensionality, bokah and color combination.
http://dlborges.zenfolio.com/p151239449/hfc7d2b1#h223c827f


Jun 14, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add dlborges to your Buddy List  
Phil UKNet
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 20, 2007
Location: Thailand
Posts: 0
Review Date: Apr 5, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Capable of very good image quality and amazing sharpness. Good build quality - feels solid. When taking macro shots, provides a decent working distance.
Cons:
Inconsistent focusing was my major gripe but this may have been a fault with the particular copy I had. When used as a portrait lens, the focal length is a little too long on a 1.6x crop body. No lens hood or tripod mount included. Some AF hunting in low light.

I feel like I am the only person ever to have had a problem with this lens. At its best, it was capable of all the positive things I have read about.

However, the copy I had didn't focus consistently. Maybe it was user error but I've been taking photos for a long time and I have never experienced the same kind of problems with other lenses.

Maybe I just got a bad copy?

Anyway, I couldn't live with a lens that I couldn't trust ... so it went. I still want a macro lens but my dilemma now is do I go for the 60mm EF-S, or chance my arm and go for another 100mm hoping it will be a better copy this time?

I've posted a few image samples at the following link. Click on the thumbnails to see large versions.

http://phil.uk.net/photography/canon_100F28.html

You can see the amazing sharpness in some images, but in others you will notice they are slightly soft. I haven't posted the ones that are very soft.


Apr 5, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Phil UKNet to your Buddy List  
retrofocus
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 19, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 3883
Review Date: Mar 28, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $338.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharpness, color reproduction, AF speed and reliability
Cons:
no lens hood included, additional Canon tripod collar is too expensive

I bought this lens unplanned in an unopened box when CircuitCity closed down. Before I used the Sigma 105 mm f2.8 macro lens which always provided me with very satisfying results.

The more I was surprised to see the better performance of this Canon lens. Main difference is the AF - the Canon lens works very reliable with center focus. I always needed to use the Sigma lens in MF mode while I can use AF with the Canon lens much more often.

Optically both lenses perform equally well - the Canon is track sharp and has an excellent color reproduction. The lens body designa of both lenses are different - while the Sigma front lens lies protected inside of its lens body, the Canon front lens is located on one end of the lens body. So far I did not observe any lens flare problems with the Canon lens due to this.

As with the Sigma lens, the Canon 100 mm macro lens can be combined with extenders to increase the max. magnification.

Unfortunately Canon does not include a lens hood here (never for all EF lenses) and of course also not the optional (much too) expensive tripod collar.


Mar 28, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add retrofocus to your Buddy List  
Bobby Yarner
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 1, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 407
Review Date: Mar 17, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $490.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very sharp
Cons:
Build–but not really an issue

This is very sharp.

i use this to make stereophotographs.


Mar 17, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Bobby Yarner to your Buddy List  
mmari
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 20, 2008
Location: Singapore
Posts: 21
Review Date: Mar 11, 2009 Recommend? | Price paid: $450.00

 
Pros: sharp sharp sharp even wide open, fast af, non rotating/extending front element, works with 3rd part TC (kenko)
Cons:
hood & tripod collar sold separately

sold my 1st copy buy i miss it so i bought another one. couldn't be any happier with this lens.

Mar 11, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add mmari to your Buddy List  
bobby_novatron
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Feb 15, 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 1
Review Date: Feb 15, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $700.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Incredibly sharp, fantastic colors, nice contrast, very pleasant smooth bokeh.
Cons:
Size and price. Fixed focal length makes portraiture a little fussy.

Everything that people say about this lens is true. It is pure magic. This lens has taken my photographic hobby to "the next level". It takes incredible macro shots but also takes simply beautiful portraits. I cannot say enough positives about this lens.

Feb 15, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add bobby_novatron to your Buddy List  
Ken Hernandez
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 2, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 254
Review Date: Feb 4, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $318.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Super sharp, solid build, fast AF, great colors,price.
Cons:
None

I have been waiting to get this lens for over a year, and finally caught a killer deal ($318.00) at Circuit City's "going out of business" sale. This lens is AWESOME!

It opens a whole new world of shooting. Highly recommended to everyone.


Feb 4, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Ken Hernandez to your Buddy List  
Hitendra
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Feb 15, 2007
Location: India
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jan 25, 2009 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros: Excellent image quality, superb balance, well built.
Cons:
None

Here are some shots taken with it, judge it yourself...
http://www.hitendrasinkar.com/photoblog/index.php?x=browse&category=25&pagenum=1


Jan 25, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Hitendra to your Buddy List  
joezasada
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 24, 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 3062
Review Date: Jan 16, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: wickedly sharp. possibly the sharpest canon lens. 1:1 magnification.
Cons:
slow AF.

every canon shooter should have this lens. if you use it for what it's intended - close-up photography - the results are stellar.

also works good for portraits.

