about | support
home
 

Search Used

Sony 70-400mm f/4-5.6G SAL-70400G

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
3 3633 Jan 5, 2016
Recommended By Average Price
100% of reviewers $1,400.00
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.00
8.67
9.0
Screen_Shot_2013-11-13_at_2_49_44_PM_copy


Specifications:
Name: Sony 70-400mm /4-5.6G SAL-70400G
Image Circle: 35mm
Type: Telephoto Zoom
Focal Length: 70 - 400mm
APS Equivalent: 105 - 600mm
Max Aperture: /4 - 5.6
Min Aperture: /32
Diaphragm Blades: 9 (circular)
Lens Construction: 18 elements in 12 groups, including 2 extra-low dispersion glass elements
Diagonal Angle of View (Based on image circle): 34 - 6 degrees (35mm)
23 - 4 degrees (APS-C)
Focus Details: Super Sonic wave Motor (SSM), with focus-mode/range switch and three focus-hold buttons
Front Element Rotation: No
Zoom System: Rotary
Closest Focus: 1.5m / 4.92 ft.
Magnification Ratio: 0.27x / 1:3.7
Filter Size: 77mm
Dimensions (Length x Diameter): 196mm x 94.5mm (7 3/4" x 3 3/4")
Weight: 1,500 g (3.3 lbs)
Notes: Included Accessores: Lens Hood
Online Price US$2,000 (Nov 2013)


 


      
40Driggs
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 16, 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 848
Review Date: Jan 5, 2016 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,300.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Sharp throughout the focal range, nice build quality, smooth AF tracking and quiet.
Cons:
Hood is somewhat flimsy.

I am using this lens on a Sony a7 mirrorless camera with the Sony LAEA4 adapter. I have used several other high quality canon zooms including the canon 70-200 II, 100-400L (first version), 17-55.

I have found this lens to be better than the original 100-400L. It is sharper wide open and I prefer the twist zoom to push pull. The Sony is an odd color, but I personally don't mind the silver myself. The fit and finish is very high and I like the focus limiter and the focus hold buttons are a nice touch. I do miss the stabilization, but I understand that the lens is made for A mount and that the A mount bodies are stabilized.

Pro:
-great image quality with nice colors, contrast and sharpness
-high quality build
-focus limiter
-large range adds great versatility

Con:
-AF initial acquisition is somewhat slow (similar to Canon 100-400L)
- bokeh can be harsh, especially with busy backgrounds.


Jan 5, 2016
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add 40Driggs to your Buddy List  
dbiela
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 27, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 125
Review Date: Dec 1, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: Can take very sharp images much better then my Canon 100-400mm L lens. Focus has good focus speed
Cons:
Lens shade attachment is not great I have had the shade fall off when walking in crowds and it gets bumped by someone passing by. Do not care for the lens silver finish.

I use this lens with great results for aviation and motorsport photography. Good zoom range and takes sharp images, becomes a 105-600mm with the Sony a77 aps camera.

Dec 1, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add dbiela to your Buddy List  
Mark K
Online
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Feb 15, 2003
Location: China
Posts: 378
Review Date: Nov 23, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,500.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Sharpness and price
Cons:
Nil

I though shopkeeper made a mistake when I bought this lens. It was even less expensive than my 100-400L..but much sharper and faster.

Nov 23, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Mark K to your Buddy List  




Sony 70-400mm f/4-5.6G SAL-70400G

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
3 3633 Jan 5, 2016
Recommended By Average Price
100% of reviewers $1,400.00
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.00
8.67
9.0
Screen_Shot_2013-11-13_at_2_49_44_PM_copy