AF is too slow for sports though


Jan 16, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add joezasada to your Buddy List  
kengroff
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 5, 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jan 5, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp! No hesitation to use wide open, great for macro and portraits, very nice bokeh, not too heavy, nice build quality.
Cons:
Focusing is slow, can hunt a little in the dark...thats about it.

No complaints here, this lens is sharp! Not too heavy on the 30D, use it for some macro and was using for some portraits too before I got my 70-200mm 2.8. Very smooth bokeh, usually requires a tripod for macro to get a bit more depth of field but that is to be expected. Used it as a short telephoto before the 70-200mm and its only flaw is that it focuses fairly slow, but I guess it was never really intended for that. A gem of a lens! Should have a red ring but then the price might go up :-)

Jan 5, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add kengroff to your Buddy List  
Antony
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 5, 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 666
Review Date: Nov 30, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very sharp, does not require 1:1 tube. Well made.
Cons:
As with all non-L series lenses, it does not come with a hood. I recommend getting one immediately.

Overall an excellent lens, and given there are no L series macros below 180mm it is very popular with professionals. Build quality is very good for a consumer lens. Recommended.

Nov 30, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Antony to your Buddy List  
oajlu
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 19, 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 170
Review Date: Nov 20, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $570.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Solid build, fast focus speed, good price, very sharp
Cons:
none



Nov 20, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add oajlu to your Buddy List  
muevelonyc
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 18, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 178
Review Date: Nov 1, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $445.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Incredibly sharp, true 1:1 macro, fixed lens barrel (won't extend or turn), large focus ring, price, aperture speed
Cons:
AF tends to hunt in certain macro instances (usually means you need more light), wish it has rubber sealing like my L lenses, 58mm instead of 77mm threads

For a $400 lens, this thing is insanely well priced and versatile. It's incredibly sharp, well constructed, and has a fixed barrel length like most L lenses (won't extend or turn). However, it doesn't have the rubber seals like my L lenses have.

It's got a true 1:1 Macro size, which gives it the ability to shoot amazing macro shots. The AF in macro shots tends to hunt a bit if you don't have enough light. Even if you have a flash, maybe manual focus it first, then let AF go, or just go full manual with a narrow aperture (f/11+).

It's also great for headshots. I have the ABR800 ringflash and my EF 70-200 f/2.8L IS is way too big to be mounted on that for portrait, but this suits the job perfectly. Since it's a prime lens, the sharpness is insanely great! Take the same ringflash with the moon unit, and it becomes the perfect macro setup for shooting objects and jewelry without the need to setup a full blown light tent!

This lens could easily pay for itself with just a gig or two!


Nov 1, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add muevelonyc to your Buddy List  
skibum5
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 20, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 16349
Review Date: Oct 13, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $350.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: does macro (duh), extremely sharp right from wide open, doesn't extend in macro range, very flat focusing plane
Cons:
AF isn't always precise for subjects more than 8' away and while fast not as fast as the 60 macro

AF isn't always precise for subject more than 8' away, but I almost soley use it for macro anyway; vastly less compact than the 60 macro (otoh gives you more working room and works on FF) and slower and less precise distance focusing than the 60 macro.

extremely sharp right from wide open and one of the sharpest corner to corner, very flat focusing plane, lets you do 1:1 at a greater distance than the 60 macro, doesn't extend in macro range


Oct 13, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add skibum5 to your Buddy List  
n0b0
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 22, 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 5654
Review Date: Sep 28, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: VERY sharp and excellent image quality. Lens doesn't extend to get to 1:1.
Cons:
None.

It's not just "sharp for a non-L lens", it's sharp for ANY lens. If you're just macro beginner, this really is your best choice and as mentioned, it's also great as a portrait lens.

As for tripod collar, it really depends on how you shoot macro. I shoot handheld almost exclusively so I don't consider it a necessity and while I did buy the lens hood, I hardly use it as well.


Sep 28, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add n0b0 to your Buddy List  
oceangoing
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Sep 5, 2008
Location: United Arab Emirates
Posts: 0
Review Date: Sep 6, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharp, fast focus, reasonable price, internal focus
Cons:
no tripod collar, no lens hood

after deciding to buy a macro lens, i had to choose between two lenses: canon 100 mm f2.8 usm and sigma 150 mm f2.8. i tried both lenses on my 40D. even though sigma gave more distance to work i decided on canon for the sharpness and fast focusing. since then it proved many times that i've given the right decision. with the build quality, sharpness, fast focusing and the reasonable price it comes, it really is a compliment from canon. the pack could still include the collar and the hood or at least one. if you are keen to follow up the macro life forms, this is a best choice. go ahead and grab one.

Sep 6, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add oceangoing to your Buddy List  

   



Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
208 483381 Jul 6, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
95% of reviewers $470.83
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.12
9.22
9.6
ef_100_28_1_


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11>  next